We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$219/night for a clean, good sleep in Midtown NYC? Great deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shoreham to your Saves list
Shoreham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West 55th Street, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off Suites
Ranked #326 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“$219/night for a clean, good sleep in Midtown NYC? Great deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Shoreham before for a several night stay. This time was one night and I recommended it to two business associates that stayed there too. The price for mid-town Manhattan was right!

Centrally located for dinner at Keene's Steakhouse the night before, Astro's, less than a block away, for breakfast (opens at 6 am) and meetings on Madison at 33d Street at 8am.

I wish I could say that the attention to detail was as good as my last visit, but, it was not. The coffee maker in the lobby didn't work right (there's a dunking donut shop that serves coffee a few feet from the hotel) and the computer to print boarding passes was out of order. The desk couldn't even make change for a $20!

I had a penthouse room on the top floor. (The "right tower" has "penthouses". No big deal - just the top floor). My room had no shower room. My room only had a spa-like bathtub elevated above the floor with a VERY high bath tub wall to climb-over. Given that I wanted a quick shower in the morning, this was not an area where the hotel paid much attention to detail.

Hotel soaps, shampoo and conditioner: excellent.

NO MIRROR IN THE HOTEL ROOM, only one in the bathroom! Again, no attention to detail.

NO ELECTRIC PLUGS anywhere easily accessible! Had to find them and get down on my hands and knees to plug them in. Again, a lack of attention to detail.

NO BED-SIDE STAND for me to put my glasses on overnight! Extremely poor attention to detail.

When all is said and done, this is Midtown Manhattan. The Shoreham is a clean, good sleep hotel priced just right to bring me back the next time I'm in town, despite the numerous lacks of attention to detail.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Thomz12345,


We’re delighted you chose to stay with us We always want to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. If you chose to visit us again, check out our special packages for great deals. We’ll also point you towards our favorite places to drink and dine throughout Manhattan. We hope to see you both again in the future!

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    513
    215
    118
    75
See reviews for
201
478
76
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

In some reviews people complained about the cleanliness of the room. Well the room is in need of refurbishment but it very clean. The one bedroom suite is a good size for 2 to 3 people but the bathroom is small. However the shower is amazing... adjustable water pressure and at the high end is intense!

The bed is comfortable and a king. And the massage chair was really cool and actually massages not vibrates.

Service was great from virtually all employees but doormen sometimes were hard to find.

However the best part of the hotel is its location. Just a few steps from most New York landmarks. Not even a block away from 5th Avenue shopping. Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, Empire State Building, central park, and Radio City Music Hall are all within walking distance along with many phenomenal restaurants.

I would stay here again, between price and location it can't be beat.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear DemetriusC,

I am extremely happy to read that The Shoreham left you with a positive first impression. We strive to provide all our guests with a luxury liberated experience that exceeds expectations. I am delighted that you were able to find a comfortable stay in our hotel, and to learn that our staff treated you exceptionally well. We look forward to welcoming you back and truly appreciate your feedback.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Would never pay full charge for the room, was fortunate to have bought it on an on-line bidding site for about 65% of the $250/day they wanted. Hotel staff eager but one of them was rude and unapologetic when the keys to both of our rooms failed on two separate days(!), said "Why should I apologize when it's not my fault" (!) Hotel safety bad, as front door is always unlocked to any street traffic and thugs could easily enter, no guard. REASONS FOR POOR REVIEW:
1. Huge fees for room internet use daily; must go down to lobby all the time.
2. Huge cost of parking and no hotel parking. We were forced to pay $45 a day!
3. Hotel has many infrastructure problems, like plumbing and air conditioning. Owner must be pocketing too much of the profits, must be too greedy.

Room Tip: Ask for upper rooms, as there is a constant din of traffic below. Also, don't expect any view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Johnyyus,


Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Shoreham on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. Please accept my sincere apologies for our lack of communication; we pride ourselves in giving the best customer service possible. I hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is greatly misrepresented online. It is in bad need of a renovation. Very small , dingy, hot hallways. Tiny elevators. Stains on the walls and a burn mark on the furniture. The bathroom was minuscule. The pillows were like small sandbags. It was noisy and our view was a brick wall. Be careful the door to the room is difficult to secure.
Upon check in we were given a room with one double bed for myself and the staff member with me. I explained I had booked a room with 2 double beds through an online booking service. The front desk staff said that was based on availability. They had such a room available but she insisted I pay a $30 upgrade fee. This uncomfortable dingy hotel cost me over $340 for one night. Never again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I am staying in Shoreham hotel currently and so far, it's not clear why there are such high mark reviews.
We got inside facing room and noise from fans is unbearable, no way you can sleep, a/c is very old and it sounds amaizing as well.
What I may say is that location is very good and person at the reception had promised to change the room. Lets see, keep u posted!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I understand that the hotel was fully renovated less than 10 years ago and it needs another one urgently. In our room the air-conditioners were noisy and the windows won't close properly. In addition, the fabric wall covering and curtain box cover were loose. Because the windows would not close 100%, one can hear the noise from the street down below all through the night. Bathroom is tiny even in a one-bedroom suite and there is very limited closet space.

Despite the convenient location and the attractive pricing, some of the more basic requirements are just below expectation unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Doobeebaby,


First and foremost I would like to say thank you for making The Shoreham to be your hotel of choice on your visit to New York. I am pleased you enjoyed our prime location. I would love the opportunity to have you back as our guest and provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to having you back! I will take into account your feedback and work to improve our overall guest experience.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Shoreham for New Years 2013-2014. The rooms are very nice and the staff very kind. We had a great time and we were able to book our reservation at a great price too!
This is a great hotel and the location is fantastic. Just a few blocks away from times square and also Central Park.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Stephanie M,


Thank you for taking your time and leaving a trip advisor review on the Shoreham Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you loved our hotel and that our location was convenient for you.Our location makes this hotel extra special. I hope that the next time you are in New York for the holidays you choose to stay with us again.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#277 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#112 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#88 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Cen...
#108 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#206 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
Midtown
Park Central
Park Central
#261 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Address: 33 West 55th Street, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs, Bose Wave(R) radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and Philosophy bath amenities. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.