We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Sandy prisoners...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreham

Save Saved
You added Shoreham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shoreham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West 55th Street, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $139
Ranked #298 of 451 hotels in New York City
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Hurricane Sandy prisoners...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My sister, mother and I were there for a 3 day trip which turned into a full week and a bit thanks to Hurricane Sandy....This hotel location is perfect! We were far away enough from the flooding and we never lost power...We got a price break once we were stuck there for 4 extra nights...
The staff were incredible and we felt for them as they had to bunk in at the hotel as they were also stuck due to no transportation and some had no power at their homes...
I would recommend this hotel to anyone...Staff were incredible!
They do need to purchase new mini fridges though...did not work...
Would return definitely!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri R, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Carson Brett,
I will like to thank you for taking the time to review The Shoreham Hotel. Our hotel staff takes pride in providing all our guests with the “Perfect Stay.” I am delighted to see we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you again for making our hotel your lodging destination when visiting New York City. Please feel free to contact the front office during your next visit to The Shoreham, and I will personally make sure to make it a memorable experience.
Warm Regards,
Eri Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    399
    153
    94
    63
See reviews for
136
345
65
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

You can tell that this place used to be fantastic but now it is very worn around the edges. Rooms are clean and well provided with amenities but the finishes on everything are showing their age - scuffs and marks that should have been fixed up a long time ago.
The staff are very friendly and helpful but I have to agree with an earlier review that they are overworked - waiting at the desk means waiting while one person tries to answer both internal and external lines as well as deal with people face to face. These views aren't a one off - I stayed there over two weeks on business.
In that time I needed a new room key nearly every other day as in the evenings it just wouldn't work. Engineering came to look after the first week and it was a bit better but still not perfect.
Also, not sure how their booking system works as twice I was woken up late at night by housekeeping under the impression that the room was empty and needed refreshing for a new guest - not happy.
If a Boutique Hotel is to survive in such a competitive area it needs to offer something more than this currently does. I would not stay again in it's current state.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My name is Yvonne Warren and I am a Canadian. With my two adult daughters,we planned a 3 day trip which turned into 8. The staff at the Shoreham were fantastic! Henry, Fred, Elizabeth and Crystal were the four we had the most interaction with. they went above and beyond. I would certaintly return to that hotel and also recommend it. New Yorkers are crazy, and we love them!!

Room Tip: 10th floor was awesome.But,,, be wary of kids in penthouse. Especially if they run!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you for making our stay in the city so fantastic! The location is fabulous, just steps away from the best shopping in the WORLD!

I brought my grandmother for her 70th birthday, and the Shoreham made it so special. She mentioned her birthday at check-in (while drinking our complimentary champagne!) and we came back to the hotel that evening to delicious cheesecake, a cookie, a bottle of wine, and a sweet hand-written note. SUCH a special touch!

Rooms were so clean, and the staff was so nice. The espresso machine in the lobby was a great bonus! Saving $5 on a morning latte really adds up!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside have little view, but the windows open for some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for the city shops. The service is good although check in was quite late. But the reception took my bags while I went out and checked in afterwards The rooms, although small are well decorated and designed. The designers have done a good job of maximising the space and making it look as modern as possible given what most hotels in NY look like - quite tired and old style. This was new style modern and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix az usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very convenient area of mid-town. The hotel is well managed, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was a reasonable value. Front desk was helpful in recommending dining options. We even left our window open all night (3 nites). Little street noise. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline E, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Zigzag_jim,
We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your recent visit to The Shoreham Hotel. I have just finished reading your review and cannot wait to forward it to our amazing staff. We all get so much pleasure and inspiration from guests like you. Thank you for sharing your experience with trip advisor and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Jacqueline Elbaidouri
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked the Shoreham because of its location and because it offered AARP discount. I don't like contemporary decor but I made myself try something different. The first night we did not receive the type of room I reserved. We inquired about moving and were told a change would be arranged. We left our luggage in the first room and when we returned to the hotel at the end of the day, our luggage was in our new room - an upgrade to a much larger, nicer space. Due to the efforts of two of the staff, John Jimenez and Henry Gomez, we received this nice surprise. We ordered room service each morning (sly people at the Shoreham, they don't offer in-room coffee) and the delivery was prompt and the person delivering was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline E, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Debbie B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback with us. Our team is one of our greatest asset so it's wonderful to hear that Henry and John left you with a postive impression through details of room placement .We are also delighted to know you took pleasure in our in room dining and our staff exceeded your expectations. Your comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Regards,
Jacqueline Elbaidouri
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Address: 33 West 55th Street, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in New York City
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs, Bose Wave® radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and Aveda bath amenities. Guests are treated to a champagne toast upon arrival. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.