We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royalton New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royalton New York Hotel to your Saves list
Royalton New York Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #185 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Piraeus, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A memorable stay....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Royalton during Christmas and New Year's Day.. The superior room was extremely spacious and offered us whatever we needed (we never used the mini bar or other facilities, as we were most of day-time out of the room) ... The bathroom was an experience .. large, comfortable, modern.... All over the room was full of cleanliness and comfort, just like home... The hole staff was always there for you.. As far as the location??? We were in walking distance from all of the major sights, 2 blocks from Times Square or Rockefeller... I will definitely stay there again!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
I am delighted your stay at Royalton was so memorable and that you found our superior room spacious and the bathroom comfortable. It sounds like you had a wonderful trip and I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    393
    170
    42
    23
See reviews for
147
653
90
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I loved my stay at this hotel. Great cosy and romantic ambiance in the lobby, amazing whiskey's and drinks at the bar, great food at Forty Four, especially the traditional breakfast! (try their fantastic homemade brown bread). I love the decor of the hotel, it feels like you are on an old luxury ship. Finally, we loved our room, mostly because of the DREAM BATHTUB.
Only a few missteps and it would have been perfect:
1) the ventilation (heat/AC) in the bedroom is noisy and dirty. It's time for a change.
2) the quality of the service provided by the staff needs to be more constant. For example, when we checked-in, the lady told us we could call reception directly if we needed to make a reservation at a restaurant, free of charge. When we did call, we were told we could do it ourselves. Also, one morning I ordered the continental breakfast, and the waiter noticed that I had not eaten the muffin. He asked me if everything was alright, and I said I didn't like the taste. He left without offering me to replace it by something else.
Besides these two points, everything was perfect. I would definitely recommend the Royalton in NYC

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed our lobby and bar, Forty Four, and loved the overall décor and ambiance of the hotel. I apologize for the few mishaps you experienced during your stay. We strive to continually provide exceptional guest service and it sounds as though we just missed the mark during your stay. I hope you’ll join us again soon so we can provide you with a true Royalton experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have recently returned from a holiday to New York with my Boyfriend and we was very happy with our stay at the Royalton.
The location is absolutly perfect if you want to be central, located on a quiet road however 2 blocks from Time Square. Also near the hotel was Bryant Park, and there was a lovely little market and Ice Rink there, a lot less busy than the Ice Rink at the Rockerfella.
We stayed in an Alcove Suite which was very large, with a massive round bathtub/shower and a fireplace, however we didn't use the fireplace as we as out most evening enjoying New York, but the bath tub was lovely so make sure you get a room with one!
We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights, of which we had breakfast at the restaurant twice which was amazing, the eggs benedict is the best we've both ever had ! The restaurant and minibar etc are expensive but we expected it to be. Other mornings we had breakfast at the diner opposite or whereever our day started...
If you are going to New York and are looking for good rooftop bars with a bit of style head to the Standard Hotel or the Gansevoort hotel, both in the meatpacking district with lovely rooftp bars with lovely views accross New York.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Royalton, the staff was very friendly and rooms clean and fine.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a bathtub and try the eggs benedict !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for such a detailed review of your stay. It sounds like you really took advantage of our prime location and enjoyed your Alcove suite. To hear that our eggs benedict is the best you’ve ever had is a great compliment – thank you! I hope you and your boyfriend will join us again soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location... close to Times Sq and everything. Walked all around Manhattan from this location.... even to Central Park. Hotel itself has got a lovely bar/lounge area with fireplace especially good for NY winter. Breakfast was excellent. Also had lunch at their restaurant. All good. Staff are quite friendly. The location of the front desk is between the bar and restaurant, so guests might miss it when they first enter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review – I am thrilled you loved your stay at Royalton. It sounds like you really took advantage of our great location and had the time to enjoy our wonderful restaurant with breakfast. I hope you’ll join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield. UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed for four nights over Christmas following a very stormy QM2 transatlantic crossing. The welcome was outstanding- thank you Marco - and our room which we initially thought was 'style over substance' turned out to be very comfortable especially the inviting sofa after tramping the NY streets.
Downstairs lobby etc,as as other reviewers have mentioned, was depressingly dark and for some inexplicable reason there was no acknowledgement that it was Christmas - not a single bauble.
The location is outstanding on a quiet street between 5th and 6th Avenues. It's a 5 minute stroll to Times Square, Bryant Park with its skating ring, Grand Central Station and numerous subway stations. It's a slightly longer stroll to The Rockefeller Centre and the Empire State ; there are also numerous shops and restaurants within walking distance.
We bought a 7 day Metro card for $30 each which gave us unlimited rides on the somewhat confusing subway system and also on the buses which we found easy to use - who needs the hop on hop off bus tours?
We pre booked tickets for the main attractions before we left home, printed the vouchers and thus avoided all the long queues. We even managed to book seats for Tosca at the Met at very short notice.
All in all we recommend the hotel and were particularly impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff with whom we came into contact.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
What a great review of not only Royalton, but New York City. It sounds like you had a great trip! We appreciate your recommendation and I’m thrilled to hear our team mad e your stay extra special. I hope you’ll be back for another great visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

As mentioned on many of the posts the hotel is dark inside and takes some getting used to however, the bar area is very trendy and welcoming with open fires. We stayed over the Christmas period and were given a complimentary room which had a open fire. This was lit by the hotel staff most nights as the weather was really cold outside. The rooms are really romantic and the bathrooms are amazing. We ordered room service on Christmas morning which was delivered very quickly and the breakfast was excellent. The location is one block from Times Square and two from grand central station, one from fifth avenue. Can't be beaten for location however the hotel was far enough away from the mad crowds and felt like a place to. Escape and chill out. All in all a superb hotel and will recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you could spend the Christmas holiday with us. It sounds like you really enjoyed our central location and were able to take advantage of our in room fireplaces. I hope you’ll be back to join us again soon for another great trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I agree with a prior review that the hotel,including lobby and rooms, is entirely too dark. The hotel does have an uber chic vibe and the decor is somewhat stunning although it accentuates the darkness.Nevertheless the hotel staff is the friendliest and most helpful of any hotel I have stayed in. My room and bathroom were spacious and very nice but oh so dark.I am also troubled by the candles that were placed around the room with matches also provided. The possibility of an accidental fire concerns me. Flashlights are needed;not candles!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am delighted that you understood our design and the overall vibe of the hotel . It is really great to read that you found our staff to be some of the most helpful of any hotels that you have stayed in and I hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#131 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman Williams, to re-create Royalton's legendary lobby. The design - simultaneously sophisticated and complex - juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast-bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the facade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royalton New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.