We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royalton New York Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royalton New York Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PLAN AHEAD
Ranked #148 of 449 hotels in New York City
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the heart of manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The "hipness" of this hotel can take a little adjusting if you are over 40, but it is worth it. We checked in at night when the lounge without walls in the lobby had its music amped up and a lot of patrons partying. But, the staff, particularly the concierge, is helpful and personable. The location is ideal--near Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central for transportation and Broadway theatre. The room is large and comfortable, complete with large screen TV and the use of I-Padand Internet. My only negative is the valet parking is expensive ($56 night), but there is a self park garage next door at lower rates.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you had such a great stay at Royalton. It sounds like you really enjoyed our prime location, helpful team members, and convenient in room amenities. We realize that we provide a unique lobby experience with our live music on Thursday nights, but I am glad to hear you enjoyed your arrival experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    644
    367
    148
    39
    21
See reviews for
136
589
85
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our second stay in a year and a half. Close to Broadway shows, Grand Central Station, walking distance to MOMA. One half block from International Center for Photography. Great for walking uptown to Museum of Modern Art or downtown to Lincoln Center. Wonderful breakfasts. Busy bar scene at night in lobby, but once you are upstairs it is very quiet. Very helpful staff. Good business center. Gave us free wi-fi. I Pad in room. Will definitely go back when next in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always great to hear from our loyal guests. It sounds like you really had the chance to explore our wonderful neighborhood and relax in our welcoming restaurant. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this room for our anniversary. Overall, the hotel is gorgeous, and being a hotel in NYC, the rooms here were THE perfect size. Any other rooms we've stayed at in NYC were tiny and we could barely move around... but this was pretty spacious. Between decor and size, the room was perfect. Not to mention, the soaking bathtub was BEAUTIFUL. We always try to look for a place with a nice tub, and this one has definitely been the nicest one we've seen yet. The best part of our stay wasn't even how beautiful this place was (although a huge plus), but the Royalton staff was truly amazing. The customer service here is top notch. We came in early to drop off our bags to the concierge and went around to our Broadway show. Coming back and checking in, the front desk apologized for the wait and gave us two complimentary drinks at the bar. They even delivered the drinks to our room! On top of that, we made friends with one of the door men later on in the evening, and next thing you know he and the hotel sent us a complimentary gift to our room. It was a white wine bottle with a berries fruit platter, along with a card saying "To the happy couple... Happy 2-year anniversary.. Love, Phil, Rebecca, and the Royalton Family." The phenomenal customer service doesn't even end there.. Calling the front desk late at night, I asked if by any chance they had any cigarettes available for purchase. I was expecting a simple no, as no hotel probably would... But the front desk got one of their staff members to run out and deliver it to our room. Honestly, THE best experience I've ever had. I would like to thank the Royalton staff for making our anniversary very special and truly romantic. The next morning, I didn't even want to leave. It was like the perfect dream getaway. It is definitely going to be our go-to next time we decide to stay in NYC! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for such a fabulous review. I am thrilled to hear you had such a memorable experience here at Royalton. We strive to make every stay special and unique, and I know our team is proud to hear it was “by far the best experience” for you. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We're just home from visiting this hotel for the second time and absolutely loved it again!
We first visited this hotel in May 2010 on our first trip to New York and found the location of the hotel absolutely wonderful, its right in the heart of everything and provides the most perfect location for exploring everything that Manhattan has to offer.
Both times we stayed we got a room with a huge round bath tub and the most powerful rain shower. The rooms are small, which you come to expect from New York but the beds are large with huge pillows and are so incredible comfortable. I loved the little touches like the Ipad with wifi in the room to use during your stay,the iPhone docking system, the large TV and I thought it was nice that they leave a European adaptor in the room for your use (especially as we had forgotten one! ).
I would say the mood lighting in the hotel (which is quite dark) takes a little getting used to but really when visiting New York I think most visitors are like us and are too busy exploring the city to spend much time in the hotel!
I feel I should mention the staff are really friendly and helpful and we will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a round tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful stay. It sounds like you really enjoyed our central location, relaxing bathrooms, and convenient minibar items. We always love welcoming our guests back and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Our room was quiet - no noise from guests in other rooms although the hotel was full. The staff was nice and helpful. The concierge gave us directions to a nearby restaurant we were interested in. When we checked out in the morning we still had some sightseeing to do and they told us they could keep our bags in a locked area (no charge). This was nice to not have to haul the bags around all day before our evening flight. Really a nice place, safe, quiet and clean. The decor was like a contemporary cruise ship and was relaxing. It was more spacious than I expected! Convenient to Times Square and subway stations.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which is actually the lowest floor with guest rooms. The HVAC unit (I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Royalton. It sounds like our team really made your stay special and that you had the chance to take advantage of our great location. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this hotel for a short honeymoon break to New York - The hotel, room and location were all excellent, as was the atmosphere in the lobby/bar. The staff we also super and the champagne and chocolates in the room were a nice touch. You will not find a better location/hotel for a short city break to New York.

Room Tip: We chose a loft room with a city view - the room was spacious and the was bathroom lovely but unfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. We are thrilled to have been a part of your Honeymoon and are so happy to hear you enjoyed our prime location and welcoming lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend booked this hotel for a weekend getaway for my birthday. He did a great job! The hotel is less than 2 blocks away from times square, a short walk to Central Park and about 20 blocks (a short cab ride) from the Empire State Building. The hotel is very modern, with sleek design. It is dark in the lobby but it adds to the ambiance of the bar feel at night. We had a basic room which was not huge but big enough for the two of us for two nights. I found enough space to put my things away and the closet was surprisingly large. I found the bed very comfortable and there was also a small couch in the room. Having the iPad with free internet access was great to look up destinations or restaurants. Everything was very clean and the staff was excellent, all very nice and accommodating. Our room was diagonally across from the elevators but we didn't notice any excessive noise during any time of the day or night we were in the hotel. We had a drink at the bar one night which was good, if a little pricey. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. My only suggestion would be to self park at the lot next door, not use the valet, as it saves a lot of money. There is a garage on the right immediately before the hotel. We didn't see that until after we valeted our car but probably would have paid half of what we did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are thrilled to be a part of your birthday celebration. It sounds like you really took advantage of our prime location and enjoyed our welcoming lobby bar. We hope you’ll join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#93 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman and Williams, to re-create Royalton’s legendary lobby. The design – simultaneously sophisticated and complex – juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast–bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the façade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royalton New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.