We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royalton New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royalton New York Hotel to your Saves list
Royalton New York Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #165 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

stayed at Royalton in a business trip last October - very well located with good service and clean and neat room (I've stayed in the std room, which is the most basic and quite liked, in comparison with tinny rooms in another hotels).

Room Tip: you are 2 blocks away from the heart of Broadway at one side and same distance of 5th avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. I am so pleased you enjoyed our central location and welcoming rooms. We look forward to your next business trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    375
    156
    39
    21
See reviews for
145
622
87
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, so close to Bryant park, and times square area also. Beautiful lobby with a fireplace, very nice room, big for NYC hotels, also really nice size closet the bathroom had a great shower! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I am thrilled you fell in love with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you can enjoy our prime location, cozy fireplace and relaxing showers again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When arriving at the Royalton I was promptly greeted at my car. Within minutes, I was escorted to the front desk. This is no ordinary front desk. It is very private. The whole hotel is intimate in the look, the feel, the attention given to guests. I stayed on business and all I could think of was how romantic the atmosphere is and wished my husband was there with me.

Room Tip: Pick a room with the round tub and shower! So, so relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that we were able to turn your business trip into a comfortable getaway. We cannot wait for you to return with your husband!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The bed is a single thin mattress (no box spring) on a wooden board similar to what is found at summer camp or a dorm. Carpet and banquette in the room were very dirty and should have been replaced.
Good location, trendy lobby but the hotel is starting to look kind of shabby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
My sincere apologies that you did not have a good night sleep. I am very sorry to hear that you felt our beds were uncomfortable and that the room’s carpet and banquet needed attention. This is obviously not the experience we wish our guests to have. I hope you’ll give us a second chance so that we can place you in a room that is better to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Royalton in NY is a good value and is well located for the theater and business in midtown. It is not far from Times Square and the subway. The lobby has a contemporary design and it is dark with lots of wood trim and a burning fire. In cold weather it is cozy and it is usually buzzing and busy. One evening they had a very good combo playing and it was quite lively. The room, however, was a bit depressing. I think it had something to do with the wall color and the lack of light. It seems to be designed like a cruise ship with a low bed and an odd room shape and port hole-type windows in the closet door. The bathroom was small but it had a wonderful shower with a great rain shower head. We were upgraded (they originally gave us a room that already had someone in it) so there was also a dressing area off of the bathroom. The bed linens were very nice but the pillows were synthetic and uncomfortable. I requested a down pillow but it was so hard it was unusable. This made sleeping a bit uncomfortable. The room looked out at another building (one reason it was so dark) but it was quiet. We were able to open the windows which was nice since the weather was unseasonably warm. One thing I liked was that the room had an ipad. It was handy for looking up addresses and making restaurant reservations. Overall it was an ok hotel experience but I think I will choose to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed our prime location, welcoming lobby, and in room iPads. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy our room décor and felt that our pillows were uncomfortable. I hope you’ll join us again the next time you are in town so that we can have a second chance at wowing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

First visit to New York and chose to stay in a suite at the Royalton. First impressions are slightly muted as the frontage is fairly nondescript.

That being said it is the inside that counts and this hotel did not disappoint. The reception area is set back and not easily seen however any inquiries were dealt with efficiently and pleasantly. The reception/bar/lounge area is darker and I really liked it however this kind of thing is down to individual taste.

The rooms are very comfortable and the bathroom lovely with a large round bathtub that is extremely pleasurable. The complimentary use of the Ipad was excellent and allowed me, sadly, to keep in touch with the sporting world.

All the facilities were first class and most importantly worked. The staff in the hotel were very pleasant and all eager to assist.

The hotel is in a superb location and centrally sited for all the major points and places of interest.

I did find New York expensive and this hotel wasn't cheap however you do get what you pay for and I had absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are so happy to have been a part of your first trip to New York City. It sounds like you really enjoyed our central location, welcoming lobby, and five foot round soaking tubs. We look forward to your second trip to the big apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for just one night... a quick trip to shop and attend the New York Comedy Festival. The staff were all excellent and friendly. We received a phone call approximately 5 minutes after our arrival in the room from the front desk to be sure the room was to our standards. The room size was a bit small for my taste but definitely aligns with the New York standard size. The location was amazing, within walking distance (in heels) of Time Square, and 5th Avenue shopping. We were also able to walk to Central Park. The concierge gave some amazing brunch advise as well as booked our reservation at an amazing steakhouse close by.
The hotel has a very romantic feel with its rich wood tones, fireplaces in room and "mood" lighting. My trip was with a good girlfriend of mine, we had a blast but would suggest that this is a more couples friendly hotel. We had a deluxe queen size room and had requested a queen double but none were available, to accommodate us we did receive a free upgrade. The room lighting is soft and my only complaint would be that the bathroom lighting at least should be a bit brighter for us ladies that need to get ready there! I liked the small feel of this hotel, I felt like a valued guest and not just one of the masses that I feel some of the bigger chains can sometimes convey. All in all a wonderful quick vacation. I would stay here again, for a romantic weekend, perhaps I'd try somewhere new for a fun girls weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It sounds like you had a fabulous shopping trip to New York City! We are so pleased to have been a part of it and look forward to welcoming you back for a nice romantic getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman and Williams, to re-create Royalton’s legendary lobby. The design – simultaneously sophisticated and complex – juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast–bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the façade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Jetsetter, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royalton New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.