We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury but at a bargain price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Regency Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Park Ave, At 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Shuttle!
Ranked #20 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury but at a bargain price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Chose this hotel for the location to be walking distance
for an event we attended nearby. What a pleasant surprise. First all the staff from the doorman to the front desk to the restaurant were very friendly, helpful and obviously well trained. Room was very comfortable with all amenities in place. Bathroom was a bit small, but big enough. Good breakfast. One of the few great values in NY.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    76
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
138
151
24
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A long standing name in NYC hospitality business if there is. A much advertised 100M recent renovation. And frankly still looking where the millions went.
Aircons in room are louder than the street traffic. Front desk is constantly overloaded and vaguely efficient. I was first assigned a room on the back of the hotel. No view. Requested a change on Park Avenue at least. Was billed a 50$/day surcharge. Gladly accepted. But mistakenly was given a room for handicapped person. Closet down to my knees and shower up to my waist. I requested a room change. Took 2 days,minibar not replenished. Room transfer Not completed yet as I write.
Though 2 points worth a command: the cleaning ladies are all charming and bar tenders, as well as restaurant managers are really up to the challenge. The bar is by far the place to be and to stay.
In short favor the bar for a drink, not the hotel for a room.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family was in town for a wedding and decided to stay, at The Loews Regency. They were so glad we did, the hotel is beautiful and it’s just steps away from Central Park! Dan the Sales Manager who set up our stay provided us with exceptional service from beginning to end. Thank you to the entire staff for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've been staying at the Loews Regency Hotel in NYC for a few years and our stays are generally excellent. About two years ago or so, they closed the hotel for year-long renovations and the work they did and the improvements they made were outstanding. The staff is friendly and accommodating and there is seldom a waiting line. One gentleman, in particular, is very friendly and I always thoroughly enjoy talking with him. His name is Barry and he is one of the Bell Staff.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon my late arrival to JFK Airport, I was delighted to walk thru the doors of the Lowes Regency, where I was greeted with smiles and warm welcomes as well as a seamless check-in process. The rooms, the service and the outlets, including the amazing Salon/Spa and Restaurant all exceeded my expectations. Each morning I was blown away by the friendly hotel staff as they spoke so genuinely wishing me a good day! As a frequent NYC visitor, I am so thrilled to finally find a place I can call home. This hotel is truly exceptional!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

New York hotels are generally a bit limited amenities wise, which frankly is typical of most city centre hotels.

Assuming you come to New York for the city rather than the hotel, The Loews Regency is a good choice. The rooms were a good size by NY standards, are clean, housekeeping was generally excellent, and it's well located on Park Avenue.

Downside for us was a rather louder air con than we cared for, but otherwise we were happy with out stay here which was for a combination of work and leisure.

The massage in the famous spa/salon was very good, though of course you paid the premium for a premium hotel.

Definitely worth considering for your stay in the City.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolores L, Marketing Coordinator at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you ADTravelBlog for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel as well as the city! Julien Farel Restore Salon & Spa is fantastic for an afternoon getaway. We do apologize for the air conditioning being too loud, we will have our engineering team look at the A/C immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A nice hotel for business people not necessarily for those on a short leisure city break. Our room was very nice overlooking Park Avenue. It was a shame that the sliding Bathroom Doors did not meet in the middle so did not close properly and we had to have maintenance repair one of the sliding guides. We were also 3 in a room and there was only robes for 2 and slippers for one just minor touches that for the quality of hotel we would have expected to be dealt with before arrival. So whilst we wouldn't stay here again for a leisure break in New York it clearly is geared up for business customers and therefore if you are on a business trip this is a clear winner. We say that as not only as there were small issues over the room but at breakfast and using the bar in the evening we were not served as quickly as those clearly there on business who may well have been repeat customers. We had no issues over charges as had been experienced by other guest reviews. I know its probably and English thing but tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been a big bonus although we knew before booking that this facility was not on offer.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Park Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolores L, Marketing Coordinator at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you Alan D for your review. We certainly do apologize for the inconveniences during your stay in regards to your room. We do cater to business travelers, however we are sad to hear of your comments in regards to leisure travelers. We do have packages for leisure guests to New York, and especially due to our location we welcome all guests. I will bring your comments to our management team, and we hope you will give us another chance. You may certainly reach out to me, prior to your trip and I will ensure everything is taken care of for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency Hotel

Address: 540 Park Ave, At 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#13 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Regency Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.