We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old favorite revitalized” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Regency Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Regency Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park To Park Package
Ranked #16 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old favorite revitalized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After a 2-year renovation project, we were thankful to once again to stay at Loews Regency @ 61st and Park. It's a great location. Extremely convenient to many museums, galleries. Before he retired, he frequently lodged here when working. Since then, it quickly became my favorite during the annual birthday trek in December. The reception desk Is now directly in front of the door (previously it was cozily placed to the right upon entry. So the wind is to your back, but the interior feels much more open and clean. Restaurant in the morning is filled with business types as well as lodgers. Always a friendly hotel, family and business mix nicely. Lifting the tiny gym and spa from the basement to the 2nd floor is just a brilliant move. Even though the hotel was almost completely booked, they were kind enough to accommodate a change to a larger room for us. The spa, likewise, squeezed me in for a massage on my birthday. The special day was casually mentioned to the therapist. After returning from dinner, we found a bottle of proseco and cupcakes on slate with a Happy Birthday message. From the hotel and the spa. What a truly unexpected delight! Nice Italian breakfast bar with street side entrance. Again, everyone is extremely courteous and friendly. Thank you for making my birthday so memorable!

Room Tip: courtyard side are the smallest 61st street side the longest, and quite park avenue well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    53
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
98
114
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel very well situated for dining, shopping and holiday partying. The rooms are nice, reasonably sized and in great condition. The bar was quite nice and had live music. Breakfast was included with the room and both the food and the wait staff were excellent.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

In planning our Christmas time visit to New York City I agonized for many months over what hotel would be the perfect combination of location, luxury, and New York vibe for this trip (the first trip to New York for my 19 and 24 year old children so I wanted it to be perfect). I narrowed it down to three choices and finally decided on the Loews Regency based on terrific reviews, location on Park Avenue and recent renovation. Having just returned, I can report that the Loews Regency was the perfect choice. We were in a two bedroom suite which was absolutely beautiful. The decor, furnishings, cleanliness and service were all top notch. We walked just about everywhere we wanted to go-Rockefeller Center, Theater district, Grand Central -all perfectly doable if you enjoy seeing the city on foot and accessible by cab or subway if you are not inclined to walk longer distances. In addition, there are some great restaurants, food markets and of course shopping and Central Park literally outside the door of the hotel. I do echo some other reviewers that sound does travel between rooms and from hallways but this was not an issue given the arrangement of the bedrooms in the suite we were in. I am delighted that I chose the Loews Regency and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the initial warm greeting upon entering the Loews Regency, our 3 night stay at this sublime Park Ave. hotel was simply wonderful....the location is ideal, close to wonderful shops and restaurants...Barneys and Bloomingdales are just steps away. Our hotel room was well appointed and very comfortable...this was my 7th visit to NYC yet my first stay at the Loews, and I would not hesitate to stay at this sublime hotel on my next visit. We found the staff not only helpful, but also kind and attentive...I would like to especially mention concierges David and Robert R., we greatly appreciate their assistance. Highly recommend the Loews Regency for your NYC visit....

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything from booking to check out was exceptional.
Before you book with 3rd party websites try reservations department directly. They gave me perfect deal.
We arrived after midnight, with 3 yrs old girl, check in process took few minutes. We had a room on high floor facing Park Avenue (I believe it called Grand Double Room) The room was very spacious , comfortable ans super clean. I've stayed in different hotels in NYC , but now I know where to go!

Beds... oh... die for it!!!
We liked new walk-in showers, much more convenient and cleaner than bath tubes.
Bathroom amenities by Julien Farel smell amazingly good and high quality.

Our room was always done to perfection including the turndown service :)

We asked for late check-out - we got it !!!
Location - everything is walkable, and if you are tired, there is always an yellow cab in NYC!

We did not dine at the hotel therefore no input.

One small note on "free Fiat" service. unlike take they are not allowed to drive a child on your lap. If you do not have a car-seat with you, you cannot use the service.

Room Tip: Before you book on 3rd party websites, call the hotel. They gave us great deal and perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Christian is the best host/manager I've ever met. He makes your experience at the Restaurant/bar one of a kind. He makes you feel like you've joined a family when entering the restaurant. Best service I've ever had! Christian is simply one of a kind! Worth going to Loews Regency Bar & Grill just to be hosted by Christian and the team.

Room Tip: Ask for Robert at reception. He'll provide the best advice and service you can get. Also ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in November 2014. No problem with check in or out.
Main plus of this hotel is the bedrooms. We stayed in a standard room. The carpet was fluffy and the beds were really to die for. Exactly what you want when you've been walking the streets of NY all day. Also plenty of storage for all our shopping. Free wifi was great.
I would say that I found the bathroom too small. Very little counter space to leave toiletries. That would be my only negative with the room. The lobby area is small. Liked the bar area but the price of drinks was a bit on the high side . Paying way over in my opinion for a glass of wine when you can go to a bar around the corner for at least 5 dollars cheaper. Didn't eat in the hotel as again, 30odd dollars for breakfast is way over the top for me. My husband hit starbucks each morning and came back to the room with it.
Would I come back? Yes but they would get an A+ if the bar prices were a little on the lower side. Still think about those beds...sigh !!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency Hotel

Address: 540 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#13 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#14 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Regency Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to four devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.