We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, convenience & style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Regency Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Regency Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park To Park Package
Ranked #14 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Location, convenience & style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Regency was an obvious choice when having friends living only two streets up on Park Avenue, With all great reviews at Tripadvisor our expectations were sky-high when arriving after an 12 hour trip from Sweden. Were we disappointed?

The location is perfect: Close to or with easy access to "everything" but in an quiet part of Manhattan. No "hustle and bustle" - really relaxing area. 3 minutes walk to Central Park, 3 minutes walk to several local restaurants and cafés "off the tourist path". 5-10 minutes walk to Apple Store, Nike Town, Bloomingdale. I really recommend to walk Lexinton Avenue upwards with a lot of smaller shops and cafés.

The room was great. Travelling with kids and extra luggage, a walk in closet was perfect. As newly renovated off course the room is "fresh", but I think it is a bonus that they have done it in a way keeping the "cozy" feeling. It felt relaxing and "homy" to get into the room. The room is spacious. We had a room towards the backyard. No nice view but perfectly quiet. Recommended! Nothing to complain about, but the bathroom was quite small. The cleanliness was remarkable.

The restaurant served great food both for dinner and breakfast - but you paid the price. If you don´t mind walking 5 minutes there are good and less pricy alternatives in the neighborhood. Head for Lexington Av. og 3rd Av. I was really irritated one morning when there were no place for breakfast in the restaurant. The "power breakfast guests" fills up the restaurant and made us head for breakfast at "Happy Burger". We can also really recommend "EJ´s Luncheonette" if you are OK with walking 15 minutes. Really great food further up on Upper East side.

The service is very good too, but maybe the expectations were too high after reading all reviews. A lot of staff, always welcoming you or wishing you "have a good one". Always helpful when you ask. But no "wow feeling" - no surprises, not that little extra we have experienced at some Asian resorts.

Will we come back and recommend the hotel to our very best friends?
Yes, absolutely! We hope to be back at springtime.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    46
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
89
99
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my first time at Loews Regency after renovations were completed; the address is both central and very exclusive: Park Ave at 61st Street, two blocks from Central Park and close to shopping, restaurants, and midtown attractions.

The rooms are ultra comfortable, brand new, wifi is complimentary, service professional and friendly. Best part? Regency Grill for breakfast...the best you can have in New York..after all, it was here where the concept of "Power Breakfast" was invented.

Will definitely return to Loews Regency!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We (3 ladies) have just spent 4 magical days at the Loews Regency in New York, having visited New York for the last 10 years for a society charity benefit that we organise. We normally stay in a well known hotel a few blocks away but this year booked in at the Loews Regency. We had a fabulous and spoiling time. All of the staff from the beautiful girl at Check in - whose sister has a 3 month baby in Long Island - to our room maid who looked after us beautifully spoiling us with beautiful Julien Farrell room products and water and in fact anything we wanted - kettles, irons, bookings, recommendations etc. The room was very comfortable, mostly stylish and well thought out. The bar was great fun and buzzy in the evening and lovely at breakfast time too. We hope to come back next November for our annual charitable evening. Thank you to all the lovely staff - each and everyone ensures that your stay is memorable, and very very personal which so often is not the experience in large cities.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked a luxury two bed room arrived 4 pm afternoon following a transatlantic flight no luxury rooms available only a sub standard room adjacent to the kitchen extraction system. Heating when set blew cold air no facilities whatsoever never ever again will I prepay a hotel I would rather sit on a bench in Grand Central Station. 5 hours before we were allocated a half decent room and the adjoining suite blasts us with their TV in the middle of the night so no rest. The restuarant is mediocre and overpriced serving customers caught in the web who mistakingly were misled into making a reservation here!
The experience a complete rip off!

Room Tip: Don't go there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Michael L - I apologize for the frustrations you have suffered. May I ask you contact me directly, please? I'd like the chance to get you sorted. Thank you so much.

Cordially -

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

this is a lovely hotel at a great location on Park Avenue. the entire staff seems to be friendly and helpful. what pleased me the most was the efficient handling of all the stuff i'd had sent to the hotel. I was worried about a package getting lost, but i needn't have been. the concierge was fantastic and all of my packages arrived without a glitch.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the city - especially someone planning to do a lot of shopping!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I wanted to first class hotel in NYC and that's exactly what I got! I consider myself to be a very picky person when it comes to my accommodations and expect to "get what I pay for" and this hotel delivered ten times over on what I would say is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. I searched all over the internet and Trip Advisor and got recommendations from many friends on where to stay in NYC. Loews Regency NY is gorgeous! All the rooms may not have a "view" of the city, but they are all newly renovated and are beautiful and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very professional and friendly. The hotel even smells great when you walk in the front door! The Regency Grill has great food albeit expensive, but you really can't go anywhere in NYC for a meal without paying a lot. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone! You may even have a celebrity sighting (I did!), it's that nice of a hotel that the stars want to stay there too!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From 25 August until 29 August 2014 we stayed at the Loews Regency Hotel. It is a beautiful hotel and at a good location. But on the 1st of september we went to pack our suitcase again and came to the conclusion that €1100 was missing from our hotelroom. We also think that 4 Victoria's Secret undergarments, were stolen from our hotelroom. Because I bought 14 pieces of undergarments and the next day I wanted to try them on. Then I came to the conclusion that instead of 14 pieces there were only 10 pieces in the bag.
You think in a five star hotel, even if items are not in the safe, it would be safe. We hoped for a quick and good settling. But is was surely too much to ask.The hotel did put in a claim for the missing money and missing undergarment. The Director of Security of Loews Regency said that the insurance carrier should solve this within 4 to 6 weeks. But now ,2,5 months later nothing is solved. We have had some email contact, with the insurance and the hotel manager. But from October 2nd we have not heard anything from them, despite we still sent multiple emails.
You think a 5 star hotel would fix this problem properly but that is also too much to ask.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency Hotel

Address: 540 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Spa Hotel in New York City
#12 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Regency Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to four devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.