We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but we miss the old Regency ..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Loews Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Regency Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park To Park Package
Ranked #11 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good, but we miss the old Regency ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It used to be a traditional hotel: Cozy, with repeated clients and amazing location.
Well ..The location is still amazing.
Yet - I am not so sure about the renovation of the place.
They tried to make it "Hip and Happening" ..TV in the middle of the mirror in the bathroom!
Modern bar with an attemp to attract young crowd, but making old clients as me and my wife wondering ..
On the other hand - the vanities in the bathroom won my wife! Anti-aging shampoos, lotions. She could not have enough!!
Some of the old team remained and made us feel at home.
We like the addition of the cafe, at the side of the hotel: We started every morning with fresh cafe latte and pastry in this charming place, saving the cost of room-service, or the formality of the breakfast dinning room.
And then - it is all about location, location, location.
So it was a good stay, but we miss the old Regency ..

Room Tip: WE had a room facing Park Avenue. It gave us a "Belonging feeling".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    33
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
72
71
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

exceptional hotel and room size. Very clean, with top notch amenities. The staffs are phenomenal. The burger at the grill though pricey, is worth every bite. Spacious room way above the norm for NYC. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.L.C., Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Get ready, this is a long review but this hotel deserves it!

My 9-year-old daughter, my mother and I stayed at the Loews for four nights from September 24-28. We loved it.

A very warm welcome from the front desk led to a quick check-in. Our grand king room (416) was bright, spacious and crisply decorated and had a fridge and microwave. It looked down on 61st ave. and we could see Park Ave. too. My daughter liked the bathtub and the shower was big and bright. The double vanity came in handy when we were trying to make the most of our time. The bed was excellent and the room had almost no noise from the streets but the door allowed hall noise in. The maids kept it a sparkling clean oasis and our fourth floor cleaning staff seemed to always be around if we needed something.

The elevators were super quick. The lobby was comfortable and lively with no shortage of staff. We had breakfast daily in the bar and restaurant and usually had drinks and appetizers at the end of our evenings. We loved the food, drinks and ambience and the staff were so friendly and professional.

We used the hotel car, a new Mercedes S550 driven expertly by Paul, whenever we needed to go somewhere within 20 blocks. Paul was a great guy and was sure to make my daughter and mom feel at ease and feel special. Thanks Paul! When we traveled further afield we usually took one of the Fiat cars, driven by Charles and Wasiq and one other driver whose name I forget. The Fiat had a panorama sunroof which made looking up at the buildings easy. Loved the Fiat! What a neat car and it was super handy as long as we made reservations, of which the availability was good if we were a little flexible. Victoria, one of the front desk managers handled a scheduling conflict very well and found me a nice solution. Cabs were always available instantly when we needed one.

Almost all of the staff went out of their way to make my daughters trip memorable. There was a gift and special attention for her at check in. Also, Barry the doorman, who pushed her around the lobby on a luggage cart and gave her high fives at every meeting. Thanks for bending the rules, Barry, she is still talking about that luggage cart. Even the restaurant staff made sure that my daughter felt welcome and important...speaking of which, the food was outstanding.

My 80-year-old mother, who still travels the world thought it was one of the better hotels she'd ever stayed in. She liked the quiet location and enjoyed sitting on one of the couches off the lobby and people-watching. The crowd was a blend of business and tourist, families, couples and individuals. As you can imagine most everyone was snazzily dressed and the atmosphere was fancy but not pretentious.

The location was great. Bloomingdales is one block over and one block down. Central park is two blocks to the west. FAO Schwarz is a 5-10 minute walk. There is a good sized grocery market a few blocks away. We walked back along 5th Avenue from the Rockefeller Center and it didn't seem too far. You could walk to Times Square pretty easily if you have the time to explore.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the amazing review str8liner! You really did think of everything! We are so happy to hear that you had such an amazing experience with us and thank you for recognizing some of our team members, particularly Barry who always does such an amazing job! We look forward to welcoming you back again when you're next in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My girlfriend's and I came to this beautiful hotel to celebrate a birthday. We were traveling from Florida and were eager for excellent food, drinks and shopping! The Loews sure catered to my high expectations! Located in the heart of all the buzz. A short walk to Central Park and Maddison Ave. Every time we would enter or exit the hotel, the bell men remember our names as well as our front desk lady Revenia. She was so sweet and made us feel right at home. Everyone always greeted us with such kindness. Our room was beautifully decorated and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. I love that they had salon hair products in the room, even though I always travel with my own, it was just nice to know for next time it's one less thing to bring! One my last day at the Loews my girlfriends had left the night before so I was alone until my flight later that night, decided head to the bar to grab one last drink and Christain the director of hospitality surely lives up to his title! He was very sweet and hospitable, making my last few moments at the hotel that much more memorable! Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our birthday experience unforgettable! This will be the only place I stay on my next visit to the city.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing your wonderful birthday experience with us Nataliv6! We love to hear about our guest's favorite moments, and it sounds like you had a few. We will certainly pass on your kind words to Christian and Revenia. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

All staff are friendly and very helpful, but Barry the door man is the best front person we have come across world wide.
The bar is an asset to the hotel. Not too noisy, just stylish with a lovely ambiance.

Note - the room has no coffee making facilities or wine glasses. The shower is over the bath with a shower curtain and has a single basin vanity. We will definately return providing we were able to get a room providing theses changes.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your review Linda M! We will certainly pass on your kind words to Barry, our Doorman! As far as the bathrooms are concerned, it sounds like you were in a room with one of our smaller bathrooms...we certainly have larger ones available. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My family and I stayed at this recently refurbished hotel in September. What a pleasure and delight it was. The staff, in fact everyone we came into contact with could not do enough to help us. We checked in with ease and although only one room out of three was ready (we were earlier than the 3pm check in) , they put the luggage in the one available room and we sat and at the hotels restaurant, quite leisurely until the other two rooms became available and had a lovely lunch. I cannot fault the level of accommodation, the staff and their courteous and friendly attitude from front of house to housekeeping and the waiters and bar staff at the restaurant . NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH TROUBLE. Thank you Loews, we will be back and it has become the hotel we will stay in when we visit New York City.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your review juliathomas20 and for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay and that we will be your hotel of choice when you are next in town. We look forward to being your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was staying here one a group function but what a pleasant surprise. Staff was helpful, rooms were very nice, almost large by typical NY standards, and bed was very comfortable. Hard to find things wrong with being on Park Ave and that put us close to a variety of good night options. A really good lobby bar as well. Looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback DFarls! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency Hotel

Address: 540 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Regency Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to four devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;