We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Regency New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Regency New York Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Regency New York Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Park Ave, At 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Suite City Escape
Ranked #23 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've just returned from a great 4 night stay at this excellent hotel.
We chose it mainly due to the reviews on Tripadvisor and we liked the idea of being close to central park. It is very well located being 2 blocks from the park and 2 blocks fro the Subway.
The hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and it is superb.
Check in was smooth, all the staff we met were very good, especially the doormen/bell men.
We were in Room 905, a good sized room, towards the back of the building and the room was very quiet. The air con worked well and the king size Bed was very comfy. Big TV, Safe, plenty of hanging space. Robes, Mini bar etc.The only thing lacking which would have been good was a coffee machine. Otherwise no complaints. The marble bathroom was lovely with a tub and shower and a tv built into the mirror over the vanity. There was Julien Farel toiletries and a professional hairdryer which my partner really liked.
There was a New York Times paper delivered to our door each morning, and the housekeeping staff did a great job.
We also made use of the complimentary car service the hotel has, and enjoyed a couple of rides in the Fiat to restaurants, which is a great service for guests. All in all a great stay in an excellent hotel, highly recommended and I would hope to return to.

Room Tip: We were happy with 905 and it's the quietest room I've stayed at in New York City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review larnerdarren. It certainly sounds like you had an excellent stay and were able to take advantage of most, if not all, of our additional services that we offer on property. Duly noted about the coffee machine in the room - please note that while we do not have these in-room, we do offer them through Star Service upon request. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    84
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
150
170
25
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Recently refurbished, we had a lovely welcome for at the Regency. Our room was an upgrade overlooking 61st Street. Room big enough for the four of us. Bathroom is terrific with separate large shower and TV built into mirror (kids were thrilled!).

Room Tip: Breakfasts expensive but Gene's cafe two minutes' walk away at 26E 60th Street is an excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for the review Tony E and for traveling all the way from Liverpool to see us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and were well looked after. The TV's in the mirrors are always a big hit with our guests. Safe travels and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

An exceptional hotel from staff to facilities to location
In the city yet feeling like we are in a quiet neighbourhood
walking distance to great shopping and restaurants
We took advantage of the bar and restaurant and were pleased with service and quality of food and wine
The room was beautiful and serviced on a timely basis each day

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback S C. It's also wonderful to hear from our loyal guests and what they enjoyed most about their stay with us. It sounds like you took advantage of what we have to offer. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Regency. From the first moment of arrival to the last second of my stay, I was treated with warmth and a high level of customer service. The hotel is wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback Robin G. We agree with you that the newly re-imagined Loews Regency is a true gem restored. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the excellent customer service provided by our team members. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just returned from a trip to NYC with five Moms and five pre-teen girls…We had a FABULOUS stay with Loews. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff and the service. The doorman, Barry, was truly one of the nicest people we encountered. He was on shift for 17hrs one particular day and every time we saw him, he had the biggest smile and warmest welcome ever. He even dubbed our crew the "NBA group"…no boys allowed-the girls loved that!
Additionally the accommodations (while somewhat small) were beautifully decorated, quaint and clean. My daughter and I shared a room with a king bed and it was perfect for the two of us-The bed was outstanding-great linens and super comfy!!!
The location was close to great shopping, food and central park. I would definitely stay here again and most definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your Mom and Daughter's trip with us Tanya A. We are thrilled that you had such a great time. We will certainly pass on the wonderful feedback to Barry and how well received his "NBA Group" comment was! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I visited the newly renovated Regency hotel in Manhattan couple of weeks ago.
The hotel was closed for a while for major renovations.
So I had expectations ..
OK, it was so different than before!
I thought the TV in the middle of the mirror in the bathroom, was a bit tacky.
The eatery at the lobby level tried to look trendy, but lost the classy feeling it had had before.
Yet - it is about location-location-location ..And the hotel is located perfectly, a walking distance from leading venues.
Also - the stuff is friendly.
Overall - I liked the old Regency better, but it is a good hotel, very good service, and THAT location ..

Room Tip: I stayed in a deluxe room: It had enough room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us Teddy G. We are happy to hear that you wanted to try us after our $100 million renovation. As you mention, we do have the best location in town and our team are extremely friendly and happy to help with whatever you may need. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a brilliant stay at the Loews at the start of June, but have not had a chance to write a review until now. The service was outstanding, with invariably helpful but not obtrusive staff; the room, restaurant, bar were all sophisticated and contemporary, and we shall definitely stay there the next time we stay in New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
That is great to hear mgriffithschs. We are thrilled to hear you had a brilliant stay with us back in June and we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in NYC. Safe travels until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Address: 540 Park Ave, At 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Spa Hotel in New York City
#18 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Regency New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.