We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Regency Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Park Ave, At 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
“Exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

An exceptional hotel from staff to facilities to location
In the city yet feeling like we are in a quiet neighbourhood
walking distance to great shopping and restaurants
We took advantage of the bar and restaurant and were pleased with service and quality of food and wine
The room was beautiful and serviced on a timely basis each day

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback S C. It's also wonderful to hear from our loyal guests and what they enjoyed most about their stay with us. It sounds like you took advantage of what we have to offer. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    70
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
127
135
23
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Regency. From the first moment of arrival to the last second of my stay, I was treated with warmth and a high level of customer service. The hotel is wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback Robin G. We agree with you that the newly re-imagined Loews Regency is a true gem restored. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the excellent customer service provided by our team members. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just returned from a trip to NYC with five Moms and five pre-teen girls…We had a FABULOUS stay with Loews. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff and the service. The doorman, Barry, was truly one of the nicest people we encountered. He was on shift for 17hrs one particular day and every time we saw him, he had the biggest smile and warmest welcome ever. He even dubbed our crew the "NBA group"…no boys allowed-the girls loved that!
Additionally the accommodations (while somewhat small) were beautifully decorated, quaint and clean. My daughter and I shared a room with a king bed and it was perfect for the two of us-The bed was outstanding-great linens and super comfy!!!
The location was close to great shopping, food and central park. I would definitely stay here again and most definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your Mom and Daughter's trip with us Tanya A. We are thrilled that you had such a great time. We will certainly pass on the wonderful feedback to Barry and how well received his "NBA Group" comment was! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I visited the newly renovated Regency hotel in Manhattan couple of weeks ago.
The hotel was closed for a while for major renovations.
So I had expectations ..
OK, it was so different than before!
I thought the TV in the middle of the mirror in the bathroom, was a bit tacky.
The eatery at the lobby level tried to look trendy, but lost the classy feeling it had had before.
Yet - it is about location-location-location ..And the hotel is located perfectly, a walking distance from leading venues.
Also - the stuff is friendly.
Overall - I liked the old Regency better, but it is a good hotel, very good service, and THAT location ..

Room Tip: I stayed in a deluxe room: It had enough room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us Teddy G. We are happy to hear that you wanted to try us after our $100 million renovation. As you mention, we do have the best location in town and our team are extremely friendly and happy to help with whatever you may need. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a brilliant stay at the Loews at the start of June, but have not had a chance to write a review until now. The service was outstanding, with invariably helpful but not obtrusive staff; the room, restaurant, bar were all sophisticated and contemporary, and we shall definitely stay there the next time we stay in New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
That is great to hear mgriffithschs. We are thrilled to hear you had a brilliant stay with us back in June and we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in NYC. Safe travels until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

If you can spoil yourself, you need to stay here! Being a NYer, I prefer to stay in quiet, non-tourist areas. I can run in park and still hit the restaurants and stores. Dog friendly. Staff is helpful, engaging and friendly. Rooms are elegant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for the kind review LBskis...you describe the new Loews Regency perfectly! We are central enough to be in close proximity to everything, but we are removed enough to not be in tourist central. We think we offer the best of both worlds. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I came with my parents to celebrate my 11th birthday (and was greeted at the front desk and wished a happy birthday). Our room was AMAZING! We found it hard to leave the comforts of it in the morning. We had an incredible spa day. I had an awesome massage, mani/pedi, and hair wash and blow-dry and my mom loved hers too! I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Don W. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your birthday so much and were well looked after by our team. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency Hotel

Address: 540 Park Ave, At 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#22 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#38 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Regency Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.