We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Regency Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Regency Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park To Park Package
Ranked #16 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“THE place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

With a gorgeous face lift and rejuvination - this is the place to say in Manhattan. The location is perfect, not too deep into the tourist traps, a couple of blocks from Central Park and right on Park Avenue, you feel almost like a local. All the staff are friendly and it's great not to be fighting hundreds of tourists in the bar, restaurant or even to get on the elevator. Get your walking shoes out and take a stroll to Central Park, Columbus Circle, Madison Avenue and Fifth Avenue. This is my address when i stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Have lots of small bills on you so you can tip the door man and the porters !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Duckmate we couldn't agree more about your walking shoes. There's so much to see and do close by. We are also happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    53
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
97
112
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We had such a good time in this hotel, the location is perfect.
The hotel is fantastic, we have a wonderful big room.
But the best party is the people who work there.
They all make me and my family feel very special, not just customers, and i really enjoy it.
We could not have a better hotel for our vacation in NY.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you Alonmoradi! We are so happy you and your family had a great time here on vacation. Thanks also for the very kind comment about our team. They certainly love to hear we have happy guests and we'll make sure to share your comments with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel has just reopened after a renovation and it looks great. I would highly recommend to anyone traveling to New York. The hotel is in a good location and two blocks from Central Park, Barney's and several fantastic restaurants. The bar at the hotel is perfect for a late night snack!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for the review Christy F. We think our location is pretty amazing too and we're happy you really liked the renovation. Maybe next time you can visit us for pleasure rather than business. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Came into town for a birthday dinner 7/19/2014 and stayed one night in room 1115. When I arrived the doorman was warm and friendly however once I entered the hotel the front desk staff didn't seem to acknowledge that I was waiting to check in. I waited at least 5 min with no one in line ahead of me. I felt very uncomfortable from that time on. Me and my husband went to the bar and grill in the evening and received the same cold shoulder from the blonde haired lady(wish I would've gotten her name) who told us we can't get service because we would have to be staying at the hotel, assuming we weren't staying at the hotel. It was so rude and actually made me cry that someone in this day and age would treat us like this maybe because we didn't look the part of their other guests. Me and my husband are African American and I would describe us as a polite friendly and classy couple and regardless of our skin shouldn't have been treated that way. The room review doesn't even matter because I would never stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Yosi212: I am very disturbed by this review. Please accept my most sincere apology. May I ask that you contact me directly, please? (jmcpartlin@loewshotels.com) I am anxious to get to the bottom of this. Best: Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I visited the Loews Regency for the first time in 2010 – then an antiquated call back to yesteryear, only the service stood forward as a paramount & or testament to the halcyon heritage of the brokers of the power breakfast. However, the 2014 version, featuring a very lush update, puts the Loews Regency heads & shoulders above its competition & seamlessly transitioned the aesthetic & feel of the property to match its impressive service experience. The complete overhaul of the restaurant & lobby entrance, & addition of the coffee shop, serves as a perfect reintroduction to the Loews Regency for longtime patrons – posh with a splash of modern elegance without being obnoxiously trendy. The updated spa & fitness center are both welcomed embellishments to the property’s amenities list – including the Fiat service, which I didn’t get to use but was very impressed with. The room was jaw dropping-ly exquisite – I had a two bedroom suite with a park facing view; 1 full bath, shower & double vanity in the master bedroom, a smaller bathroom in the double bed bedroom, & a smaller guest bathroom; a work desk, small kitchen & a full living room with marble table top in a smaller, corner, dining area. Beyond plush – the amount of space even for a suite was uncanny in comparison to other suites I’ve reserved in the city, let alone in Manhattan. As well there were superlative staff members that stood out during my stay, from Christian King, to Front Office Manager, Victoria, Paulette in Housekeeping, & concierges Robert & Kathleen. Bar none, this is an absolutely amazing reintroduction for the Loews flagship hotel, & I’m already rebooking for my stay in the fall!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review CosmoCasualATL. We are certainly proud of our Park Avenue Suites and glad you felt at home here. Thank you also for recognizing some of the wonderful team we have here. We will be certain to recognize each and every one of them individually. We look forward to welcoming you back in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

From entrance to departure I cannot say anything but Wow. The desk agent was welcoming and genuinely interested in why we were there. I travel frequently and never expect ppl to remember my name however at this Loews property my family could not have felt more at home. I was looking for theater tickets - well was I surprised, the seats were better than we have ever been in. It made my children feel they were on top of the world, thank you David. The ambiance of the bar for my wife and I was perfect and the newly renovated rooms were more than anyone could expect. It's a place to take someone special!! We even saw multiple celebrities in the Regency Bar & Grill. Just go - you'll never forget your experience in NY.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review Stayin613. We are grateful for you taking the time to fgill in a review for the hotel and gald you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are pleased you got to work with our Concierge team which David leads. He is a great asset for the hotel and we'll be sure to pass on your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Spent only one night but it was amazing. The renovation is so well done, the hotel is spotless and well appointed. The best part is the staff -- they are genuine, thoughtful, gracious, warm and they convey happiness. I would highly recommend staying. I plan to make it my home in NYC.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much Carrie C! We're thrilled you are going to come back and see us again. We''ll also share your feedback with the team as they are true hospitality professionals and love to know our guests are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency Hotel

Address: 540 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#13 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#14 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#38 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Regency Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to four devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.