We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Luxurious Stay on the Upper East Side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Athenee New York to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 E 64th St near Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Luxurious Stay on the Upper East Side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My partner and I travelled to New York in April and Hotel Plaza Athenee was simply superb. From reception to check-out, the hospitality was exemplary. Our room was immaculate and spacious, with elegant soft yellow and marble decor. The dimly-lit and cozy bar downstairs is an excellent spot for a nightcap, and the morning coffee in the lobby was a nice touch. Perfectly located on quiet and tree-lined 64th St., but just steps to a multitude of destinations. We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your most appreciated comments. We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be my pleasure to assist you with your future reservations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
We look forward to your return and wish you a wonderful remainder of the summer.

With kind regards,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    88
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
60
128
24
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

From the lovely floral arrangements to the unfailingly courteous and helpful staff,this is a wonderful hotel for those who want a quiet and tasteful small hotel apart from the hustle bustle of tourist sites. The location is on a charming tree-lined street in a residential neighborhood within easy walking distance of Central Park. Restaurant and bar prices are well above average,but nice restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your lovely posting. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We also appreciate your very kind mention of our flowers, which we take great pride of.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Plaza Athenee soon.

With kind regards and many thanks,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Upon recommendation from our travel agent we spent 5 days here in June. It was lovely, very pricey, but lovely. I feel like, although the location was great, a few blocks from Central Park, in a quiet neighborhood, it may have been too far out of the way for our first visit. It was a trek to get anywhere. Attentive service. Outrageously expensive drinks at the bar. $38 for a martini! As a traveled Los Angeles native that even shocked me.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Plaza Athenee is one of our favorite hotel while visiting New York City. The hotel is very well located in a quiet neighborhood and provides a very professional service similar to the one offered at the Plaza Athenee in Paris. The room service is always punctual and impeccable and the breakfast offered first class.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for sharing your comments during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and beverage and have made the Hotel Plaza Athenee your home in NYC.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athenee and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Wishing you a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,


Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Plaza Athenee (do not confuse with the Plaza, owned by ever-tasteless Donald Trump - the Plaza Athenee is in a different/higher category altogether) is an Upper East Side gem, tucked away on 64th in-between Madison and Park Avenues.

The PA (Plaza Athenee) embodies what is best about traditional standards and hotels from the best tradition of hotel-keeping. The service is impeccable - always courteous, always helpful, smiling, nothing too much trouble; doormen who quickly recognize and welcome guests and who seem to know your name more or less immediately. Public rooms that are elegant and on a personal scale with attentive staff. Bedrooms that are elegant, well appointed and for large for New York. Excellent bathrooms in the renovated rooms - ask for rooms with a walk-in shower and you won't be disappointed. Getting taxis on either Madison or Park is not bad. For a short trip to somewhere nearby the hotel may offer a complimentary use of the hotel car; they did that for us to get to a restaurant and it was much appreciated.

I booked two deluxe rooms and my comments reflect the deluxe rooms I saw. I assume similar points can be made about the standard and superior rooms.

A few smaller quibbles: (a) internet access in the bedrooms is an unacceptable $17/day, which is unreasonable when many hotels provide it free and could appropriately be free in a hotel with room costs at these levels; (b) the bathrooms in rooms that have not yet been renovated are small; (c) older rooms are not well provided with sockets for powering phones, iPads etc, though the renovated rooms are fine for this.

A bigger quibble is the approach to service charge in the restaurant: they automatically add a 20% service charge to all bills and then if you pay by credit card (for example a business expense you don't want to charge to a personal hotel bill) they add two(!) lines for further gratuities (a line for the waiter and another one for the captain), but don't show that 20% has already been added in to the price. This is not a worthy practice for a hotel that is in other respects operating at a higher level. It could certainly be considered deceptive and shoddy; at the least it is greedy. I am very surprised that they do this.

Overlooking the stated negatives, this is overall a superb, smaller-scale, classy hotel with excellent service and is a well-located true delight.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Loved this hotel, calm, sophisticated, gorgeous, elegant rooms and overall very good. And you are in the best shopping area in all of New York. But a little expensive which I guess for NY is the norm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Plaza Athenee Hotel, during our trip to NY city in April, 2011. The view from the windows was not breathtaking, but the room was tidy, well furnished and very clean. The hotel staff were very polite and always around, but, yet, very discreet. They had a magical way to find a taxi for us, even during rush hours! The guys from the concierge desk managed to book seats for a helicopter sightseeing, after choosing the day with the best weather, and for the greatest Broadway show! Breakfast and dinner were absolutely delicious and we could have a late breakfast in our room, with only a small extra charge. Our shoes were polished every night and a newspaper was every morning outside our door!
We had a great time and we'd sure come back, next time we"ll be in the Big Apple!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We greatly appreciate the praise provided towards our staff.
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit in the Big Apple and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Plaza Athenee in the future.

Sincerely,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Address: 37 E 64th St near Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet tree-lined street of the Upper East Side is where you will find the Hotel Plaza Athenee, a boutique luxury hotel nestled among genteel residences and lavish townhouses on Sixty-Fourth Street between Park and Madison Avenue. Combining cosmopolitan luxury with the intimacy and services of a boutique hotel, Hotel Plaza Athenee has created a home away from home for royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and sophisticated travelers from all around the world since 1984. Charming and elegant in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athenee speaks of a more refined time and place. The classic grandeur of the Hotel Plaza Athenee welcomes with an opulent atmosphere where Louis XVI style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, noble Italian marble, French antiques and lux furnishings create our gracious haven. Located in the heart of Manhattan, the best of New York City's attractions are within a short walk from the Plaza Athenee's front door. Enjoy delightful strolls to Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries, and museums. Our location is convenient to the city's cultural, financial and business centers. Offering sophisticated cocktails, an extensive curated wine and champagne list, as well as refined afternoon High Tea and Light Fares, our beautiful Bar Seine's eclectic decor of rich velvets, animal print fabrics, and leather floors provides the perfect setting for all occasions. The exquisite gastronomical feasts of Arabelle are sure to linger in one's memory. Our Chef's culinary creations for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch are served with grace, using only the finest local, organic ingredients. Where leaders of finance and fashion plan strategy on next season's creations, Royalty and A-list celebrities dine privately, weddings and celebrations are meticulously catered to; understated and attentive service is our passion. To relieve and strengthen both mind and body, The Hotel Plaza Athenee houses a 24-hour fitness center and offers our guests the only Valmont SPA in the United States. At sunrise, greet the morning with vigor. At dusk, melt away the tensions of work and play. There are still retreats in the world where proud service and love of detail are unobtrusively and generously given. In New York, Hotel Plaza Athenee is such a place. Accommodations The Hotel Plaza Athenee offers 140 guest rooms in a variety of styles and decor. Find respite in the lushness of our guestrooms and suites where thoughtful touches of comfort and luxury soothe away the day's travails. All guest rooms feature ultra-plush beds with luxurious Italian linens, Louis XVI style furnishings, comfortable seating areas and writing desks. Plasma TVs and wireless internet services are provided for your in-room entertainment. A selection of suites feature enlarged marble bathrooms with deep soaking tubs, double sinks, full kitchenettes and boast both sun-drenched indoor-glass enclosed atrium terraces and outdoor balconies with unobstructed panoramic views of the New York City skyline. Configurations of up to four bedrooms with living rooms and dining rooms, offer a residential style experience with upscale services. The ambiance is reminiscent of fine homes, thoughtfully furnished, elegant and polished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.