We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel In Quiet Neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Athenee New York to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel In Quiet Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

From the lovely floral arrangements to the unfailingly courteous and helpful staff,this is a wonderful hotel for those who want a quiet and tasteful small hotel apart from the hustle bustle of tourist sites. The location is on a charming tree-lined street in a residential neighborhood within easy walking distance of Central Park. Restaurant and bar prices are well above average,but nice restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your lovely posting. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We also appreciate your very kind mention of our flowers, which we take great pride of.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Plaza Athenee soon.

With kind regards and many thanks,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Upon recommendation from our travel agent we spent 5 days here in June. It was lovely, very pricey, but lovely. I feel like, although the location was great, a few blocks from Central Park, in a quiet neighborhood, it may have been too far out of the way for our first visit. It was a trek to get anywhere. Attentive service. Outrageously expensive drinks at the bar. $38 for a martini! As a traveled Los Angeles native that even shocked me.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Plaza Athenee is one of our favorite hotel while visiting New York City. The hotel is very well located in a quiet neighborhood and provides a very professional service similar to the one offered at the Plaza Athenee in Paris. The room service is always punctual and impeccable and the breakfast offered first class.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for sharing your comments during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and beverage and have made the Hotel Plaza Athenee your home in NYC.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athenee and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Wishing you a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,


Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Plaza Athenee (do not confuse with the Plaza, owned by ever-tasteless Donald Trump - the Plaza Athenee is in a different/higher category altogether) is an Upper East Side gem, tucked away on 64th in-between Madison and Park Avenues.

The PA (Plaza Athenee) embodies what is best about traditional standards and hotels from the best tradition of hotel-keeping. The service is impeccable - always courteous, always helpful, smiling, nothing too much trouble; doormen who quickly recognize and welcome guests and who seem to know your name more or less immediately. Public rooms that are elegant and on a personal scale with attentive staff. Bedrooms that are elegant, well appointed and for large for New York. Excellent bathrooms in the renovated rooms - ask for rooms with a walk-in shower and you won't be disappointed. Getting taxis on either Madison or Park is not bad. For a short trip to somewhere nearby the hotel may offer a complimentary use of the hotel car; they did that for us to get to a restaurant and it was much appreciated.

I booked two deluxe rooms and my comments reflect the deluxe rooms I saw. I assume similar points can be made about the standard and superior rooms.

A few smaller quibbles: (a) internet access in the bedrooms is an unacceptable $17/day, which is unreasonable when many hotels provide it free and could appropriately be free in a hotel with room costs at these levels; (b) the bathrooms in rooms that have not yet been renovated are small; (c) older rooms are not well provided with sockets for powering phones, iPads etc, though the renovated rooms are fine for this.

A bigger quibble is the approach to service charge in the restaurant: they automatically add a 20% service charge to all bills and then if you pay by credit card (for example a business expense you don't want to charge to a personal hotel bill) they add two(!) lines for further gratuities (a line for the waiter and another one for the captain), but don't show that 20% has already been added in to the price. This is not a worthy practice for a hotel that is in other respects operating at a higher level. It could certainly be considered deceptive and shoddy; at the least it is greedy. I am very surprised that they do this.

Overlooking the stated negatives, this is overall a superb, smaller-scale, classy hotel with excellent service and is a well-located true delight.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRW720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Loved this hotel, calm, sophisticated, gorgeous, elegant rooms and overall very good. And you are in the best shopping area in all of New York. But a little expensive which I guess for NY is the norm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyPerson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Plaza Athenee Hotel, during our trip to NY city in April, 2011. The view from the windows was not breathtaking, but the room was tidy, well furnished and very clean. The hotel staff were very polite and always around, but, yet, very discreet. They had a magical way to find a taxi for us, even during rush hours! The guys from the concierge desk managed to book seats for a helicopter sightseeing, after choosing the day with the best weather, and for the greatest Broadway show! Breakfast and dinner were absolutely delicious and we could have a late breakfast in our room, with only a small extra charge. Our shoes were polished every night and a newspaper was every morning outside our door!
We had a great time and we'd sure come back, next time we"ll be in the Big Apple!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Mihalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We greatly appreciate the praise provided towards our staff.
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit in the Big Apple and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Plaza Athenee in the future.

Sincerely,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the suites and some regular rooms. The suite and rooms were beautiful. Everything was so amazing and perfect. The suite, the service and the staff were warm and taking care the guest in a kind of a long regular guest they have known. The breakfast was awesome, an a la carte style, and they way they served us really nice. The front liner are so helpful, especialy during check in and check out. And..one thing, on my last day, they served us a wine and cheese platter in the suite room. So romantic. Thank you..you made our trip to New York City unforgetable one.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rusykam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing