We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Athenee New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 E 64th St at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 2, get 20% off
Ranked #136 of 449 hotels in New York City
Barbara
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Less than Luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves on a recent visit to NYC and stay at the Plaza Athenee hotel. Although we had often visited it for cocktails, this was our first, and last, overnight stay It started out promising, with a lovely upgrade to a generous room, huge closet and a modern, large bath...but the lighting designer should be shot..the bathroom was.dark and difficult for makeup and shaving. On the way to the room the bellboy chatted, but never offered to take the bag my husband was carrying.
There can be a long wait for a taxi...this hotel is on a quiet side street uptown on the East side and cabs are not plentiful.

Dinner was a disaster: the dining room was sparsely filled, but we were greeted warmly and seated. Halfway through our appetizer course the waiter came to clean the table , and when objected, he announced that the main course was on the way and we should put our appetizers on the side. No way! so our meal came later, a little dried out and lukewarm.

So, in spite of pleasant people, the rate of $895 per night (plus tax) , was not the luxury we expected and have experienced in other five star properties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. I am sorry to learn that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay, particularly the restaurant, and would like to invite you to contact me personally at swurst@plaza-athenee.com so I can address your concerns.

Warm regards,
Sebastian Wurst
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    79
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
50
114
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Elegant atmosphere and attentive, skilled staff. My room was very comfortable and peaceful. Bath was not small and was well equipped. Central location still feels residential. Hotel feels like Paris or London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, Ny
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my third visit to the Plaza Athenee in NYC. It is a small cozy hotel in the prime Madison Ave. shopping area very near Barney's. It has an old fashioned feel and the rooms and bathrooms are very small. Service in the bar is very friendly and quite slow. The staff are thoughtful - they treated us to a glass of prosecco while we waited past three PM for our room.
It is very quiet - great place to "sleep-in"

Room Tip: Guess from the reviews you better head for the penthouse....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Overall a nice hotel with good quality. Limited reception area where luggages are stocked/accumulated. Very attentive and solution oriented staff especially at the reception and concierge. Moderate size deluxe rooms (ask for a room receiving daylight). Small size bathroom with limited amenities. Small but very cosy bar, entertaining magician show on Mondays...Reserve your taxi if you are travelling in peak hours otherwise doorman may not get you one for more than half an hour...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Maybe it was AMEX FHR and maybe it was that the PA felt badly that I had such a terrible experience at the Palace NY (that I had to check out after checking in) but, when I arrived, not only was my room ready but I had been upgraded to the penthouse. WOW! Talk about an amazing hotel room! The room itself was huge with a great TV, walk-in closet with wall of mirrors, updated marble bathroom with fantastic shower (that even had great water pressure) then I also had a solarium (which did get a little warm because it had three walls of glass) which was a separate sitting room with a TV. The best part, however, was the roof-top wrap around terrace with sitting area and lounge - simply spectacular views of the city! Wow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've stayed at the Plaza Athenee several times over the past few months since it is part of the AMEX FHR program.

Well, the hotel sure is showing its age. Common areas are looking quite worn and shabby, the bar/restaurant is aging (not so gracefully) and the rooms, especially the bathrooms, are very out-dated.

That said, the location is right in the center of the bullseye! Quite, tree-lined street just off madison, yet the 64th street location makes it an easy walk to the 57th street area (shopping epicenter), the park, and the offices on Madison and Park on the east side. (I view the Carlyle as sort of a close competitior, but the PA has a slightly better location since it is another 12 blocks uptown.

I should add that even though the hotel is well-worn, it does (generally) feel clean, or at least clean enough.

Also, while expensive, the PA usually seems to come in at a slightly lower price point than many of its competitors on the FHR roster... And, unlike many other properties, the AMEX room upgrade has always been available when I've stayed there.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms seem to be the best and most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's certainly a unforgetable experience to spend a classic New York weekend in this charming Hotel. A great mixture between the "savoire vivre" of the french culture and the friendly "customer service" of the Americans makes this Hotel a special Manhattan experience.
With a bar than can create very well made drinks and a quiet and personalized service at the restaurant, off course wilth complex french cousine, all of it with an early 20th century decoration, it is a perfect location to enjoy a quiet stay in mid town Manhattan.
The rooms are ample with plenty of sun light, with a bed that invites you to rest and have only good dreams. Luxury bathroom and an extraordinary Housekeeping Service.
Concierge services provide you with ample choices for restaurant reservations, show tickets and other helpfull tips, allways with great success.
A very good hotel focused in providing you with personalized service, at a good price for what you obtain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Address: 37 E 64th St at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most well-respected hotels in the world, New York City’s Hôtel Plaza Athénée provides European grandeur with the intimacy of a boutique hotel. It's prime location on the fashionable Upper East Side of Manhattan makes a day of sightseeing or shopping convenient for leisure and business travelers and for families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, LHW, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.