We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic hotel in the upper eastside NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Athenee New York to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 E 64th St near Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“classic hotel in the upper eastside NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

the service at this hotel is wonderful as is the bar and dining room. our suite was quiet and quite large facing E 64th. convenient location and neighborhood not so crowded with tourists. the living room sofas cushions are kind of lumpy and not comfortable but otherwise the maintenance of the room is very good and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    90
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
64
136
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

now it really depends what style you like when it comes to decoration. the location of the hotel is amazing, directly next to madison avenue, none of the big nice hotels can offer you such an amazing location. the service is very good, friendly and helpful. the standard of the hotel is quite high but we just dont like the style so much. its the typical old decoration, very nice if you like the style but we like more modern hotels like the mandarin. we would come back to plaza athenee for sure, because it is still a lovely hotel and nothing tops the location but it is not our first choice.
i can still recommend the hotel to everyone because it definitely lives up to its reputation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel Athenee is a wonderful little gem of a hotel. My normal hotel was completely booked, and so I stayed with a group in a suite at Hotel Athenee. What a charming suprise! Unlike many uber modern hotels popping up around the world, Hotel Athenee captures the charm of the city by incorporating french decor, warm woods, and sparkling crystal light fixtures. Service is excellent and they are FRIENDLY!! It was a quick trip for me, and I needed a salon fix ASAP. They managed to connect me with Yann Varin, who came over from his Salon only a block or so away.

He is a superb stylist, but also an incredibly nice and diplomatic(no big name dropping here), and managed to get me ready in no time for a show during Fashion Week. Turns out he has a big celebrity client list, but you would never know this from his demeanor.

I don't know about the other rooms, but the suites were quite nice and quiet. Also, GREAT location for shopping!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

classic hotel great location in a residential neighbourhood feeling like living in a New York residence steps away from the Madison avenue. efficient early check-in, attentive staff and good breakfast. Rooms are OK but pricey and although some rooms claimed to be renovated there is nothing special. terrible HVAC system in the rooms. impossible to sleep when turned on as it sounds like a train. would stay again if and only catch a promotional price as there are better alternatives with the listed prices.

Room Tip: street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We found this hotel on trip advisor and we where more than happy with it. We had a really nice welcome and the director of the hotel gave us a complementary bottle of wine from California in our room. Nice touch !
The breakfast room is so charmy and the have one of the best croissant of New York !
We'll be back soon !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My experience at the Plaza Athenee has been better than any of the other 5-star hotels I've stayed at in NYC. As a boutique hotel it feels like it is my home away from home. The doormen greet me with 'Welcome Back' and a smile. The waitress remembered at my dinner in the restaurant a second time that I liked salad dressing on the side.
I think the rooms are very well-proportioned. I don't feel cramped and I'm in a regular room.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone who likes understated luxury and high-quality service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a great getaway near the Park.upgrade your room to a suite or you will be cramped. That's not to say the small rooms aren't nice but this is a higher end hotel price wise so give your self the added comfort. Service is what you would expect at a 5star and the restaurant is very good for all meals. Don't look for views the character is in the setting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Address: 37 E 64th St near Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet tree-lined street of the Upper East Side is where you will find the Hotel Plaza Athenee, a boutique luxury hotel nestled among genteel residences and lavish townhouses on Sixty-Fourth Street between Park and Madison Avenue. Combining cosmopolitan luxury with the intimacy and services of a boutique hotel, Hotel Plaza Athenee has created a home away from home for royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and sophisticated travelers from all around the world since 1984. Charming and elegant in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athenee speaks of a more refined time and place. The classic grandeur of the Hotel Plaza Athenee welcomes with an opulent atmosphere where Louis XVI style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, noble Italian marble, French antiques and lux furnishings create our gracious haven. Located in the heart of Manhattan, the best of New York City's attractions are within a short walk from the Plaza Athenee's front door. Enjoy delightful strolls to Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries, and museums. Our location is convenient to the city's cultural, financial and business centers. Offering sophisticated cocktails, an extensive curated wine and champagne list, as well as refined afternoon High Tea and Light Fares, our beautiful Bar Seine's eclectic decor of rich velvets, animal print fabrics, and leather floors provides the perfect setting for all occasions. The exquisite gastronomical feasts of Arabelle are sure to linger in one's memory. Our Chef's culinary creations for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch are served with grace, using only the finest local, organic ingredients. Where leaders of finance and fashion plan strategy on next season's creations, Royalty and A-list celebrities dine privately, weddings and celebrations are meticulously catered to; understated and attentive service is our passion. To relieve and strengthen both mind and body, The Hotel Plaza Athenee houses a 24-hour fitness center and offers our guests the only Valmont SPA in the United States. At sunrise, greet the morning with vigor. At dusk, melt away the tensions of work and play. There are still retreats in the world where proud service and love of detail are unobtrusively and generously given. In New York, Hotel Plaza Athenee is such a place. Accommodations The Hotel Plaza Athenee offers 140 guest rooms in a variety of styles and decor. Find respite in the lushness of our guestrooms and suites where thoughtful touches of comfort and luxury soothe away the day's travails. All guest rooms feature ultra-plush beds with luxurious Italian linens, Louis XVI style furnishings, comfortable seating areas and writing desks. Plasma TVs and wireless internet services are provided for your in-room entertainment. A selection of suites feature enlarged marble bathrooms with deep soaking tubs, double sinks, full kitchenettes and boast both sun-drenched indoor-glass enclosed atrium terraces and outdoor balconies with unobstructed panoramic views of the New York City skyline. Configurations of up to four bedrooms with living rooms and dining rooms, offer a residential style experience with upscale services. The ambiance is reminiscent of fine homes, thoughtfully furnished, elegant and polished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.