We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pierre Was A Pleasure Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pierre Was A Pleasure Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is one fine old but venerable, classy, luxurious hotel. Our accommodations were perfect in every way. No complaints only kudos and cheers. The staff to guest ratio is one of the highest anywhere and it shows. The rooms are immaculate, luxurious, and equipped with modern electronics, yet retaining the old world charm for which The Pierre is known. The Upper East Side location across from Central Park is perfectly suited for visits all over the city. Next door is Barneys, a few blocks away are the best retail stores in Manhattan on Madison and Lexington Avenues. We loved our 5 day stay and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms without Park views or good city views have better pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    134
    51
    30
    23
See reviews for
174
297
43
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The lounge at The Pierre is a great spot often overlooked in Manhattan - very nice lounge and ambience good snacks and great service - the staff experience is always consistent - good music on Tuesdays so if having a business meeting don't go on Tuesdays - good place

Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear gabrieldanaher,

How lovely it was to read your review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Two E Bar/Lounge on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed yourself and the music. We do hope to welcome you back again for jazz and cocktails - or our divine afternoon tea!

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Pierre is an excellent choice for discerning travelers who appreciate consummate service and ideal location. Located on 5th Avenues and 61st (the east side of Central Park), you have the ideal starting point for anything in New York City. Literally at one side of the hotel is the entrance to the subway (R train). Room service is outstanding. The staff is amazing. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear travelers0418,

What a delight to read your review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and am happy you were able to take advantage of our location. Sending you the very best wishes and we hope to see you again when you are next in NYC!

Thank you

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here recently to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. I had informed the hotel that we staying to celebrate our anniversay and my wife's birthday and when we checked in they thanked us for choosing their hotel to celebrate. When we got to our room there was champagne, flowers, a cake and a note from the manager, a lovely gesture which set the tone for our stay. Our room on the 37th floor had a view of Central Park, truly amazing. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful, providing recommendations on places to eat, visit and getting about. The location is amazing, across from the Park and on 5th Ave, perfect for our stay. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Richard E,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at The Pierre on TripAdvisor. What an absolute pleasure to read your review! We are honored that you chose our hotel to celebrate such momentous occasions. I am glad to see that you had a lovely time with our staff - I will be sure to communicate this to the team! We do hope to welcome you both again when you are next in NYC.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely fabulous hotel, staff excellent, location superb, service very, very good. We would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay at a top, luxurious, hotel. One plea is for the hotel to invest in quieter air-conditioning (although perhaps it was only our room that had quite a noisy system).

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear 988Mark,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel - we appreciate your feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to read your review and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to host you again when you are next in NYC!

Thank you

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Central location, elegant ambiance. Quiet, comfortable room. Excellent service by professional and polite staff. Wide menu selection and very good food in the restaurant.
One of the best in comparison with other top hotels in New York City.

Room Tip: Quiete room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Erwin R,

What an absolute pleasure to read your review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had lovely interactions with our staff. I am glad you had the opportunity to try our cuisine - it is wonderful to know that everything was to your liking. We do hope to welcome you back when you are next in New York.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at The Pierre for several nights on a business trip recently. This was my first stay at this hotel and wasn't sure what to expect - other than knowing that this is a very old property.

When first entering the hotel and walking through its halls / into the lobby, it is definitely underwhelming. There was certainly no "wow" factor and I recall worrying about how bad the room was going to be, based on my first impression of the hotel. Fortunately, the room was newly renovated and I was very pleasantly surprised. It is not large, but definitely sufficient and had all the main necessities.

Service was also quite good from the front desk and guess service / room service. The concierge was a little snobby, but knowledgable.

Location was the least favorite part for me. For tourists, I think the location, right across from Central Park, close to the Plaza Hotel and Apple Store on 5th Ave., etc., may be quite good. For business travelers, I found that the location was quite out of the way. I had a dedicated driver during my NY visit and even with that benefit, it was quite inconvenient and I found myself waiting in traffic to go to my meetings (which were sprinkled throughout midtown).

Overall, I don't think I will return to this hotel if given a choice. Primarily due to its location. I didn't have a lot of major complaints on the room, service, etc. The Pierre could certainly be a good option for others / tourists, etc.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear RNG1008,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel. We value the feedback we receive via TripAdvisor and hope you will consider us for your next stay in New York City.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#50 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.