We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Luxury and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am not sure that words can express just how wonderful our stay was at The Pierre Hotel. The service was as luxurious as the room. The hard working staff made sure that our every wish was exceeded and the professionalism was unprecedented. The room had high ceilings, beautiful furniture and gorgeous fabrics. Everything about it was so comfortable, including the bed which was turned down for us when we returned for the evening. It is expensive but I thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    131
    51
    30
    23
See reviews for
173
287
42
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here a few weeks back for a legal conference and honestly can say it was the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in for New York. I had stayed here years ago and remembered liking it, wow has it gone down hill! The ONLY positive is the location, otherwise its simply awful.

Our room was on the 5th floor above the HVAC unit so it sounded like a jet engine was outside our window, but that pails to horrific interior of this dump. Two words, Black Light...The carpet was stained everywhere, the curtains were frayed and the furniture looked like it came from the Rock & Roll Hyatt in LA. The bathroom was so small that I could actually pee from the shower into the toilet if I had liked. It was absolutely trashed out with cigarette burns all over and still smelled like smoke (yet was a non-smoking room).

And for $800 per night? You've got to be kidding me, there are so many good hotels in NY, stay elsewhere. When we left we told the front desk manager about our experience and she told us, "sorry, but we hear that a lot". We transferred after one night to Trump Hotel, which was the exact opposite...great!

I've stayed in hotels all over the world and have stayed in several Taj's in the past, which were actually very nice, but this hotel is actually in my bottom 10% worldwide and for the price is arguably the worst.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, but if you are stuck here you must have room above the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Scott M,

Thank you for your feedback and thoughts. Your comments have been noted and addressed directly.

Wishing you the very best for the future,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 4th stay at The Pierre and certainly not to be the last. We feel like we are at home (a really nice home) when we stay at The Pierre. Everyone remembers us at every return. It seems like The Pierre rounded up the nicest people on the planet and hired them to work at their hotel. Keep up the GREAT work......We will see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear jojoruss,

What a delight to read your review - many thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to hear that you felt at home during your stay and am absolutely beaming to read that our staff made such an impression! I will be sure to share your feedback with our team members. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you here again when you are next in New York City.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Pierre over Easter to celebrate my 50th birthday, and the hotel exceeded all our expectations. Traditional, classy and elegant. Wonderful location on Central Park, which is tranquil considering the surrounding noise and bustle of Manhattan, and very well placed for shopping too - Tiffanys is just a few hundred yards away! We booked a suite as it was for a special occasion and it was well worth the extra cost. Bedroom, living room and bathroom all really spacious and luxurious, with the only drawback being on the 6th floor which meant no view as such. All the staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, and I love the fact that they have uniformed lift attendants - it was like stepping back in time! On my birthday, when we returned to our room in the afternoon, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice and a chocolate cake. Wonderful touch to make our special trip even more memorable. On our last evening we found a lovely Italian restaurant, Brio, just a couple of blocks away on Lexington Avenue. Great food and atmosphere, proper family owned and very friendly. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to New York.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a City View which was spacious and luxurious, but on the 6th floor so no real vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SpikeCoDurham,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am absolutely thrilled to read that you had such a pleasant birthday celebration and am pleased that your champagne and cake were well-received.It sounds as though you were able to really explore the neighborhood - your shopping and dining experiences sound divine! We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Pierre when you are next in New York.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a special experience for the experienced traveler. You appreciate the professionalism of the staff at The Pierre. Everyone treats you with respect and everyone perfectly knows their job. Everyone is done to perfection. People take pride in their jobs and what they do. This is true service, not fake or insincere statements. There is an atmosphere of relaxed elegance in this hotel. You are in the heart of New York City but this hotel is like a perfect oasis that rejuvenates you. We have traveled all over the world and I feel that the employees at this hotel do their jobs better than anyone anywhere. Everything in this hotel is in perfect shape and tastefully done. It is elegance at its finest but nothing overdone. We were reluctant to leave the hotel! The rotunda room is a one-of-a-kind picture taking opportunity. We love the lounge. At The Pierre you feel like a wealthy pampered resident of midtown Manhattan. We will never forget our time there.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Gary003,

What an absolute delight it was to read your review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you so enjoyed your stay and had such wonderful interactions with our staff. I'm also glad to know you found our Rotunda an ideal photo opportunity - we hope your shots came out beautifully! We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in New York City.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been somewhat disappointed by the Plaza last year, we decided to try the Pierre. It was definitely a good choice and we greatly enjoyed our stay. We started off in style, straight out of our intercontinental flight, with a stroll through Central Park. Lovely! We had a spacious room with a very tasteful décor and a view over...the Plaza! The bathroom was rather small, but had everything we required, except net curtains, therefore one had to put the blind down all the time. Also part of the room were a very adequate dressing room and a small kitchen (what for?). Staff at reception were very efficient and helpful and the people at the concierge desk were excellent. They sent a parcel for me with minimum fuss and great efficiency. The doormen were consistently efficient and helpful (not very hard to find a taxi, given the location!) and we loved the fact that the lifts are manned. We only had a light breakfast in the room as we were struggling with jet lag, but it was a very good breakfast. Because of the location, over four days we managed to walk in the park at least on three occasions! All in all, a very pleasant experience we will certainly repeat.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear clara b,

What an absolute delight it was to read your review - I am thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay! With the lovely weather we've been experiencing, your strolls through Central Park must have been absolutely lovely. It was our pleasure having you and I will share your wonderful feedback with the staff. Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Pierre, A Taj Hotel on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back when you are next in New York City.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I actually stayed at The Pierre in March of 2014. It was a remarkable experience for my daughter and I and we still marvel at how well appointed and beautiful this hotel is. We were treated like royalty and received an abundance of assistance with plans, always being greeted with a smile and genuine concern from every employee we came in to contact with. The location is perfect, right At the SE corner of Central Park near the best shopping, museums and restaurants that NYC has to offer. We will definitely return to this very special hotel. It is truly special!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Benderpat,

What an absolute delight to read your review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to read that you and your daughter had such a wonderful time at the hotel and were able to enjoy everything our neighborhood has to offer. With Central Park now fully in bloom, we hope to welcome you back to The Pierre soon!

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#17 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.