We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old lady called ... Pierre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A grand old lady called ... Pierre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

At one of the best possible locations in town, Upper East on 5th Avenue with Central park across the street, The Pierre is an icon of luxury of another age. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, quiet and spacious rooms. This 5 star hotel offers a 5 star experience. You don't need a lift boy or girl in every elevator, but this is exemplary of what sets this grand old lady apart. For guests (like us) who are easily satisfied with the very best, look no further. Your next stop in NYC is at the Pierre.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    129
    49
    29
    21
See reviews for
170
277
42
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I used to be client at the Pierre before the change of ownership to TAJ. I can't say i was pleased of my stay... i really felt the change. Although the reception staff tried to be accommodating, i couldn't help but feel condescended the majority of the time.
the rooms were quite small, but very well cleaned.
The only true positiveness i found, was in the concierge. very knowledgeable and willing to help.

I will not be returning at the Pierre, because the price to quality ratio, for my tastes, isn't there.
best of luck with your stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear conteCaudulloA,

I was disheartened to read your review on TripAdvisor and I'm sorry that we aren't to your personal liking and that you felt condescended to during your stay, as this certainly is far from the intention of any of our team. Should you like to share more details with me, I’d be more than happy to hear from you - please feel free to send a note to share your comments to Corie.Cousins@tajhotels.com. Again, I’m extremely sorry that we weren't to your personal taste but thank you for taking the time to comment.

Thank you

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After attending Marathon de Paris in France and family engagement in New Jersey, I chose to stay in 5th Ave , New York to spend quality time with my family. We stayed at The Pierre Hotel( Taj Property). The hotel was just like an oasis on 5th Ave with it's luxury , service and ambiance. Our day started with a warm smile from the lady who operated our lift to warm hospitality of the house keeping, room service and lobby staffs. We relaxed in the hotel after wondering in New York city with it's blue and plenty of sunshine to see statue of Liberty, Brooklyn Bridge , enjoy a ride in subway, attending Aida at Metropolitan Opera, visiting the Metropolitan Museum or hosted the Bengali New Year's dinner or just looked out to Central Park in the hustle and bustle of New York.

Room Tip: Rooms are luxorious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Bengaltiger2015,

What an absolute delight to read your review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel staff warm and accommodating. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in New York!

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is a truly beautiful hotel, esp the public space. i love the lobby and its function rooms. so beautiful. the location is great for shopping and central park. also pretty convenient for numerous restaurants on lexington. service was attentive and the room was nice.
breakfast was slightly pricey, i feel.
for each elevator, there was an attendant who pushes the buttons for you and go up and down with you. this was a nice touch but after a few times, i felt uncomfortable having to make small talks.
still altogether i had a great stay. i had a city view room and that was nice. but i am sure the park view would be amazing though.

Room Tip: try to go for the park view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear banjapat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to welcome you back again when you are next in New York.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was lucky enough to be in NY on a visit for St. Patrick's Day, I was also lucky enough to have a very good NY friend who booked afternoon tea in the Pierre that afternoon. As there was three of us, we had plenty to eat. I opted for the Lapsang Souchong tea which arrived with beautifully made sandwiches, scones with three different selection of preserves, a selection of patisserie. The service was excellent, the atmosphere was also very good as there were a lot of Irish/Americans who had attended the parade so all in all great experience, beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear LouR,

I was delighted to read your review of afternoon tea at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel's Two E Bar/Lounge on TripAdvisor - thank you very much for taking the time to comment! The parade was such a lovely day and it was a pleasure to play host to attendees. We do hope to welcome you back - perhaps for a stay! - the next time you find yourself in New York City.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this was a last minute trip. frequently stay at other hotels in the area. i was pleasantly surprised by the very cordial staff and classic traditionalism of this hotel. it is a grand old hotel but totally refurbished and elegant. views of the park were beautiful and i could even see up to the george washington bridge.treat yourself to the taj style room service as the food(indian type) is incredible. there were several galas and weddings there during my stay but this only added to the enjoyment!.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear johndo1,

It was our pleasure to host you and I am positively delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York on TripAdvisor. It's wonderful that you were able to partake in our Indian In-Room Dining options - particularly with such a lovely view as a background! We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again the next time you find yourself in New York.

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would stay here every time if I could. One of the most comfortable beds of any hotel and some of the most friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful interior and spacious rooms. Perfect location next to Central Park. Love everything about this hotel!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierreTajHotel, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear LAnne g,

What an absolute pleasure to read - thank you so much for taking the time to review The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York on TripAdvisor. I am so glad you found everything to your liking and hope to welcome you back to enjoy the warmer weather this summer in Central Park!

Thank you,

Christian Hommerich
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Business Hotel in New York City
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.