We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for New Years Eve. It was a little pricey but it was one of the best hotels we stayed at. It is in need of some repairs but that can be over looked. The staff is amazing and cant ask for a better location.
If you eat at the restaurant the risotto is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    120
    48
    26
    20
See reviews for
160
262
38
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Pierre is by far the best hotel in NYC! The staff treated us like royalty the entire stay. They anticipate your every need and always greet you with a smile. We have stayed here mulitple times over the years, and The Pierre has always exceeded our expectations from the gorgeous, spacious rooms, to the excellent quality of food from room service and the restaurant. The concierge was extremely helpful in securing reservations and a car service when needed. The hair salon and fitness center are fabulous as well. The Pierre has every amenity imaginable and all services are impeccable. The location is ideal for enjoying all New York has to offer. We walked to our Broadway shows, shops, and all the museums on the Upper East Side. The Pierre is simply the best!

Room Tip: All floors are extremely quiet so anywhere in the hotel is excellent. Higher floors have very nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Pierre not only has a great location next to Central Park but also has a very accommodating and professional staff that are very willing to please. The hotel is quiet and elegant and you have a very relaxed atmosphere. I would highly recommend The Pierre for a night or a special weekend in NYC

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been staying at the Pierre for a number of years. Every trip we look forward to the warm atmosphere, superior service and first class accommodations. The Pierre is a sanctuary from the hustle of manhattan. We have tried other luxury hotels in NYC and now only stay at the Pierre.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We dashed into the city for a long weekend and treated ourselves to The Pierre. The staff is top drawer-- everyone greets you, says hello and the elevator operators even remember what floor you're staying on. The rooms are small, but well appointed. It's NYC, for Pete's Sake, so you're not going to get the square footage of a suburban Marriott! We had enough room for my son's rollaway bed and no one stepped on anyone. The bathroom was divine with a separate soaking tub and a shower with one of those "raindrop" heads or you could choose a traditional head as well. The Moulton Brown amenities are exquisite as well. My son forgot his toothbrush and we received a wonderful dental kit with a toothpaste, mouthwash and the toothbrush had a travel cover! The thick luxurious robe, soft slippers and Bose stereo made it hard to want to leave the room and see the city. The concierge arranged for brunch reservations and we were able to use the courtesy car to get us to the train station. This is top of the line and spoils you for anything less. Well done Pierre... this was our 3rd visit, but the first after their major renovation. Can't wait for our 4th!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Pierre is a dilapidated property. Perhaps trying to masquerade behind a veil of providing a retro-timeless elegance but in reality its just a shell of its former self with a poor paint-job, old (read: not antique) furniture and a central heating system that while I guarantee will not fail to keep you up all night will not keep your room at a comfortable temperature for very long.

Next the service. All I can say is I was flabbergasted. The front desk staff could not process the pre-paid reservation we made and did not fail to harass us at every turn for receipts, booking references, emails (over 31 were sent) and in the end essentially accused us of defrauding them for failing to provide them with non-existent documentation (no "physical" proof I guess because in the 1920s they had never heard of email) Worst $10k I ever spent.

The room: How do you like the idea of spending $800/night to sleep in a closet while staring at a dumpster in a box that reverberates from a pre WW II radiator while the temperature fluctuates between 20 and 120 degrees? If so the Pierre is the place for you!

The food: The food is outstanding. Unfortunately it cannot make up a single bubble for the rest of the place.

Recommended Alternative for an old school NY lux experience: The Carlyle
Alternatively for something more modern: The Surrey (my preference)

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Matthew S

I’m sorry to read that our hotel was not to your personal taste. Wishing you the very best of luck in future endeavors.

Warm Regards

Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Of course the location couldn't be better. The hotel rooms and restaurants are the best. But what , in my opinion, makes The Pierre stand out from the others is the staff. They are so nice and well trained, and helpful, and amable. In summary, I always come back to this hotel because it feels very much like home.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ldeavila

Thank you very much for your wonderfully kind review on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you enjoy our employees and the service that you receive when you stay with us at The Pierre. Looking forward to welcoming you back again before too long.

Warm Regards

Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.