We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #40 of 452 hotels in New York City
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was superb, Service great, location perfect, Hotel is definitely worth going to if willing to spend the money and you want to enjoy luxury with old fashioned quality. even the elevators are fully serviced by staff

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    106
    44
    25
    17
See reviews for
130
219
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staying at the Pierre has to be done at least one in a life time. Our stay with our two young boys has been perfect. From a great deal offered in August to the very high level of service every member of the hotel team deliver our stay has been even better than our expectation.
Perfectly positionned in NYC you can enjoy all the best of the city while staying in a very central and safe neighborhood.

We didn't have a room with a Park view but it was well equiped, spacious and well furnished with limited noise which isn't always easy in NYC.

Only thing I would say is missing is a hotel "life" which is due to the fact their is no living lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for our 25 th.wedding anniversary. We could not fault it. Staff helpful pleasant at all times. We had breakfast included which was also an added bonus. Room amazing bed very comfortable bathroom fantastic. View of park ish but on floor 20 as requested a high room. A very special touch a bottle of champagne and chocolate cake both delicious complimentary from the hotel. Excellent position although getting across park via metro not possible but only a 10 min walk. Would recommend for special occasions or any holiday its so good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel as a treat to celebrate a special birthday & what a treat it was! From the moment we walked in, the staff couldn't do enough for us & made us feel very special. A complimentary birthday cake in our room as we arrived was a lovely welcome. The concierge team were so helpful with allsorts of things & the doormen very kindly offered us the use of the courtesy car (a shiny black Jaguar) and driver which we made use of a couple of times to arrive in style!
The room was spotlessly clean with housekeeping twice a day & slippers left out for us in the evening.
Our wonderful trip to New York has left us with lots of happy memories, many of which were of this beautiful hotel. Customer care from every single member of staff could not possibly be any better & I'm sure that from now on when we visit other hotels they won't live up to The Pierre!

Room Tip: If you particularly want a view of Central Park, you would be better requesting when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Sunshine394,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. It is always a delight to read the experiences of the recent guests to stayed at our hotel.

We thank you for allowing us to help you celebrate your birthday with us. It is an honor to be able to help you create special memories that will last a lifetime.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again in the near future. It would be a delight to have you stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed at The Pierre with my husband and son. The staff is really old school, pampering you all the time. The service is almost perfect. The common areas are very well kept, however the hotel is a bit dark, almost all the illumination is artificial. The room is small but very comfortable with a king bed. Choose a Central Park view.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We are 2 with our boy, the suite junior was great. The room was perfect for us. The view was on the city, nice view but not the same like park view.
We took the basket picnic to eat on Central Park it was excellent and they did a vegetarian basket.

The Italian restaurant inside the hotel is very good the night but for the lunch is better to choose another because it's very long.

Employees are very nice and professionnel.
Only one problem that is the reason I don't give a 5

They charge us to pay 70 dollars parking for one hour, during our last meal in their restaurant after check out. I found that very not professionnel after 4 nights and when we come back at the end of the week after a trip in virginia we change from another hotel at 20 meter from the Pierre ;)
I'm very surprise that some hotel at this level make mistake like that.

But it's a very good hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear heureux-epicurien,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed a city view, as well as a afternoon in Central Park. Our in-room dining team does an exceptional job with their picnic baskets. In addition, we thank you for highlighting the service that you received while staying with us.

In regards to the parking charge, we apologize that you found it to be unprofessional. However, the price to park a car in New York is not an expense that is easy on the wallet. The price is influenced by the prices of the parking lots in the area. We hope you understand.

We hope that you come back to stay with us in the near future. It would be a delight to host you again.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Pierre hotel was simply exceptional. From the architecture to the food served, everything was impeccable and tasteful. Though the location (right in front Central Park!) and the whole package were absolutely perfect, I have to say that it is the team and the more than great service that make this hotel an unforgettable experience. I am myself working in a five star hotel in Montreal, and knowing the standards and how to meticulous with the service, I was blown away by their great sense of composure, even in checkout times (known as hell for any workers in the industry!) and how they really worked the extra mile to please us. Maurice Dancer, the concierge was amazingly nice to us and made us feel like home, as well as Mr. Kumar from the reception, whom treated us like VIPs throughout the weekend. The doormen were extraordinary too, and drove us in the special utility car, through the city. Everyone was great! Again, all I have to say is that if you're looking for a real "five star" hotel, The Pierre hotel is the number one choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#23 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.