We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #43 of 452 hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Upscale Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

In the hustle and bustle of Manhattan it is pleasant to have a tranquil oasis to come home to, especially if your trip to the big Apple is also business related. The Pierre, part of the Taj group of international prime hotels, is run by the most attentive staff from the teams at the reception, the concierge desks, the housekeeping of your room and the doormen. All were extremely obliging taking great care to treating you as a valued guest. There is free WiFi and perhaps folk should simply ask when they register. Had no difficulty conducting work that needed to be done with my laptop. Location of hotel is convenient to all of Manhattan and to subway lines. Next to Central Park, Fifth and Park Avenues provides ample opportunities for taking leisurely strolls or shopping. Many of the Manhattan streets turn into pedestrian malls on Sundays. Places like Bryan Park also provides plenty of history and activities to be a part of. The Pierre provides a rich backdrop to the electric vibe of the city. Elegance and old class charm conveys what the Pierre is all about. Enjoy this oasis on the Upper East Side.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms at The Pierre. I stayed on the 14th floor, others I know stayed on the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    103
    43
    25
    17
See reviews for
127
216
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Pierre was exceptional and delightful!
We were treated well in every way. From initial greeting to help booking dinner and theatre tickets. House keeping, elevator lift attendants, doormen all greeted us and the concierge team is by far the best I've ever encountered!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear MarviMelissa,

We are thrilled that you had an exceptional stay with us. It is a delight to read the pleasant experiences that recent guests have had with us. We thank you for complimenting our exceptional staff, for it is through reviews like these that continue to inspire all of to provide the exceptional service that we are known for.

We look forward to hosting you on your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful location -- great shopping and bistros nearby -- and an easy walk to midtown as well. The room was well-appointed and insulated which coupled with a more residential neighborhood made for a quiet, restful evening. I thought the small lobby was a plus, ensuring a more private atmosphere and better security/oversight.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Leslie M,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read the kind reviews of our recent guests. From the luxurious shopping to our wonderful location, we are delighted that you were able to enjoy the quiet residential neighborhood that we are located in. We pride ourselves on discrete luxury experiences just steps away from the famed New York attractions in midtown, and steps away from Central Park.

We look forward to hosting you on your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent the night here after returning from Europe on the Queen Mary and also being at two 5 star hotels in Germany. My time away made me appreciate it even more ! Facilities elegant and serene and staff excels at frequent guest recogintion. Hallway are being brightened up by new painting project which adds to the overall ambiance.

Always look forward to returning.....

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear vm120e9,

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us after all of your exceptional experiences abroad. It is a delight to read that you enjoyed our decor, and had a restful stay with us.

We look forward to hosting you again on your future stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A really superb hotel in new york and exactly opposite central park and on 5th ave
The rooms are great and good size and also the most comfortable bed and the hotel has an amazing staff and concierge team.
Would definately recommend it to all.
A bit expensive but worth it.The lobby is nothing fancy and small though but overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Prakash K,

We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful experience with us. It is an honor to read the kind words and praises by our recent guests.

We thank you for recognizing the amazing team that we have at The Pierre. We truly believe that we have the best of the best, and we are incredibly lucky to have them.

We hope that you travel to New York again soon with your family. We would love to host you again.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Pierre for Christmas and New Years. Excellent Staff and service. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Overall had a perfect stay and a great vacation! The location of the hotel is unrivaled!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They made me sit in the lobby while my wife returned the car - would not let me check in because she got a special rate therefore only she can check us in - with her id - even though I am paying. Feeling quite unwelcome; won't be back...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jeaithaca

Thank you for your post. The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York enforces a strict security policy that only those persons named on each booking are provided with guest keys unless accompanied by the person named on the reservation. I’m sure you can appreciate that the safety of our guests is our optimum concern at all times, and that any exceptions to this rule would jeopardize this. We apologize and thank you for your understanding.

Kind regards,
Heiko Kuenstle, General Manager, The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#52 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LHW, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amex, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.