We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL & SERVICE ANYWHERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #36 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL & SERVICE ANYWHERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is the best hotel at which we have ever stayed! Excellent service...royalty treatment in fact. Never had a hotel employee walk me to my room at check in. Beautiful, well furnished, large room. Comfortable bed and furniture. Wonderful amenities. Excellent snacks & drinks provided at the gym. Fruit at check-in. Helpful concierge. Elevator attendant. The list goes on and on. Don't miss this one! My new go-to hotel in NYC! Historic hotels are my style though...by the way!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear RBuky,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. It is a pleasure to read all of the wonderful comments from our guests who have stayed with us. We are delighted to read that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

It is an honor that you consider us to be your new go-to hotel in NYC. We love welcoming guests back to our hotel, and we strive to make sure that their next stay is better than their last.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    109
    44
    25
    18
See reviews for
134
227
37
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I have stayed at the Pierre before and this time it was my daughter's first trip to New York. We wanted to see many things in our short time and we were assisted by a great Concierge staff. First, Erin who helped arrange a train trip for me, then Claudia who made sure I received car service from/to the hotel and Jason who patiently directed me on how to use the subway system. Their assistance made our trip smooth and efficient. We were able to do everything we wanted during our stay. In addition to the friendly and caring staff, the accommodations of the hotel made me feel relaxed and at home. It was a great experience for my daughter and I.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Im 9 years old. It was my first time in NY. I've stayed in other hotels and my family and I want to mention what a fabulous stay we experienced at The Pierre. It was very clean and the service all around was fabulous. We will definitly be back in NY and staying once again at The Pierre. The staff was very helpful and explained everything there was to see and do in NY. Til next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed there for business event. We are welcomed with NY shaped chocolates. It was a very nice surprise. Chocolates were delicious. I loved the Sirio Tea Room and Molton Brown soaps at the room. Everything at the hotel made me feel very special. Thank you Pierre Hotel NY!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Bunte M,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us on your last business trip! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy our special amenities such as our chocolates and Molton Brown products.

We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to New York. Hopefully, it will be for pleasure, and not just for business!

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Pierre offers a comfortable stay in elegant surroundings and highly attentive, courteous staff. The room was well appointed, the bed superb, breakfast excellent. There are many small touches designed to appeal to the well-heeled, discerning customer, yet we found ourselves wondering about value for money. First impressions count of course: you walk in from 5th Avenue and there's no real front lobby (later you find it's hidden round the corner) Instead you enter a long, low-ceilinged wide corridor with the front desk way down on one side. Likewise the dining room, nothing special decor-wise. Not a problem but the grandeur the literature promises is missing. Other nit picky points: room air-conditioning quiet but far from silent; intermittent annoying mooing sound that seemed to come from outside the room but inside the building; no coffee maker provided: too proletarian? They charge for Wi-fi, in this day and age would you believe? The door knob in bathroom wants to pinch your fingers against the frame. None of this is a killer but the Pierre simply doesn't put enough distance between itself and the chains. It's a Holiday or Hampton for us next time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 15th floor (where the noise was)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a live cockroach in our room. Housekeeping failed to show up when we called, so we resorted to depositing the offending critter (despatched by the heel of my husband's shoe) on the reception desk. The staff was visibly shocked, but we had to wait a further two days before the GM contacted us for an explanation/apology. We were then offered a free night for a future visit but we won't be returning. The lobby and common areas are also extremely tired. Our first impressions were poor and it only went downhill. Wonderful location, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Gillian P

I was very upset to hear about your experience. We have an extensive preventative program in place to ensure this doesn’t happen as do most of the hotels in New York City. Regardless, we were extremely sorry to hear that this occurred despite our proactive maintenance. Please understand that this is an isolated case, regardless we sincerely apologize that this unfortunate incident took place. Thank you for your time and your feedback and we hope you had a safe return flight back to the UK.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I recently visited the Pierre hotel to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment we contacted this hotel they took care of everything we needed, everything we wanted, and everything that we didn't even know we wanted. Not only do they go above and beyond, but they exceed all levels of expectation. I cannot say enough about this incredible hotel. The location is perfect, and very close to the part of Central Park that has the zoo. Its central to the most amazing shopping and restaurants too. Our two year old son was also with us on this trip, and even he was considered by the hotel, ensuring that his stay was great too.
From guest services to the front desk, house keeping, room service and elevator operators, everyone was so nice, and seemed genuinely happy to help us with everything we needed.
We ordered food from room service for dinner, which was great, and we also had breakfast at the Sirio restaurant. All the food was wonderful.
Our room was simply amazing, with a large comfortable bed, a bathroom with a shower that I'm guessing would be big enough for 8 people, a soaking tub, views of Central Park, tasteful, elegant decor, it was perfection. Often when I stay at a hotel, I am constantly annoyed by all the noise in the hallways, and dings of the elevators and being woken up by these sounds. I will say that this was one of the first times that I stayed at a hotel that had NO noise in the hallway, I couldn't hear a single thing, I slept very well.
We also want to give a very special thank you to the wonderful work of Sanela, Aneesha and Anupam, who helped us plan this trip, and it was because of them they every detail was taken care of. We wanted to do a picnic so they had the chef arrange a vegetarian picnic basket. There wasn't a single thing that we asked for that they didn't have an answer for, or were unable to do for us. They're answers to us were always, Yes. We hope to spend all of our anniversaries at the Pierre from now on. We were treated like royalty, and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear sparkling_xena,

First and foremost, Happy Anniversary! We thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate such a momentous occasion, and we thank you even more for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations, and hope that even your son had a stay he will never forget. From our location, to our rooms, and even our exceptional staff, we thank you for highlighting all of the different aspects of your experience.

We will be sure to extend your special thanks to our team members. Our hotel truly has the best talent. They are all committed to the practice of perfect hospitality.

We hope that you come back to our hotel soon. It would be an honor to host you again on your next visit to New York.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.