We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Money?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #37 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Oakville, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the Money?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Pierre offers a comfortable stay in elegant surroundings and highly attentive, courteous staff. The room was well appointed, the bed superb, breakfast excellent. There are many small touches designed to appeal to the well-heeled, discerning customer, yet we found ourselves wondering about value for money. First impressions count of course: you walk in from 5th Avenue and there's no real front lobby (later you find it's hidden round the corner) Instead you enter a long, low-ceilinged wide corridor with the front desk way down on one side. Likewise the dining room, nothing special decor-wise. Not a problem but the grandeur the literature promises is missing. Other nit picky points: room air-conditioning quiet but far from silent; intermittent annoying mooing sound that seemed to come from outside the room but inside the building; no coffee maker provided: too proletarian? They charge for Wi-fi, in this day and age would you believe? The door knob in bathroom wants to pinch your fingers against the frame. None of this is a killer but the Pierre simply doesn't put enough distance between itself and the chains. It's a Holiday or Hampton for us next time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 15th floor (where the noise was)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    110
    44
    25
    18
See reviews for
139
229
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a live cockroach in our room. Housekeeping failed to show up when we called, so we resorted to depositing the offending critter (despatched by the heel of my husband's shoe) on the reception desk. The staff was visibly shocked, but we had to wait a further two days before the GM contacted us for an explanation/apology. We were then offered a free night for a future visit but we won't be returning. The lobby and common areas are also extremely tired. Our first impressions were poor and it only went downhill. Wonderful location, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Gillian P

I was very upset to hear about your experience. We have an extensive preventative program in place to ensure this doesn’t happen as do most of the hotels in New York City. Regardless, we were extremely sorry to hear that this occurred despite our proactive maintenance. Please understand that this is an isolated case, regardless we sincerely apologize that this unfortunate incident took place. Thank you for your time and your feedback and we hope you had a safe return flight back to the UK.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I recently visited the Pierre hotel to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment we contacted this hotel they took care of everything we needed, everything we wanted, and everything that we didn't even know we wanted. Not only do they go above and beyond, but they exceed all levels of expectation. I cannot say enough about this incredible hotel. The location is perfect, and very close to the part of Central Park that has the zoo. Its central to the most amazing shopping and restaurants too. Our two year old son was also with us on this trip, and even he was considered by the hotel, ensuring that his stay was great too.
From guest services to the front desk, house keeping, room service and elevator operators, everyone was so nice, and seemed genuinely happy to help us with everything we needed.
We ordered food from room service for dinner, which was great, and we also had breakfast at the Sirio restaurant. All the food was wonderful.
Our room was simply amazing, with a large comfortable bed, a bathroom with a shower that I'm guessing would be big enough for 8 people, a soaking tub, views of Central Park, tasteful, elegant decor, it was perfection. Often when I stay at a hotel, I am constantly annoyed by all the noise in the hallways, and dings of the elevators and being woken up by these sounds. I will say that this was one of the first times that I stayed at a hotel that had NO noise in the hallway, I couldn't hear a single thing, I slept very well.
We also want to give a very special thank you to the wonderful work of Sanela, Aneesha and Anupam, who helped us plan this trip, and it was because of them they every detail was taken care of. We wanted to do a picnic so they had the chef arrange a vegetarian picnic basket. There wasn't a single thing that we asked for that they didn't have an answer for, or were unable to do for us. They're answers to us were always, Yes. We hope to spend all of our anniversaries at the Pierre from now on. We were treated like royalty, and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear sparkling_xena,

First and foremost, Happy Anniversary! We thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate such a momentous occasion, and we thank you even more for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations, and hope that even your son had a stay he will never forget. From our location, to our rooms, and even our exceptional staff, we thank you for highlighting all of the different aspects of your experience.

We will be sure to extend your special thanks to our team members. Our hotel truly has the best talent. They are all committed to the practice of perfect hospitality.

We hope that you come back to our hotel soon. It would be an honor to host you again on your next visit to New York.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Perfect location on the corner of Central Park and 5th Avenue.
Faultless in everyway. It will exceed your expectations.
Our stand out person was the wonderful Abraham on the concierge desk
He was charming informed and full of fun.
Our only gripe was no wifi !
Hope to visit again when the weather a little cooler!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear sunworshipperPoole,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel! We are delighted to read that you found your stay to be a true pleasure. We will be sure to give your regards to Abraham.

We do apologize that there is no free wifi. We are working on how we can better serve our guests, and we cannot wait to share the improvements that we make with our guests soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. It would be a delight to host you again.

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had visited New York City for an August weekend to celebrate my in-law's 40th wedding anniversary. We stayed at The Pierre for 2 nights. We had two rooms that were connected by an entrance foyer. My four children loved the welcome tray that the hotel concierge sent up, consisting of chocolates, fruit and other decadent treats. The location directly across from Central Park, access to Fifth Avenue stores and accommodating staff made The Pierre a lovely place to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Alice M,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that a year later, you still remember your stay at The Pierre fondly. It sounds as though you had a lovely room, and that your kids were able to have a pleasurable experience.

We look forward to hosting you on your next stay to New York. Also, we wish your in-laws a very Happy 41st Anniversary!

Warm Regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My daughter and I checked in on July 14th and we were upgraded. We were taken to our room, the door opened and it was unbelievable. A master bedroom, living room, bathroom and kitchen. It was an opulent setting, the furniture, bedding, draperies, bathroom, etc. The staff made my daughters first trip to New York more special by offering many suggestions of where to eat, shop, visit and offered a courtesy car with a wonderful driver Tarak (correct spelling unknown). Thank you to the Concierge, Erin and William, the elevator ladies, the door man Domonick and Rosemarie the desk agent that assigned our room. We came home today and plan to return in the fall and The Pierre will be our only hotel choice! Location, location is perfect too.
Janet Spena-Walsh 730

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Me & my wife have just returned from a 2-week stay at the Pierre. What an experience! We were alerted to the hotel via Expedia and we were looking for somewhere special as we were going to NY to get married in Central Park. The Pierre provided the perfect location as it is sited literally on the other side of 5th Avenue to the park.

You get a sense of awe when you first enter the hotel. It's grandeur personified. The hotel has the personal touch of a doorman revolving the door for you as you enter either at the main entrance on E 61st St or on 5th Ave. You don't travel alone in the elevators either - there is always an operator to take you to & from your floor.

The staff were extremely helpful. On the day before our wedding, my fiancée requested if someone could help her into her wedding dress on the following day. She was asked at what time she'd like help, and an hour before that time, we received a call in the room asking if help was still needed. At precisely the right moment, a member of staff arrived and helped her to fasten her dress (while I was waiting in the lobby). She then proceeded to bring my fiancée down to meet me and took photos of us (we had no family of friends with us to be able to take photos), then arranged for the hotel's courtesy car to drive us around to the far side of Central Park to as close to our chosen venue as possible.

After we returned to the hotel and were resting in our room, the door bell rang. Upon opening it, a waiter wheeled a bottle of champagne on ice into our room, together with a plate of the biggest strawberries we'd ever seen, covered in chocolate! There was also a note from the "member of staff" who turned out to be the Director of Guest Services, who had sent the champagne with the compliments of the hotel & staff! A wonderful gesture, but that wasn't the end of it...

We went out that evening to see a concert at Madison Square Gardens and upon returning to the hotel around midnight, we were greeted with a bunch of FIFTY pink long-stemmed roses with a card saying they were from "The Pierre Team"! I can't imagine that any other hotel would have taken the trouble to have done that.

As we were travelling home the following day we couldn't take the flowers with us so we asked the hotel if they could place them on show as it would have been a waste to throw them away while they were still in full bloom. As for my wife's wedding bouquet, she asked for it to be given to the Director of Guest Services for all that she'd done for her. Just as we were about to leave the hotel to go to the airport we bumped into the Director who was overjoyed to see us and asked us how the day & evening had gone. Even though we were leaving the hotel we were still made to feel special.

All in all, an experience that will never be forgotten and one which made our stay in NYC and in particular our wedding, more memorable than we could ever have imagined.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Amex, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.