We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to have a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #40 of 453 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Place to have a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I cannot say more amazing things about this hotel. The staff are all fabulous and the property is beyond gorgeous. I had my wedding here in July 2011 and it was absolutely seamless. I got to stay in the presidential suite which was beyond amazing. They have Molton Brown products in all guest rooms. The bar is great as well. Great happy hour with live music. Thank you for giving me the wedding of my dreams.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear rnbarone,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable experience with us at The Pierre on such an important day in your life. It was our honor to celebrate this event with you.

It is guest satisfaction and feedback such as yours that inspires us to continuously provide impeccable service each day. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our Molton Brown products and our Presidential Suite.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future to The Pierre. Hopefully we will see you for your 3rd wedding anniversary in July 2014?

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    109
    44
    25
    18
See reviews for
135
227
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at the Pierre. We received an unbelievable rate through Magellan vacations so we couldn't resist trying the Pierre out for our stay. The location is fantastic! We were directly across the street from Central Park! The Plaza was across the street as well. I would compare this hotel to the Plaza. It's an older historical hotel with white glove service. The Staff were professional and attentive. We didn't dine in the hotel, so I cannot comment on that. We did however use the concierge one night for a restaurant recommendation, which when we arrived, we left as it wasn't what we expected, we were a bit disappointed with the concierge's choice. Additionally, we we're advised by the front desk as I asked them at what time to leave for the airport on our last day and had we listened, we would of missed our flight. It was a day before a long weekend so I wasn't sure what traffic was going to be like. It was so busy on the roads!!

The hotel was really nice, and I would stay there again. I should mention though that someone in housekeeping tried my Prada sandals on! I noticed the straps were undone when I went to put them on one night and I never undo the straps to out them on!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Pierre is classic Taj with heritage charm, personalised service and comfortable bed. Room is a bit small and room views are compromised/average with small windows.
Location is the best just at the 5th Avenue, central and convenient.
Price is steep though.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

First visit to the Pierre, and it was terrific. All the staff were really helpful, friendly and courteous. Yadira on the front desk was amazing, and taking the lift was a delight. Cannot fault anything the room was beautiful and spotless, but my abiding memory will be the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Bounceycastle,

We are thrilled that you found your stay with us at The Pierre to be enjoyable. All of your kind words encourage all of us at The Pierre to continue to provide the best service possible to our guests. We will be sure to inform Yadira of your compliment for she will be thrilled to read this review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a charming old hotel. Full of history. Immaculately maintained. Wonder why Tata's are shy of calling it TAJ PIERRE?

We stayed there for a full week and were extremely happy. Nothing to complain about. Beautiful room, super housekeeping. My wife and I are diehard Taj Hotel fiends for decades nay 2 generations. There is a certain warmth which all the Taj employees exude which somehow was missing at the Hotel.

The restaurant breakfast experience was a disappointment. Imagine the same person asking you your name 7 days in a row! Was unable to get a crisp toast! Or a good masala omelette :-)

However if you ever stay there a MUST MEET is their Concierge, Abraham. What a delightful and knowledgeable person. Helpful to the core, an empathetic patient listener and gave great tips.

The ultimate reason for staying at this magnificent hotel is Location Location and Location. Overlooking Central Park and walking distance from anywhere you might want to visit in NYC. The cherry on the pudding is a complimentary drop in a fancy Jaguar if you're lucky to get it!



  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you wake up a little bit late in a saturday morning, after a week spent in NY attending to business meetings, looking out of you hotel room window the greeny landscape of Central Park at mid autumn, well, you feel happy to have decided for The Pierre. Perfect service, atmosphere and assistance. Taking it very easy, you will spend the saturday's morning for shopping in central Manhattan, and back at hte hotel you will feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The interior of The Pierre is upscale - fine fabrics, intricate mouldings, and marble. The bath, in our suite, looked newly remodeled, 4 piece, higher end fittings, marbled, european amenities.
We were on the 8th floor, back side (not on 5th), room was quiet. Entering room, from hustle of NY streets, I felt I had entered a sanctuary of calming elegance.
The staff is wonderful - professional, polite, and helpful. The Pierre is an excellent property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear palmtravel,

We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience at The Pierre. We are always excited to hear that our guests are pleased with the final product of our $100 million renovation. After a day of excitement in NYC, we are glad that you found The Pierre as an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and hosting you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.