We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience of a "luxury" hotel - devastation beyond imagination” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #35 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Beijing, China
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The worst experience of a "luxury" hotel - devastation beyond imagination”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Who would imagine one could get their jewelery stolen in a five star hotel and got no comfort or even attention from the hotel manager! Looking through the surface of the central park location; fancy decoration, it is not even a third class service. Most disappointed and shocked by the hotel manager, who made absolutely no effort that the hotel will get down to the bottom of this. So, lock up your valuables, the theft could be in your room right now. And don't ever count on the Pierre Hotel to take care of their guest, they certainly don't know how. My most traumatizing hotel experience did not take place in a third world country motel, but in one of the most "luxurious" hotels in my favorite city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Lucy,

The news of your loss was equally shocking to us at The Pierre and we regret any misperception that Mr. Hommerich was unsympathetic. Please be reassured that nothing could be further from our collective intention.

We followed the process of an investigation and full evaluation that was based on your schedule of availability. Mr. Hommerich was in touch as soon as possible after that.

We are following up with you and share your hope that the missing items will be found.

Generally, all hotels recommend the safekeeping of valuables. We provide a safe in each guest room for that purpose and abide by State laws on liability.

Please do let me know if I can be helpful in the future.

With kind regards,

Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    113
    45
    25
    18
See reviews for
143
236
37
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I visit New York often for business and have been staying at the Pierre roughly 3-5 times a year. It's always been a delightful experience, with its tastefully decorated rooms, great location, and friendly and competent staff. That is, until the most recent stay in the 3rd week of June 2013. My colleague left her room in a hurry and left her handbag unzipped, where she placed her jewelry pouch. Whe she came back, two pieces (worth $10,000+) were missing. Christian Hommerich, the hotel manager who handled the case, was anything but helpful. He didn't bother to contact my colleague, who was beyond devastated. When he finally met with my colleague at her request, he was defensive, dismissive and rude. It appeared that his top priority was to protect the hotel from any potential liability, and helping the victim was the last of his concerns. I understand that theft cases like this can be tricky, but I would've expected a five-star hotel like the Pierre to handle it in a more thoughtful way. I guess on the surface it's hard to differentiate among the top hotels (Four Seasons, Peninsula, Mandarin Oriental, etc); but when it comes to situations like this, I see which one I should just cross off my list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Jane,

We appreciate great concern for a good friend. The news was equally shocking to us at The Pierre. While we are continuing to investigate the loss, we truly regret any misperception that Mr. Hommerich was unsympathetic. We were all very upset, as we have a long service staff who care for our residents and guests and have a very professional and attentive security staff. Caring for your colleague was our collective priority.

However, security must follow a process of investigation and full evaluation that was based on her schedule of availability. Mr. Hommerich then was in touch with her as soon as possible after reviewing the reports while our security head continued to stay in touch. We share the hope that the missing items will be found. And yes, all hotels recommend the safekeeping of valuables. We provide a safe in each guest room for that purpose and abide by State laws on liability.

Please let me know if I can be helpful in the future. I am at your disposal.

With kind regards,

Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my first stay at The Pierre and the first stay at a Taj. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was warm and welcoming, from the front desk to a server at the lounge to the gentleman who brought me an ironing board. All my needs were met and my room was comfortable and well appointed. The shower was similar to a high-end spa and the bed was extremely comfortable. This hotel was more luxurious than The Palace, which is my most frequented hotel in Manhattan. I would absolutely stay here again if the rate allowed me too.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at The Pierre for 4 nights after a long European vacation. Lovely hotel with all the Old World charm! We were upgraded from being a member of leading Hotels of the World. Was disappointed though...after waiting for the room to be prepared and we arrived at regular check in time. Was looking forward to a large bathroom as everyone described only to find out that it was very small and no tub which I love to soak in since I have a bad back.
Still the room was comfortable and bed was a pleasure to sleep in....just thought after waiting over an hour for our room the upgrade that we received in all our Hotels was not as equivalent.
Accolades to the Hotel Staff for a job well done!
However, I do look forward to a return trip that would include a large room and not next to a room full of children with early morning screaming and crying!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your staff with us and were pleased with your accommodations. I apologized you were disappointed with the size of your bathroom. If you call us directly, we can note this in your personal profile and be sure that during your next stay with us you stay in a room that has a full bathtub so you can rest your back. We appreciate your kind words about your staff, we will be sure to pass along your warm remarks! We look forward to hosting you again and leaving you with an even more enjoyable experience!

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff was warm and welcoming. The room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed. My wife loved the huge bathroom. We live in NYC and are looking forward to returning for another getaway.
The room service breakfast arrived on time; the food was warm/hot and delicious. The location is great--in midtown but slightly away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I just returned from a long weekend at the Pierre in New York. Such a welcoming oasis with a friendly and attentive staff.

The location is ideal for shopping, by happenstance I was there on a weekend when all the stores were having their semi-annual sales. Fortunately the concierge was able to arrange to ship my items home, the price was the same as it would've been at a shipping store and it was much more convenient.

I enjoyed dining and drinks at Sirio and 2e, happily the food is much more flavorful than average hotel fare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a great location , high rise rooms giving a wonderful view of central park , close by elegant shops , a lovely experience with a sense of an old romantic movie ... can be tad scruffy in places but few locations are better

Room Tip: always ensure park view and high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Bertie W,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed our 5th Avenue location, directly across from beautiful Central Park, and were able to experience some of the best views of the park in the city! We are close by to some of the best shopping in the city and it sounds as though you were able to take advantage of that. Hopefully you were able to feel as though you were acting out your own romantic movie! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#18 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#29 Family Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Amex, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.