We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #38 of 452 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a great, truly luxury expirience staying at Pierre. The location service rooms is perfect. Staff is very kind and make all possible to make u feel special.

Special thanks to concierge Jason who is the best in the world, and gives very true and valuable advices.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear MukanKZ,

We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! It is very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Jason and let him know how appreciative you were of his service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    413
    105
    44
    25
    17
See reviews for
129
218
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purchase, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently we treated my parents to a weekend in NY for my father's 80th birthday, and treated them to a stay at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel. Not only is the location perfect for a weekend visit (walking distance to everything!), and the room exquisite, but the staff is the piece de resistance. I reached out to the Guest Relations department for help in surprising my father with special treats for his birthday. They were extraordinarily gracious and helpful, and they went out of their way to make my parents feel welcome and special. Anupam, in the Guest Relations department, was the consummate hospitality professional...a real asset to the Taj brand. The Pierre is a real NY gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jill R,

First and foremost, a belated Happy Birthday from us all at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel to your father! Thank you for choosing to spend this celebration with us. We feel honored to have been the hotel of choice for such a special occasion.

We are so glad to hear the Guest Relations Department, specifically Anupam, was able to make your father's birthday extra special! We will be sure to let him know his services were appreciated. We are so delighted to hear you call The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York a "gem" and we look forward to making our hotel your "home away from home" while traveling in New York City!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My best friend and I returned for our second trip to the Pierre.....we were not disappointed! Where can you go in New York and be treated like "old friends" on your second visit? Beautifully and gracefully decorated, with impeccable service - yet natural and not pretentious like some other Hotels in NY where I have stayed, we enjoyed every single moment! The people at the Pierre also make the difference - many of them employees for over 25 years! They LOVE the Hotel, they just don't work there. You really get a sense of pride and welcoming at this Hotel...it is a home away from home for us, and no request we made was too much. This is the kind of old world hotel (with all of the modern amenities) that makes memories. Not glitzy, and not like "every place else", lots of character. We won't go any where else.

Room Tip: We sacrificed view for a larger room, and were perfectly happy....you can walk right out he front do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hear you and your best friend had such an enjoyable stay with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! We always aim to have our guests feel as though the hotel is their "home away from home" while traveling, and it sounds as though with you we have truly succeeded! We truly do look at our staff as more like family, as it is true that many have been with us for over 25 years. We will pass along your kinds words to them, as it is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in New York City!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My mom and I loved our stay at the Pierre. The Pierre delighted us with an equisite birthday dessert upon our arrival and a lovely room with terrific amenities. The service team really cared about delivering a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Brad C,

Wishing you mom a very happy and healthy birthday! We are so honored to hear you chose to celebrate this special occasion with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York. We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed the birthday cake and other room amenities. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our service team, as it is kind words like your own that continue to inspire them to provide such excellent service everyday. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel in the near future!

Warm regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good rooms although a touch small for my taste, well furnished but no trouser press.
Excellent and helpful service ...the hotel has a great history and is well located.
Breakfast restaurant however disappointing .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, Owner at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Willcott,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your rooms but were disappointed with the room size. Please know that we have several room categories to choose from, so perhaps for your next visit you can look into booking a larger room. We will be sure to note this in your personal profile to make sure this is addressed during your next stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our service and location and hope you had an excellent time exploring NYC. We invite you back to Sirio Ristortante to enjoy a different meal which will hopefully leave you with a more satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for choosing The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My dearest friend and I recently stayed again at the Pierre Hotel; they welcomed us back as old friends and were extremely personable and gracious. No request was too big and they made us feel safe and taken care of. I will never stay anywhere else while in NYC.

We once owned an apartment on Central Park East and there is no comparison....why would I own when I can stay at my home away from home - The Pierre.

Room Tip: The 16th floor is much quieter and cozy. We also felt extremely safe while there. Martha Dille...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Martha D,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad to hear you and your friend were able to have an enjoyable stay with us, and can consider The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York your home away from home, as that is always our goal! We aim to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and are delighted to hear your every need was taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" at The Pierre in the near future.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel in an ideal location for both shopping and business. The rooms are larger than most and mine was in good, modern condition. On the other hand, the bathroom was quite small with only a shower but no bath. Service is friendly and generally excellent with old-fashioned touches such as lift operators. A la carte breakfast was very good if somewhat expensive. As a fastidious English man, I am often disappointed by tea outside my own country but in the bar here I was served a proper pot with tea leaves. Be aware that taxis can be hard to come by at busy times.

Room Tip: The higher levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear PJW22,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so glad to hear you were pleased with your stay at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, and enjoyed our centralized location to both shopping and business. We pride ourselves on our service so always appreciate when receive positive feedback from our guests. High Tea at The Pierre is a classic service we have been offering since the hotel first opened! We are so glad you were able to enjoy and experience this at Two E Bar/Lounge. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#23 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LHW, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.