We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #75 of 446 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My recent stay at the Pierre (1 night, April 14, 2013) was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in a city view suite which was spacious, beautiful and extremely comfortable. We very much enjoyed taking the private car service to dinner and we had drinks in the bar before and after dinner. The drink menu was inventive and delicious. I also used the gym in the morning before checking out. The treadmills were very new and damp towels and water were available in the refrigerator. All in all it was a wonderful stay - the only problem was not staying longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear EmilyC,

It sounds as though you truly enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! We are so delighted to hear you were able to experience our house car, the 2012 Jaguar XJ, which is a very recent addition to the hotel. Two E Bar/Lounge is always changing up their drink menu, with inventive new cocktails created by our master mixologist. During your next visit to The Pierre you will have to be sure to extend your stay a few more days and experience our newly opened restaurant Sirio Ristorante New York and indulge in an in-room Jiva Spa treatment! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    91
    38
    24
    17
See reviews for
96
176
32
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Me & my daugther had a WONDERFUL stay at The Pierre. We started visiting New York a few times a year and now that we stayed here we will never stay anywhere else. Everyone is so nice & helpful....
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this HOTEL.
Can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear MarianB101,

What a wonderful tradition to start with your daughter! We are so delighted to hear that The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York has now become your hotel of choice for this special weekend occasion for you and your daughter. Our staff is always looking to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and accommodate them during their stay anyway they can. We look forward to The Pierre becoming your "home away from home" while traveling in New York City!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed this fabulous hotel while visiting New York during the US Open. Through American Express, we were able to enjoy first the hotel and then the extra amenities AE allows. Breakfast in the room was delicious and the Happy Hour was more than we imagined. We will stay here again and again!

Room Tip: The king size rom served our purpose beautifully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear SavvyShopper47,

Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad to hear you and your daughter were able to share a special weekend together at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York. We hope you had an awesome time at the US Open, how exciting! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed both breakfast and happy hour at Two E Bar/Lounge. Next time, you will have to join us for dinner at our new restaurant, Sirio Ristorante New York. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is a great location on the park which is very convenient. The room was very nice and well done. However, the hotel is not really in the league of a four seasons in terms of service and attention to detail. The guest areas are a lot more run down than the rooms. The gym is average at best, especially for a 5* hotel. I found the staff to be a little mediocre...lots of them standing around but when it came to asking the concierge for help to find somewhere to eat (hotel did not serve food mid-afternoon after we came in on our flight) they were not very helpful bordering on aggressive. The food was decent but is expensive - $60 for eggs, coffee and two glasses of juice. After having spent a week at the Four Seasons in Seattle, Scottsdale and Beverly Hills I found the Pierre to be disappointing. The hotel had mistakenly charged me for an extra night...fortunately I did not use the express check-out and caught this on the way out - so worth going to the trouble to check.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending a weekend in NYC with the Taj Hotel, The Pierre. From the warm greeting at the front desk, to the wonderful concierge staff, the elevator attendants (yes, really, they accompany the elevators!) to the lovely man who gave us street directions and hailed cabs, it was a stellar experience. Even the way the housekeeper organized our room as part of the turndown service was akiin to living life like royalty. 2 papers at our door every day - we lived the New York life, drinking coffee at a local restaurant and reading the Times and the Wall Street Journal.

No, we're not the Kardasians, just a couple who found a slightly discounted room online and leaped at the opportunity to go from a 4 star, to a 5 star, and it was a delight. We even remembered how to sleep past nine. 3 nights, 4 days felt like a real vacation. It was hard returning to real life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the absolute pleasure of spending a few special days at The Pierre. It was my wife's first trip to New York and it will unfortunately be hard for me to top the experience largely due to the hotel and its superb staff.

Our concierge Francisco did a splendid job of securing last minute spots for coveted tables and anything else that we fancied. Claudia and the rest of the elevator attendants were great as were the doormen and bar staff. Staying at the Pierre transports one to the glamour of ages past. Our room was spacious and the bathroom definitely above the NYC norm even for top hotels. The location was perfect and one could not be situated any better. We can hardly wait for our next trip back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

In the past few visits to NYC, we have stayed with a cousin, but since there were too many of us to be accommodated this time, the two of us stayed at the Pierre for the first time. From the minute we entered until we left, we were welcomed, looked after well and generally made to feel very comfortable. Every member of staff with whom we dealt was courteous and efficient, and seemed genuinely pleased to see us.
The location is unbeatable for those wishing to visit Carnegie Hall, the Met Museum, the Frick, and the amazing shops of Madison Avenue. The walk across the south end of Central Park is an easy one for those going to Lincoln Centre.
In addition to the terrific location the room was wonderful, with very comfortable and clean bedding, and a bathroom with enough shelves and lighting for shaving and makeup, and a small walk in closet with a good safe. Our bathroom had separate shower and bath, both with nice shower heads on hoses (and a fixed rain shower head on the main shower, too. Bedroom slippers and robes were provided, and the beds turned down each evening. The TV has many channels, including foreign stations from India, China, etc. The only one that this newshound missed was the BBC World Service. It should have been there!
The hotel has a European air, and I personally found the rooms charming and nicely decorated. The restaurant was expensive for breakfast, but not out of league with some of the major urban chains. As a tea lover, I really appreciated loose tea made as strong as I like it. Feeling pampered, we would like to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre Hotel New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.