We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS HOTEL IS FABULOUS!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #34 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THIS HOTEL IS FABULOUS!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Me & my daugther had a WONDERFUL stay at The Pierre. We started visiting New York a few times a year and now that we stayed here we will never stay anywhere else. Everyone is so nice & helpful....
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this HOTEL.
Can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear MarianB101,

What a wonderful tradition to start with your daughter! We are so delighted to hear that The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York has now become your hotel of choice for this special weekend occasion for you and your daughter. Our staff is always looking to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and accommodate them during their stay anyway they can. We look forward to The Pierre becoming your "home away from home" while traveling in New York City!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    118
    47
    25
    19
See reviews for
150
252
37
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed this fabulous hotel while visiting New York during the US Open. Through American Express, we were able to enjoy first the hotel and then the extra amenities AE allows. Breakfast in the room was delicious and the Happy Hour was more than we imagined. We will stay here again and again!

Room Tip: The king size rom served our purpose beautifully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear SavvyShopper47,

Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad to hear you and your daughter were able to share a special weekend together at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York. We hope you had an awesome time at the US Open, how exciting! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed both breakfast and happy hour at Two E Bar/Lounge. Next time, you will have to join us for dinner at our new restaurant, Sirio Ristorante New York. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is a great location on the park which is very convenient. The room was very nice and well done. However, the hotel is not really in the league of a four seasons in terms of service and attention to detail. The guest areas are a lot more run down than the rooms. The gym is average at best, especially for a 5* hotel. I found the staff to be a little mediocre...lots of them standing around but when it came to asking the concierge for help to find somewhere to eat (hotel did not serve food mid-afternoon after we came in on our flight) they were not very helpful bordering on aggressive. The food was decent but is expensive - $60 for eggs, coffee and two glasses of juice. After having spent a week at the Four Seasons in Seattle, Scottsdale and Beverly Hills I found the Pierre to be disappointing. The hotel had mistakenly charged me for an extra night...fortunately I did not use the express check-out and caught this on the way out - so worth going to the trouble to check.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending a weekend in NYC with the Taj Hotel, The Pierre. From the warm greeting at the front desk, to the wonderful concierge staff, the elevator attendants (yes, really, they accompany the elevators!) to the lovely man who gave us street directions and hailed cabs, it was a stellar experience. Even the way the housekeeper organized our room as part of the turndown service was akiin to living life like royalty. 2 papers at our door every day - we lived the New York life, drinking coffee at a local restaurant and reading the Times and the Wall Street Journal.

No, we're not the Kardasians, just a couple who found a slightly discounted room online and leaped at the opportunity to go from a 4 star, to a 5 star, and it was a delight. We even remembered how to sleep past nine. 3 nights, 4 days felt like a real vacation. It was hard returning to real life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the absolute pleasure of spending a few special days at The Pierre. It was my wife's first trip to New York and it will unfortunately be hard for me to top the experience largely due to the hotel and its superb staff.

Our concierge Francisco did a splendid job of securing last minute spots for coveted tables and anything else that we fancied. Claudia and the rest of the elevator attendants were great as were the doormen and bar staff. Staying at the Pierre transports one to the glamour of ages past. Our room was spacious and the bathroom definitely above the NYC norm even for top hotels. The location was perfect and one could not be situated any better. We can hardly wait for our next trip back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

In the past few visits to NYC, we have stayed with a cousin, but since there were too many of us to be accommodated this time, the two of us stayed at the Pierre for the first time. From the minute we entered until we left, we were welcomed, looked after well and generally made to feel very comfortable. Every member of staff with whom we dealt was courteous and efficient, and seemed genuinely pleased to see us.
The location is unbeatable for those wishing to visit Carnegie Hall, the Met Museum, the Frick, and the amazing shops of Madison Avenue. The walk across the south end of Central Park is an easy one for those going to Lincoln Centre.
In addition to the terrific location the room was wonderful, with very comfortable and clean bedding, and a bathroom with enough shelves and lighting for shaving and makeup, and a small walk in closet with a good safe. Our bathroom had separate shower and bath, both with nice shower heads on hoses (and a fixed rain shower head on the main shower, too. Bedroom slippers and robes were provided, and the beds turned down each evening. The TV has many channels, including foreign stations from India, China, etc. The only one that this newshound missed was the BBC World Service. It should have been there!
The hotel has a European air, and I personally found the rooms charming and nicely decorated. The restaurant was expensive for breakfast, but not out of league with some of the major urban chains. As a tea lover, I really appreciated loose tea made as strong as I like it. Feeling pampered, we would like to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel impressed us from the second we arrived until the second we left. We arrived very early and they were incredibly accommodating, even apologizing for not having our room available at 8 am! They took our luggage, gave us recommendations for breakfast and promised to call us when our room was ready. They did so by 11am and we were taken to a stunning room, with beautiful views of Central park and the city. The concierge, Ivette, had wonderful suggestions of what to do, helped us with tickets, transportation and how to make the most of our short time in the city. As I was celebrating my birthday, everyone went out of their way to wish me a Happy Birthday, and when we arrived back to our room Friday night, a beautiful bouquet of flowers, a bottle of champagne and cheesecake were waiting for us! WOW!
The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Bed was VERY comfortable and bathroom was large and well laid out. Location was perfect - easy access to everything and the service was outstanding! My only criticism was no coffee maker in the room. Other than that, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: King size bed, city view on 17th floor was what we had and it was perfect. Not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear PB2013Vancouver,

Happy Belated Birthday! We are so delighted to hear you chose to spend this special day with us here at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York and that you had such an enjoyable experience. I will definitely be sure to relay the message to Ivette and share with her your kind words and appreciation. We hope you enjoyed your champagne and cheesecake birthday cake; we always are looking for ways to make our guests stay more memorable. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of our centralized location, steps away from world class shopping, top restaurants and museums. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future. Let us continue to make birthday memories together!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#24 Family Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.