We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to None” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #35 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second to None”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel impressed us from the second we arrived until the second we left. We arrived very early and they were incredibly accommodating, even apologizing for not having our room available at 8 am! They took our luggage, gave us recommendations for breakfast and promised to call us when our room was ready. They did so by 11am and we were taken to a stunning room, with beautiful views of Central park and the city. The concierge, Ivette, had wonderful suggestions of what to do, helped us with tickets, transportation and how to make the most of our short time in the city. As I was celebrating my birthday, everyone went out of their way to wish me a Happy Birthday, and when we arrived back to our room Friday night, a beautiful bouquet of flowers, a bottle of champagne and cheesecake were waiting for us! WOW!
The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Bed was VERY comfortable and bathroom was large and well laid out. Location was perfect - easy access to everything and the service was outstanding! My only criticism was no coffee maker in the room. Other than that, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: King size bed, city view on 17th floor was what we had and it was perfect. Not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear PB2013Vancouver,

Happy Belated Birthday! We are so delighted to hear you chose to spend this special day with us here at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York and that you had such an enjoyable experience. I will definitely be sure to relay the message to Ivette and share with her your kind words and appreciation. We hope you enjoyed your champagne and cheesecake birthday cake; we always are looking for ways to make our guests stay more memorable. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of our centralized location, steps away from world class shopping, top restaurants and museums. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future. Let us continue to make birthday memories together!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    118
    47
    25
    19
See reviews for
150
253
37
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at the Pierre for a weekend break - and I really loved it. I can partially understand that some reviewers are a bit critical towards the hotel. BUT if you are - like myself- from Europe the hotel is completely breath of fresh air. I had a pre-organised transportation from the JFK to the hotel where I was met at the street (!) by a very nice receptionist who took me immediately to my room for check-in formalities. This is service that I like! The room was not the biggest by American standards but nonetheless very clean and nice (and the bed was heavenly!). The concierge was excellent, they even managed to get me in the Le Bernardin (for a very late request) and made other great restaurant recommendations - and handled very well a situation where I was I bit frustrated not to find a recommended restaurant by foot and after returning to the hotel a taxi was immediatey orderded for me. I really liked the lift operators (like in Claridge's in London), service in the breakfast room, house keeping (exceptional!) and the room service. All in all, I can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A pleasant stay, this is a nice hotel in a good location, easy to get to and from.
Service was generally professional and efficient.
The room was good, the bathroom was spacious and well laid out.
The bed was very comfortable although I had not slept in a single bed for many years. I had contacted Taj Reservation to request a room with one bed but ended up in a room with twin single beds.
The layout of the hotel meant I rarely used main foyer as the 5th avenue entrance was more convenient. I only went to main lobby when I needed the concierge.
Breakfast was good and the service was friendly and efficient.
My only criticism is that this hotel lacked the personalised service I have experienced in Taj Hotel in India.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Petermelb,
It is wonderful to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, and enjoyed our breakfast service and centralized location. We do apologize you did not receive the room type you had requested. We have shared this information with our Front Desk to investigate why this is so.

Our team strives to provide the utmost in personal service, so we appreciate your feedback to help us achieve this goal. We hope you had a wonderful stay in New York City, and we would love the opportunity to impress you on your next visit with us.

Sincere regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Like the other reviews for this hotel, we found The Pierre, to be in a great location giving you quick walks to midtown, the park, and upper east side. It is the service that is lacking. Here are a few examples. 1. No door man or bell man to help with bags at main entrance on 61st. I went inside to ask and a lady that seemed to be in charge. She said yes there should be someone and watched me bring my own bags in. I was in shock as i watched at least 12 people behind 3 counters watch me try and pull 3 large suit cases. Example 2- After ordering a pot of coffe and 1 bannana (that cost $50 from room service) my wife needed cream. After waiting 25 minutes we called back and they said we must have gave wrong room number? (even though they have caller ID). There are more, but the theme continued to always be it must be something we did wrong, they were never worng! The St Regis and the Surrey are still our favorites in NYC and we will not be visiting the The Pierre again. Poor Management!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Noletraveler88,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel. We were delighted to hear you took advantage of our centralized location on Fifth Avenue across from Central Park.

Please also know we take your critical feedback very seriously and have followed up with our Director of Rooms and our Director of Room Service regarding your comments. It is by listening to our guests that we are able to attain our goal for service excellence, which allows us to maintain our Five Diamond status for exceptional service. Thank you for helping us achieve this.

We truly apologize for any inconvenience during your stay, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again and provide an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I cannot think about better location for a family trip to NY, but for the money I paid I expected much more from the hotel.
Personally I don't mind to push buttons in the elevator, but the hotel looks very outdated:
- room doors are probably half a century old, and they not sound proofed, so you can hear every noise in the hallway;
- air-condition is noisy. To be fair is noisy in most hotels, but hi-end ones usually don't have the problem;
- the bathroom is nicely renovated, but guy who designed it obviously never tried to use it. It's very strange and incontinent setup, with very little space for the toiletries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Mike A,
Thank you for choosing The Pierre, A Taj Hotel for your family vacation. I trust you enjoyed our front yard--Central Park--during your stay!

The Pierre is an iconic building in New York City due to its storied history and classic style. When Taj Hotels, Resorts and Palaces began managing the property several years ago, they invested over $100 million to restore every guest room and public space in the entire property. The hotel is also distinctive in that each guestroom enjoys a unique layout with different room configurations. If you would be interested in contacting us, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to update your profile with the preferences you have shared.

We apologize for any inconveniences during your stay and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to host you. We can assure you that your family’s next visit with us will exceed your expectations.
Best regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We checked into the Pierre for two nights and were given what we had asked for, a room with a view of Central Park, on a high floor. The room was lovely but what a disappointment! The bath-room had no bath and was absolutely tiny with no place to put anything as normal as
a make-up bag. There was no dressing table in the bedroom with a mirror either. The receptionist offered us a larger room on a low floor but it looked onto a fire escape and we wanted to be high up and not be awakened by rubbish trucks in the early morning. Also we did not come to New Your to a hotel overlooking Central Park to look at a fire escape! For an expensive hotel this seems incredible and was a great disappointment. Another problem was that the air conditioning only operates at full blast or not at all. This hotel has recently re-opened after a refurbishment so this seems very odd.

The staff were all friendly and efficient from the lift operators to the concierge crew and we enjoyed dining in the restaurant of the hotel but it is unlikely we will return.

Room Tip: High floor WITH a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Caroline Z,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our charming elevator attendants and our new Sirio Ristorante.

The Pierre is very distinctive in that each guestroom enjoys a unique layout with different room configurations. There are many different options to cater to the needs of our guests’ preferences. We apologize due to high occupancy we were unable to accommodate your specific room type. If you would be interested in contacting us directly, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to update your profile with the preferences you have shared, so that your next visit will exceed your expectations in a guest room perfectly suited to your needs.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location is great, the bathroom was small, and the fan was loud and ran all night. Service in general was not polished, the 5th avenue doorman was surprisingly unaccommodating, we usually stay at the Ritz but wanted to try the Pierre, will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.