We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not Exceptional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #75 of 446 hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice but not Exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A pleasant stay, this is a nice hotel in a good location, easy to get to and from.
Service was generally professional and efficient.
The room was good, the bathroom was spacious and well laid out.
The bed was very comfortable although I had not slept in a single bed for many years. I had contacted Taj Reservation to request a room with one bed but ended up in a room with twin single beds.
The layout of the hotel meant I rarely used main foyer as the 5th avenue entrance was more convenient. I only went to main lobby when I needed the concierge.
Breakfast was good and the service was friendly and efficient.
My only criticism is that this hotel lacked the personalised service I have experienced in Taj Hotel in India.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Petermelb,
It is wonderful to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, and enjoyed our breakfast service and centralized location. We do apologize you did not receive the room type you had requested. We have shared this information with our Front Desk to investigate why this is so.

Our team strives to provide the utmost in personal service, so we appreciate your feedback to help us achieve this goal. We hope you had a wonderful stay in New York City, and we would love the opportunity to impress you on your next visit with us.

Sincere regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    91
    38
    24
    17
See reviews for
96
176
32
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Like the other reviews for this hotel, we found The Pierre, to be in a great location giving you quick walks to midtown, the park, and upper east side. It is the service that is lacking. Here are a few examples. 1. No door man or bell man to help with bags at main entrance on 61st. I went inside to ask and a lady that seemed to be in charge. She said yes there should be someone and watched me bring my own bags in. I was in shock as i watched at least 12 people behind 3 counters watch me try and pull 3 large suit cases. Example 2- After ordering a pot of coffe and 1 bannana (that cost $50 from room service) my wife needed cream. After waiting 25 minutes we called back and they said we must have gave wrong room number? (even though they have caller ID). There are more, but the theme continued to always be it must be something we did wrong, they were never worng! The St Regis and the Surrey are still our favorites in NYC and we will not be visiting the The Pierre again. Poor Management!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Noletraveler88,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel. We were delighted to hear you took advantage of our centralized location on Fifth Avenue across from Central Park.

Please also know we take your critical feedback very seriously and have followed up with our Director of Rooms and our Director of Room Service regarding your comments. It is by listening to our guests that we are able to attain our goal for service excellence, which allows us to maintain our Five Diamond status for exceptional service. Thank you for helping us achieve this.

We truly apologize for any inconvenience during your stay, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again and provide an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I cannot think about better location for a family trip to NY, but for the money I paid I expected much more from the hotel.
Personally I don't mind to push buttons in the elevator, but the hotel looks very outdated:
- room doors are probably half a century old, and they not sound proofed, so you can hear every noise in the hallway;
- air-condition is noisy. To be fair is noisy in most hotels, but hi-end ones usually don't have the problem;
- the bathroom is nicely renovated, but guy who designed it obviously never tried to use it. It's very strange and incontinent setup, with very little space for the toiletries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Mike A,
Thank you for choosing The Pierre, A Taj Hotel for your family vacation. I trust you enjoyed our front yard--Central Park--during your stay!

The Pierre is an iconic building in New York City due to its storied history and classic style. When Taj Hotels, Resorts and Palaces began managing the property several years ago, they invested over $100 million to restore every guest room and public space in the entire property. The hotel is also distinctive in that each guestroom enjoys a unique layout with different room configurations. If you would be interested in contacting us, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to update your profile with the preferences you have shared.

We apologize for any inconveniences during your stay and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to host you. We can assure you that your family’s next visit with us will exceed your expectations.
Best regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We checked into the Pierre for two nights and were given what we had asked for, a room with a view of Central Park, on a high floor. The room was lovely but what a disappointment! The bath-room had no bath and was absolutely tiny with no place to put anything as normal as
a make-up bag. There was no dressing table in the bedroom with a mirror either. The receptionist offered us a larger room on a low floor but it looked onto a fire escape and we wanted to be high up and not be awakened by rubbish trucks in the early morning. Also we did not come to New Your to a hotel overlooking Central Park to look at a fire escape! For an expensive hotel this seems incredible and was a great disappointment. Another problem was that the air conditioning only operates at full blast or not at all. This hotel has recently re-opened after a refurbishment so this seems very odd.

The staff were all friendly and efficient from the lift operators to the concierge crew and we enjoyed dining in the restaurant of the hotel but it is unlikely we will return.

Room Tip: High floor WITH a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Caroline Z,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our charming elevator attendants and our new Sirio Ristorante.

The Pierre is very distinctive in that each guestroom enjoys a unique layout with different room configurations. There are many different options to cater to the needs of our guests’ preferences. We apologize due to high occupancy we were unable to accommodate your specific room type. If you would be interested in contacting us directly, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to update your profile with the preferences you have shared, so that your next visit will exceed your expectations in a guest room perfectly suited to your needs.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Heiko Kuenstle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location is great, the bathroom was small, and the fan was loud and ran all night. Service in general was not polished, the 5th avenue doorman was surprisingly unaccommodating, we usually stay at the Ritz but wanted to try the Pierre, will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

So, my buddy called this "old school" which I found to be a compliment. That means they know how to do it. The Pierre is not for the faint at heart when it comes to budget but if that is not an issue you can not beat the fantastic location and excellent service. I booked through AMEX and the extra features were nice for sure. No upgrade which left us in a relatively small king, no view and a bit old in some ways yet the bedding and features were very clean and bathroom quite large for the room. Great feature of separate tub to shower with the large rain head shower being nice feature. Minor mixups in reservation names (a real mystery) and wrong paper delivery each morning kept the full 5 stars. But, do not let these minor details keep you from OLD SCHOOL. Sometimes that's best.

Room Tip: Try to get a park view for sure. We were on 10th floor (1022) which was nothing special. Again, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at the Pierre Hotel for 2 nights on a business trip to NY. I arrived around 6pm hoping to check in and head off to dinner at 7pm. I was checked into a rather large classic room - it was really very nice and I was quite surprised by the size for a midtown hotel room, but of course the heater made a loud banging noise that wasn't easily fixed by the engineers who made 2 trips to my room! So I was moved to a normal classic, which was still a good size for a NY hotel, but I was a bit disappointed and felt while the front desk was polite, they didn't handle it very smoothly. There seemed to be quite a few trainees on staff, which made the service, while friendly, a bit unpolished. I'd probably consider staying here again, but will probably explore some other options for my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Rajionthereddot,
Thank you so much for choosing The Pierre, A Taj Hotel for your stay in New York City. We appreciate that you took the time to share what you enjoyed, and what could have been better on your next visit with us. We do have new members of the team, and they are very excited to provide the Five Diamond service The Pierre, A Taj Hotel is known for. Our Front Desk team has been made aware of your experience. We do apologize for these inconveniences during your stay and sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations on an upcoming visit. We value your business and feedback.
Sincere regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre Hotel New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.