We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise on a quick business trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #75 of 446 hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise on a quick business trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was in the city for just a couple of days and had to stay uptown to be near a colleague's home and chose The Pierre. While its not the most hip hotel (it is on the Upper East Side), it was great. I was on the 8th Floor (room 837 to be exact)... great bed, quiet and small, but well-appointed bathroom (Moulton Brown products helped). The service here was amazing... from the elevator attendants to the front desk, everyone was helpful. The small gym was well-equipped and had bottled water, fresh juices, fruit and protein bars. Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    91
    38
    24
    17
See reviews for
95
174
32
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My daughter and her husband stayed at the Pierre last weekend. They were supposed to meet up with her grandparents, but due to last minute family illness, no one else in the family came to the family gathering. The hotel staff was wonderful. They let them check in early and helped them figure out how to best explore New York on their own. In the evening, my daughter and her husband had dinner at the Pierre's restaurant. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Ann24Virgina,

We are so sorry to hear about the last minute family illness and hope that everything turned out to be okay. That being said, we are glad to hear that your daughter and her husband were still able to enjoy themselves during their stay with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York despite the change in plans. Hopefully they were able to see and do everything they wanted to while in NYC! Sirio Ristorante New York was just opened at our hotel in October, so positive feedback is always much appreciated! Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you all back to our property, including the grandparents, in the near future!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff here are great, friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little bit faded though and we much prefer the Boston hotel to this one. The location is wonderful. The afternoon tea needs to ditch the tea bags though - no excuse for not having 'real' tea since the sandwiches are tiny and must take effort to make only to be let down by a tea bag. Eye-wateringly expensive .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

4 Girls for a long weekend up from DC for our themed "European Tour" and The Pierre fit right in! It was lovely and so old world, big mouldings, big decor, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff, elevator attendants were a nice bonus....

Room Tip: City view suites were fabulous just dont get one with a "handicap friendly" shower (of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Pierre for 7 nights in October and it was an exceptional experience. Our room was large, with a partial park view and it was very comfortable and elegantly appointed. The service is what really made the hotel stand out. From the friendly and helpful concierges, to the efficient and gracious elevator operators (yes, its a throwback to another time, but it also provides a personal and unobtrusive additional level of security, as they get to recognize their guests), to the immaculate rooms, all of our needs were met. My husband and I were also impressed because the service was not at all stuffy--just gracious.

I inadvertently left a gold and diamond bracelet in the room. My stomach sank when I realized it after I returned home. I thought that I would never see it again, but when I called the hotel, one of the people who serviced the room had turned it into security. I received it back, along with a brand new pair of shoes that I had also left behind!

Highly recommend the Pierre and will stay again next time I am in New York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights before setting off on the Queen Mary 2 for a Christmas cruise, and found the hotel to be excellent.
In fact compared to the QM2, the hotel is a Palace!
I had booked a standard suite, but was upgraded on arrival to a beautiful home from home.
The staff were faultless and every aspect of my stay was a pleasure, a true 5 star hotel.
Thanks to the management, a Claridges in New York.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Pierre for one night on Christmas. This was our second stay and we by chance ended up in the same suite that we had the first time, which was very lovely. The hotel once again was excellent in every regard: from the doorman, to the housekeeping staff, to the beautiful decorations. The room service menu had many options, service itself was prompt and food delicious. The staff met all our requests (higher floor, extra towels, roll-away bed) in a timely efficient manner. The elevator attendants are always so nice, especially to kids and it's an extra lovely touch only this hotel offers.
Overall this was once again a wonderful stay, which we hope to repeat in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Anya K,

We are honored to hear that you chose to spend your Christmas holiday with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! Thank you for your kind words about our doorman, housekeeping and staffing teams, as well as our elevator operators. This feedback means so much to everyone at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel and it will most certainly be shared with all of them. We are glad to hear we were able to meet all of your requests in a timely manner; we always aim to make sure our guests stat is as comfortable as possible. Hopefully we will be able to spend another Christmas together this year!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre Hotel New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Amex, Venere, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.