We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Special Offer
Ranked #33 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My daughter and her husband stayed at the Pierre last weekend. They were supposed to meet up with her grandparents, but due to last minute family illness, no one else in the family came to the family gathering. The hotel staff was wonderful. They let them check in early and helped them figure out how to best explore New York on their own. In the evening, my daughter and her husband had dinner at the Pierre's restaurant. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann24Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Ann24Virgina,

We are so sorry to hear about the last minute family illness and hope that everything turned out to be okay. That being said, we are glad to hear that your daughter and her husband were still able to enjoy themselves during their stay with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York despite the change in plans. Hopefully they were able to see and do everything they wanted to while in NYC! Sirio Ristorante New York was just opened at our hotel in October, so positive feedback is always much appreciated! Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you all back to our property, including the grandparents, in the near future!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are great, friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little bit faded though and we much prefer the Boston hotel to this one. The location is wonderful. The afternoon tea needs to ditch the tea bags though - no excuse for not having 'real' tea since the sandwiches are tiny and must take effort to make only to be let down by a tea bag. Eye-wateringly expensive .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank multitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

4 Girls for a long weekend up from DC for our themed "European Tour" and The Pierre fit right in! It was lovely and so old world, big mouldings, big decor, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff, elevator attendants were a nice bonus....

Room Tip: City view suites were fabulous just dont get one with a "handicap friendly" shower (of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Pierre for 7 nights in October and it was an exceptional experience. Our room was large, with a partial park view and it was very comfortable and elegantly appointed. The service is what really made the hotel stand out. From the friendly and helpful concierges, to the efficient and gracious elevator operators (yes, its a throwback to another time, but it also provides a personal and unobtrusive additional level of security, as they get to recognize their guests), to the immaculate rooms, all of our needs were met. My husband and I were also impressed because the service was not at all stuffy--just gracious.

I inadvertently left a gold and diamond bracelet in the room. My stomach sank when I realized it after I returned home. I thought that I would never see it again, but when I called the hotel, one of the people who serviced the room had turned it into security. I received it back, along with a brand new pair of shoes that I had also left behind!

Highly recommend the Pierre and will stay again next time I am in New York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineAtherton_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights before setting off on the Queen Mary 2 for a Christmas cruise, and found the hotel to be excellent.
In fact compared to the QM2, the hotel is a Palace!
I had booked a standard suite, but was upgraded on arrival to a beautiful home from home.
The staff were faultless and every aspect of my stay was a pleasure, a true 5 star hotel.
Thanks to the management, a Claridges in New York.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Pierre for one night on Christmas. This was our second stay and we by chance ended up in the same suite that we had the first time, which was very lovely. The hotel once again was excellent in every regard: from the doorman, to the housekeeping staff, to the beautiful decorations. The room service menu had many options, service itself was prompt and food delicious. The staff met all our requests (higher floor, extra towels, roll-away bed) in a timely efficient manner. The elevator attendants are always so nice, especially to kids and it's an extra lovely touch only this hotel offers.
Overall this was once again a wonderful stay, which we hope to repeat in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Anya K,

We are honored to hear that you chose to spend your Christmas holiday with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! Thank you for your kind words about our doorman, housekeeping and staffing teams, as well as our elevator operators. This feedback means so much to everyone at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel and it will most certainly be shared with all of them. We are glad to hear we were able to meet all of your requests in a timely manner; we always aim to make sure our guests stat is as comfortable as possible. Hopefully we will be able to spend another Christmas together this year!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our first time in NYC. Our 4 night stay was an "over the top" experience. Our room was a "city view" room and was plenty big for me and my husband. The bed was ultra plush. Like sleeping on a cloud. The shower was awesome, per my husband who is tall and sometimes has to lean over to get under the shower head. The service was impeccable! Very professional. Made us feel like royalty. White gloved elevator attendant and turn down service every night. Our room had an issue with the tv after the first night and they quickly moved us to a suite. Nice to have a refrigerator. The hotel also has a jaguar for hotel guest to use on a first come first serve basis. Even though we didn't utilize this service, we did see the sweet ride out front. The Pierre is the way to go.

Room Tip: Lower rooms on back of hotel - view of bldg behind hotel. Use Expedia for package deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhikers0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Centr...
#39 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 466 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#145 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#54 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#45 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing