We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #50 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“European Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

4 Girls for a long weekend up from DC for our themed "European Tour" and The Pierre fit right in! It was lovely and so old world, big mouldings, big decor, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff, elevator attendants were a nice bonus....

Room Tip: City view suites were fabulous just dont get one with a "handicap friendly" shower (of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    144
    54
    31
    25
See reviews for
190
314
44
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Pierre for 7 nights in October and it was an exceptional experience. Our room was large, with a partial park view and it was very comfortable and elegantly appointed. The service is what really made the hotel stand out. From the friendly and helpful concierges, to the efficient and gracious elevator operators (yes, its a throwback to another time, but it also provides a personal and unobtrusive additional level of security, as they get to recognize their guests), to the immaculate rooms, all of our needs were met. My husband and I were also impressed because the service was not at all stuffy--just gracious.

I inadvertently left a gold and diamond bracelet in the room. My stomach sank when I realized it after I returned home. I thought that I would never see it again, but when I called the hotel, one of the people who serviced the room had turned it into security. I received it back, along with a brand new pair of shoes that I had also left behind!

Highly recommend the Pierre and will stay again next time I am in New York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights before setting off on the Queen Mary 2 for a Christmas cruise, and found the hotel to be excellent.
In fact compared to the QM2, the hotel is a Palace!
I had booked a standard suite, but was upgraded on arrival to a beautiful home from home.
The staff were faultless and every aspect of my stay was a pleasure, a true 5 star hotel.
Thanks to the management, a Claridges in New York.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Pierre for one night on Christmas. This was our second stay and we by chance ended up in the same suite that we had the first time, which was very lovely. The hotel once again was excellent in every regard: from the doorman, to the housekeeping staff, to the beautiful decorations. The room service menu had many options, service itself was prompt and food delicious. The staff met all our requests (higher floor, extra towels, roll-away bed) in a timely efficient manner. The elevator attendants are always so nice, especially to kids and it's an extra lovely touch only this hotel offers.
Overall this was once again a wonderful stay, which we hope to repeat in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Anya K,

We are honored to hear that you chose to spend your Christmas holiday with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! Thank you for your kind words about our doorman, housekeeping and staffing teams, as well as our elevator operators. This feedback means so much to everyone at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel and it will most certainly be shared with all of them. We are glad to hear we were able to meet all of your requests in a timely manner; we always aim to make sure our guests stat is as comfortable as possible. Hopefully we will be able to spend another Christmas together this year!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our first time in NYC. Our 4 night stay was an "over the top" experience. Our room was a "city view" room and was plenty big for me and my husband. The bed was ultra plush. Like sleeping on a cloud. The shower was awesome, per my husband who is tall and sometimes has to lean over to get under the shower head. The service was impeccable! Very professional. Made us feel like royalty. White gloved elevator attendant and turn down service every night. Our room had an issue with the tv after the first night and they quickly moved us to a suite. Nice to have a refrigerator. The hotel also has a jaguar for hotel guest to use on a first come first serve basis. Even though we didn't utilize this service, we did see the sweet ride out front. The Pierre is the way to go.

Room Tip: Lower rooms on back of hotel - view of bldg behind hotel. Use Expedia for package deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is great. The service is impecable. The concierge very helpful and attentive.
However, in other stays I had a much better room, this time, I got a lousy, small corner room.

Could have been a bit more spacious.

Bathroom is good. The shower is great and the size of the bathroom doesnt bother much.

Continental breakfast is limited. It summarises as two toasts and 3 pots of jam and butter. No egg, no honey, no cheese or other breads or pastries.

The fitness center is small, but since its hardly used, its empty and quite private. Its well equipped so no complaints.

Room Tip: Try not getting a small room - those in the corridor corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is the second time I ve been at the Pierre Hotel and I can confirm that it is a dream.
It s on the 5th Av. And in front of Central Park,you have the subway next to the hotel.
Rooms are super clean and comfortable.The staff is kind gentle and at your disposal for everything.
It is expensive but it worth it.
(Buy the bathrope which is beautiful!!)
The only problem is that you have to pay for internet!!!!I think the should give it for free since the price of the rooms!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear NicoleMaggio,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so honored to hear you feel we are the best hotel on Central Park, we truly appreciate such kind remarks! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and our staff, we will be sure to pass along your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay, and hopefully many more to come!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Centr...
#46 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#43 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#20 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#32 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#147 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.