We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Shropshire England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights before setting off on the Queen Mary 2 for a Christmas cruise, and found the hotel to be excellent.
In fact compared to the QM2, the hotel is a Palace!
I had booked a standard suite, but was upgraded on arrival to a beautiful home from home.
The staff were faultless and every aspect of my stay was a pleasure, a true 5 star hotel.
Thanks to the management, a Claridges in New York.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    120
    48
    26
    20
See reviews for
160
262
38
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Pierre for one night on Christmas. This was our second stay and we by chance ended up in the same suite that we had the first time, which was very lovely. The hotel once again was excellent in every regard: from the doorman, to the housekeeping staff, to the beautiful decorations. The room service menu had many options, service itself was prompt and food delicious. The staff met all our requests (higher floor, extra towels, roll-away bed) in a timely efficient manner. The elevator attendants are always so nice, especially to kids and it's an extra lovely touch only this hotel offers.
Overall this was once again a wonderful stay, which we hope to repeat in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Anya K,

We are honored to hear that you chose to spend your Christmas holiday with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! Thank you for your kind words about our doorman, housekeeping and staffing teams, as well as our elevator operators. This feedback means so much to everyone at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel and it will most certainly be shared with all of them. We are glad to hear we were able to meet all of your requests in a timely manner; we always aim to make sure our guests stat is as comfortable as possible. Hopefully we will be able to spend another Christmas together this year!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our first time in NYC. Our 4 night stay was an "over the top" experience. Our room was a "city view" room and was plenty big for me and my husband. The bed was ultra plush. Like sleeping on a cloud. The shower was awesome, per my husband who is tall and sometimes has to lean over to get under the shower head. The service was impeccable! Very professional. Made us feel like royalty. White gloved elevator attendant and turn down service every night. Our room had an issue with the tv after the first night and they quickly moved us to a suite. Nice to have a refrigerator. The hotel also has a jaguar for hotel guest to use on a first come first serve basis. Even though we didn't utilize this service, we did see the sweet ride out front. The Pierre is the way to go.

Room Tip: Lower rooms on back of hotel - view of bldg behind hotel. Use Expedia for package deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is great. The service is impecable. The concierge very helpful and attentive.
However, in other stays I had a much better room, this time, I got a lousy, small corner room.

Could have been a bit more spacious.

Bathroom is good. The shower is great and the size of the bathroom doesnt bother much.

Continental breakfast is limited. It summarises as two toasts and 3 pots of jam and butter. No egg, no honey, no cheese or other breads or pastries.

The fitness center is small, but since its hardly used, its empty and quite private. Its well equipped so no complaints.

Room Tip: Try not getting a small room - those in the corridor corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I ve been at the Pierre Hotel and I can confirm that it is a dream.
It s on the 5th Av. And in front of Central Park,you have the subway next to the hotel.
Rooms are super clean and comfortable.The staff is kind gentle and at your disposal for everything.
It is expensive but it worth it.
(Buy the bathrope which is beautiful!!)
The only problem is that you have to pay for internet!!!!I think the should give it for free since the price of the rooms!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear NicoleMaggio,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so honored to hear you feel we are the best hotel on Central Park, we truly appreciate such kind remarks! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and our staff, we will be sure to pass along your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay, and hopefully many more to come!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Ok maybe it was because I was just staying overnight so I couldn't appreciate the location but I was disappointed with the hotel. The room was small especially considering what you are paying. Of course you begin to understand the price when you see they have elevator attendants. I don't need somebody to press the number for me, it doesn't add anything for me and effectively we are paying for this in the price. Breakfast though the food was good the service was slow which is fine on a lazy Sunday morning but not so good when you want to get somewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

There are not enough superlatives to describe the Pierre. Just spent 4 nights at the Pierre with wife for special occasion, in a very attractive (if subdued) room with stunning views overlooking Central Park and 5th Avenue. City looked great also with all the Christmas decorations on display, and the tree-lighting at Rockefeller during our visit. The woman who checked us in personally took us to our room, then sent a complementary bottle of champagne (Tattinger!) up.

This hotel transports you to a time when such places were elegant and gracious, not just fancy. You can't believe this place exists in 2012 - formal without being stuffy, absolutely beautiful, calm but not dull, and a staff that is genuinely nice but with appropriate distance. The 2E bar is a gorgeous room off the lobby - perfect place to have a pre or post theatre drink. The newly opened Sirio is a sleek, really cool on-site restaurant, with a long marble bar. Great place - you could see a famous person or two there - we did. The vibe throughout is class and elegance, and just phenomenal (and polite) service. If you ever saw The Shining and recall the (hallucinated) Jack Nicholson scene where he's at the party in the radiant hotel bar, with all the beautiful people dressed up, having coctails and dancing - this place evoked that kind of feeling. The Pierre is a Stanley Kubrick movie without the scary.

Compared to the 3 other grand dame NYC properties in the touristy / 5th avenue stores area (Plaza, St. Regis and Penninsula), the Pierre is no more or less "fancy" than those, but is definitely "nicer." They are pleased to have you. By contrast, the vibe from staff at the Plaza (where we went for a drink before deciding to walk out) is obnoxious, even threatening. What is up with that? Like the others, the Pierre is expensive. Get over that - this is a special occasion / splurge kind of place. It's worth it, and while you're at it, might as well upgrade to a room with a view of the park - it's the icing on the cake. If there is anything negative to say, and it's not really negative, I'm not sure this is the place for travelers coming with young children. Others might disagree. Either way, the Pierre is truly a wonderful, 5-Star hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.