We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt, a rare find...true luxury and personalized service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #37 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, a rare find...true luxury and personalized service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The Hotel Pierre is a rare find, bringing back that level of service I thought was almost extinct. In a city of so many, the attention to personal service at the Pierre is worth spending the extra dollars for. Arriving at the hotel at what would be a very busy season (the week before Christmas), I was even more impressed that the staff took the extra time to make my visit so memorable. Every request was met with immediate care and follow up. The service was beautifully presented without being stuffy or over the top. The suite that we were in had every convenience - both modern and classic, that we could want. Beds are amazing,lovely linens, , room service is presented ON TIME, accurately, and with grace. The location is great - close to everything we wanted, and the concierge was informed and always ready to help. Staying at the Pierre was more than just staying at a hotel...it was an experience in the Grand tradition. We loved every minute, and hope it never changes a bit! 100% recommendation - stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We want to extend our sincerest gratitude to you for sharing such kind remarks about your recent stay at The Pierre. Our staff strives each day to make sure each guest has the most accommodating and pleasurable experience possible. It is very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so.

We are happy to inform you that our comfortable beds are available for purchase. The lines we use our Frette, and our silk bed throws are handcrafted in India! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in the heart of New York City, where exclusive midtown shopping meets the Upper East Side. We are delighted to hear you loved every minute of your stay and we hope the Pierre becomes your home away from home.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    109
    44
    25
    18
See reviews for
136
227
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Salonga, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This hotel offers a great location for shopping in NYC. The entrance provides direct access to Fifth Avenue as well as Madison Avenue.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in the heart of New York City, where exclusive midtown shopping meets the Upper East Side. It sounds as though you took advantage of our centralized location. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Pierre!

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Had heard so much about The Pierre. What a disappointment. The hotel is jaded, rooms and public spaces need urgent refurbishment. Unfriendly staff. We had a large suite, but besides its square footage, little else worth talking about it. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

It truly saddens us to hear you had a disappointing stay with us. The hotel underwent a $100 million two-year renovation updating all guest rooms, public and banquet spaces, re-launching in late 2009. As guest satisfaction is our priority, I would be happy to speak with you directly regarding your experience and how it can be improved. It is only through listening to our guests that we are able to maintain our Five Diamond service.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future and provide you with an exceptional service experience.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

If you have the chance to stay here, all other things being equal, try this magnificent property at an unbeatable location. XMas in the city never wads so special!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hear that we made your Christmas in the city so special! It is true that there is no better place to experience the holiday season than in New York City. We are happy to know you enjoyed our unbeatable location! We look forward to welcoming you back to our property and hope to see you next Christmas!

Warmest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My husband and I went to NYC for a quick getaway and stayed at The Pierre for the first time. The staff was so friendly and helpful I thought we were back in our little southern hometown! Abraham, the concierge was fantastic helping us with business fax's and then finding us the perfect restaurant for a spectacular dinner. Christopher in the lounge was a dream also! His creations behind the bar were amazing and he even sent me home with the recipe for my new favorite drink! The room was spacious (for NYC) with a small but nicely finished bathroom. Location was great with Central Park directly across the street, 5th avenue shopping at your doorstep Rockefeller Center a short stroll away. I hope to visit NYC again soon and will be staying at The Pierre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so! It is feedback like yours that inspires our team to keep delivering excellent service each day. We will make sure to relay your compliments to Abraham and Christopher. We will let Christopher know you are enjoying your new favorite drink!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms and remodeled bathrooms, as well as our centralized location. We look forward to welcoming you back again at The Pierre!

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Well let's begin with $36.00 for 6 LOCAL phone calls.(3 were under 1 minute) Unfortunatly,I new it would have been less expesive to use my cell, but the connection was poor. The second issue I had was there was no complimentary coffee or tea in the room. Of course they wanted you to order it from room service or go downstairs to their restaurant to purchase it, but even the "less expensive" hotels provide this for you! The staff is nice enough. Bathroom very small (no tub) room was pretty but no view. Location is good (if you want uptown) with plenty of trains within walking distance. Would I stay again? Probably not.

Room Tip: ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I sincerely apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. At The Pierre we continually strive to exceed our guests’ personal service standards, and it is important for us to know when we are not doing so.

We have many different room configurations and we are happy to show you our full variety of views and our guest rooms with deep soaking tubs should you give us another chance to host you again.

We welcome the opportunity to leave you with a positive impression.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at the Pierre and the experience was a dream. The amazing staff at The Pierre helped create an incredible surprise wedding proposal in our beautiful suite. By the time we arrived, the room was transformed into a beautiful oasis with rose petals, champagne, chocolates etc. They even had our special music, playing from my ipod when we walked into the room! Everything was perfect.

Everything from the facilities, to the wonderful staff, beautiful rooms and spectacular location make this hotel a special gem in NYC. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Congratulations! We are so happy for you both. Thank you so much for choosing The Pierre for this very special moment! It is our honor to help you celebrate this once-in-a-lifetime event. We like to think after 80-years we have learned to kindle romance.

We look forward to being your home away from home as you embark on this new life together. We wish you the very best and look forward to having you two back again very soon. Best of luck.

Warm regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.