We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Grand Central Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New York Grand Central to your Saves list
The Westin New York Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #224 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Close to Grand Central Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

A good standard business class hotel just a couple of blocks away from the main station.

The place is clean with nice size rooms and friendly front desk. Priceline got us in with a good rate so we're happy.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
I love Grand Central Station as well! It makes getting to work easy and quick. We are happy to provide this service to our guests as it provides them easy access to the entire city!

I am glad you found our room refreshing! We aim to provide you a relaxing and re-energizing stay with us where you leave feeling better than when you arrived. We hope to provide you another memorable stay soon!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    774
    266
    87
    51
See reviews for
505
528
80
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel last week. It is ideally located as we could walk to Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Broadway, and the pier for a trip around Manhattan Island. We were on the 27th floor overlooking the street but did not find noise an issue. The bed was super comfy and the room, which has been refurbished, was very spacious and pleasant. The only complaint was that the bar fridge did not have space for anything and the notice to say that it should not be touched or you would be charged was in the small print. The hotel staff will deliver you a fridge if you want one. Internet access is free in the lobby which is ok but antiquated in this day and age.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We did recently have a huge renovation on this property with our guests in mind. I am happy to hear you enjoy our modern décor and new amenities and features that we now offer. I am glad you found our rooms just Heavenly. I am happy you were able to sleep well without any interruptions from the street noise. We aim to provide our guests a peaceful night sleep and designed our mattress with you in mind.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Heavenly Bath, another service we are proud of as we installed Rain Shower heads to provide our guests with a refreshing experience. I understand wanting a cool room, I have the same preference. I have contacted our Director of Engineering and he is currently looking at a new solution for temperature control in the guest rooms.
We hope to see you in the future as we work on improving our services.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Only had a 3 night stay in New York & was very impressed with this hotel. Everything was spotless, the service was 5* from the time we got there to the time we left. Very helpful concierge & in a great location. Away from the hustle bustle but only a stones throw away from it too!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We agree our location is premium and does provide our guests a great experience of the city. We are able to give our guests a great tour of the city as it is easily accessible downtown, uptown, east and west with the use of Grand Central station.

I am happy our concierge team was able to assist you and provide you guest service Starwood is known for. We hope to see you back at our property soon!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was our second time visiting New York, and we booked The Westin via a good offer through SPG, booking two nights, and the third night being complimentary. I had requested a room with a nice view as we were travelling for my birthday, and were given a lovely spot on the 21st floor that provided an amazing view of The Empire State building.

The room was large (by all standards, not just New York standards!) and much more than I was expecting given the price. Huge comfortable bed, large TV, couch and chairs, desk etc. Staff were friendly, and we were able to check in early (around 1pm) with no problems at all.

Location is great, 2 blocks to Grand Central and walking distance to Midtown and Central Park. Being more of a business area there are not as many restaurant options, but '99c Fresh Pizza' is less than a block away and great if you're craving a slice! Pax Wholesome Foods is located just next door, great if you need a coffee and bagel on your way out in the morning.

My only complaints were that wi-fi is not included in rooms, but is available for use in the lobby (but we were unable to connect for some reason), and our TV seemed to be hanging a little precariously on the wall, very crooked!

For the value for money and fantastic location, we would definitely stay here on another trip to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed all the services and amenities we offered you during your stay. Our location is wonderful providing easy access to the entire city. Being located next to Grand Central Station makes navigating the city easy and smooth! We are also located near many great local restaurants and finds.

I am happy you found our Heavenly Bed and Bath comfortable and refreshing! We aim to provide exception guest service and I am delighted to hear that was your experience.

We are happy to hear you plan to join us for a future stay! See you soon!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our first room had a water leak. The engineer quickly came up and told us we would need a new room. The front desk was not quite on board with that. We had tried to check in early and they lost our reservation. But, at 11, after the theater, they found a room. I had shipped a package to the hotel and upon our arrival it took 2 hours to find. The shipping manager was not available for 4 hours. However, the security guard Rodriguez took me under his wing and we found the package. Now, once settled, the room was clean, great location and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Greetings Nancy,

I am so sorry to read you had several room challenges and was not properly received by our Front Office team and had troubles locating your items. I am very glad Rodriguez took ownership of this event and personally assisted you. We are constantly training our associates to personally own and resolve each of our guest requests or challenges and it is very rewarding to read he took you under his wing and located your package.

I would welcome the opportunity to personally connect with you and offer you resolution to these challenges. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We booked over the internet following a recommendation from a friend. For the price we paid we expected a tiny room but were pleasantly surprised to find a well-appointed one, not at all crowded, complete with in-room safe and a dynamite shower. The only negative thing I can say is that the Internet in the rooms is not free (though it is free in the lobby). The location is outstanding, right in the middle of things.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello Mike,

I am happy you listened to your friend’s advice and gave up a try! I am even happier we lived up to their reviews. I am sorry our internet is still at a charge but we do offer several options such as the lobby or reward programs that offer that option.

Please contact me directly and I will personally go over all options with you.

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Check-in was a breeze and even with a queue we were finished in 5 minutes. This is a large property (41 floors) and were happy to see 6 elevators that were so fast your ears popped.

The rooms were spacious and clean. Nice Heavenly Beds and a variety of pillows.

Like other reviewers have said, the location is wonderful. It is in a business area, so quieter than Times Square. Grand Central Station is just 2 blocks away making it convenient if you have to travel around the city.

Downside: There aren't as many restaurants in this area as others. There was some hotel noise, but nothing too bad. The only real negative is the hotel restaurant was mediocre at best. I'd skip it altogether next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for acknowledging our spacious rooms as they are very expansive compared to other hotels in our surrounding area. Our Heavenly Beds are perfect marshmallows that can remove the most hectic day, allowing you to surrender to a beautiful sleep.

I am sorry our restaurant did not live up to your fancy but I am very confident we can win you back. Please contact me when you are arriving again and I will personally offer you a great discount.

Thank you and look forward to connecting with you.

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#283 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,621 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#179 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,137 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#324 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Manhattan East
Hilton Manhattan East
#236 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#288 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,184 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#253 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New York Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.