We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel - not so good soundproofing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Save Saved
You added The Westin New York Grand Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #196 of 452 hotels in New York City
Spa, Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel - not so good soundproofing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights during a conference, so I cannot say anything about the prices. The same goes for the breakfast, which was included but not had.

Everything about this hotel is very good. It is in a fantastic location midtown; close to Grand Central and pretty close to Times Square. There is also an Irish bar across the road on the corner and, for those who need it, Pfizer is straight across.

Staff are lovely and helpful, except for the lady who checked us in. I think she was either new or at the end of her shift but she was pretty chaotic and unsure (but not rude). She said, for instance, that for our particular booking, you couldn't get Starwood points. Apparently, not for conferences, although others do. It doesn't matter to me but it was a bit confusing. All other staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

The only point of criticism is that the rooms were really noisy. Funnily enough, not as a result of street noise but room noise. Each time our neighbour flushed the toilet or started running the shower, both my wife and I sat upright in bed, thinking the 9.57 train was rolling into the room. I am not exaggerating either.

Other than that, a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location. We are located centrally as we are in Midtown East. This provides you easy access downtown and uptown as well with ease using Grand Central Station.

I am happy to hear all of our associates were friendly and helpful! I apologize for your initial impression when you checked-in, but I am happy to hear you experienced the service The Westin is known for.

I will contact our Engineering Department regarding the noise level and sound proofing. This is the first I have heard about the necessity for sound proofing from neighbor rooms. We thank you for your feedback and will use it to actively improve our services.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    503
    182
    61
    33
See reviews for
321
377
52
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here back in Feb and again in April 2014. The location is great, close to Grand Central station, which makes it easy to move around. And the room is comfy, not as big but it is spacious for NYC, so no complain there. Interior is up to Westin's standard, with their signature heavenly bed.

In Feb, they put us in a room with partial view of Chrysler building, which was quite amazing in the evening. In April, we can see a bit of Empire State but not as obvious.

We've got a room at the Starwood Preferred Guest floor at a high floor, and relatively quiet (for NYC). What I like is that they are not as sticky about check-in time, unlike some other hotels in NY. They let us in at around noon, while check-in time is 3pm.

The only thing to complain is that their Service button on the phone in the room seemed to always be busy, not easy to get through. It took awhile for us to be able to speak to someone in order to request for bathroom slippers.

Service button aside, overall this is a nice hotel in great location. I don't mind staying here again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Chrysler or Empire State Building, the view is amazing especially in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We hope to become your home away from home. We thank you for choosing to stay with us in February and April! We hope it becomes a bi-monthly visit and even more frequent than that! We hope to see you back at our property soon!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property’s location, cleanliness, comfortable and spacious room, and guest service. We thank you for your honest feedback regarding contacting the operator and I will forward your feedback to the department head responsible. We want to ensure no guests have difficulty in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a very centrally located hotel very close to Grand Central Station which is great.

What astounded me in this day and age is that you have to pay extra $15.95 per day!! for internet / wifi access. It is free in the lobby but getting connected there was a difficult job.

The staff on reception were hassled and stressed which to be honest didn't make for a great experience.

One of the best things about the hotel was the PAX restaurant next door - gorgeous pasta and food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I am happy to hear your enjoyed our location. For someone’s first time to New York, being located near Grand Central Station is important and convenient for first time tourists to New York. It provides easy access to the entire city.
As it is a Starwood standard we must continue to charge for internet as this is a company standard. We hope we can provide a solution to this demand as we understand it is a big expectation.

Your check-in experience is not acceptable and I have informed our Director of Rooms so he can properly address his associates.

If you wish to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Friendly, professional, efficient check in. Clean, nice sized room. Responsive staff. Plenty of staff to service you. Operator always picked up very quickly. No problem with extra robes or towels. Best Starwood property in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
What a fantastic title to your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and we have become your number one Starwood property in New York! We look forward to continuously providing you excellent service and building that relationship with you.
We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Im a big fan of Westin, especially their heavenly beds. The hotel is big so it can get crowded in the lobby/elevator but the staff are always attentive, helpful and cheerful. The hotel is in a good (though not great) location. The upside of that is that you get an excellent room at a good price so great value for money. I'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
What a lovely title to your review. I am glad to hear that we have become your number one hotel in the city. We aim to be your home away from home while you are staying in New York.

We are delighted to offer our Heavenly Beds and I am happy to hear it provided you the rest and relaxation you need. As our location is east it is only 2 blocks away from Grand Central Station and provides you easy access throughout the city. Our location is not in the hustle and bustle of the city providing you a more relaxing experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location and well sized rooms for New York. It was however a pity about the service. At check in , the staff seem pre-occupied with other matters to sort the rooms out. We had booked 2 king bed rooms, however were given twin beds. When we went down to resolve, there was a unhelpful attitude. They wanted paper copies of our reservations. We had requested to print these as it was n our smartphone. That too was an issue until the concierge most helpfully suggested we email it to him and he printed out. The rooms didn't have a room service menu. Took over an hour and 2 calls to get one to us. Given the welcome episode was disheartening, spoilt our outlook on the hotel even though the rooms were a great size.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
We understand how important the first impression can be as it is an indicator of how the duration of your stay might go. I am sorry to hear you did not have the friendliest welcome to our property. We understand how competitive the hotel market is in New York and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

I have informed our Director of Front Office on your experience and he is going to actively re-train our associates to ensure they provide the service Starwood is known for. We thank you for your feedback as we use it to improve our services.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Delivering the Westin promise is hard in NY. This Westin tries, but a so-so renovation resulted in noisy rooms with windows that don't close particularly well, in hallway noise from staff cleaning rooms at 10pm, a small lobby that is very crowded at busy times and a staff who tries but sometimes gets in each other's way. Some choices, like the minibar design, make it tough to clean the room. On the other hand, if you are taking a train from Grand Central it is convenient. I find it hard to believe that the many tourists pay the rates Americans are asked to pay for the experience...

Room Tip: If sensitive to noise, try to avoid the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
I am sorry to hear you did not have the memorable experience we aim to provide. We take your feedback very seriously so we can improve our service. I want to thank you for your input on your stay.

We are going to take your feedback and develop solutions that we can implement to better improve our guest experience. We would never want this to be your lasting impression.

If you wish to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New York Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.