We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1st time visit to NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New York Grand Central to your Saves list
The Westin New York Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #225 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great 1st time visit to NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel. 25th floor. Clean room, spacious. Massive bed! Staff attentive and helpful. My only niggle is there was no free wifi which I think should be included in a hotel of this stature in a modern vibrant fantastic city like NY. Shulas Steakhouse on the ground floor was fantastic! Location brilliant for Times Square and amenities.

Room Tip: It's NY. The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hello AberdeenBiker,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of The Westin New York Times Square! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the property, along with your fresh and comfortable guest room on the 25th floor. I also love to see that you admired the attentive and helpful service offered to you by their staff.

While The Westin New York Grand Central offers our guests a delicious restaurant, The LCL, in our lobby, The Westin New York Times Square offers their guests a chance to dine at Schula's Steakhouse at their property. I hear that the food at this restuarant is absolutely mouthwatering! In addition to offering their guests this amenity, The Westin Times Square does offer their guests complimentary WiFi in their lobby, so please do not hesitate to take advantage of this thoughtful amenity next time you stay at this lovely property.

Thank you again for sharing your review of The Westin New York Times Square! I can see that this hotel not only met your expectations, but exceeded them.

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    661
    238
    78
    44
See reviews for
415
467
68
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

As I've said in previous reviews, there are the old beige-wallpapered Westins, and then there are nice Westins. This is one of the nice ones.

We combined Starwood points and paid nights for a 5-night stay and were given a room on the top (41st) floor, an SPG member floor. In a good 15-20 visits to NYC over the years, must say this was the largest room I've ever come across in a city normally famous for requiring a Dukes of Hazzard slide across the bed to get to the other side of your tiny room. The breathing room immediately creates a more relaxed mood for your trip, as does the calmer, more business-oriented Midtown East location (why anyone ever chooses to subject themselves to actually staying in Times Square I will never understand). You are only 1.5 blocks from the massive subway hub at Grand Central, so getting pretty much anywhere in Manhattan or Brooklyn is a breeze.

This floor had clearly been remodeled (a quaint bit of Bad Westin Beige wallpaper was still visible in the entryway), so everything from furniture to bathroom fixtures looked nice, clean and contemporary. Amenities included a laptop-sized in-room safe, a fold-out sofa, coffeemaker, iron, hairdryer and a decent-sized flat screen. There's a decently stocked minibar, though be aware it's one that tries to charge you if you move any items (easily corrected when I checked out).

Front desk service was personable and professional as always with Starwood, though they never quite were able to link our paid nights and free nights in the computer, so our room key stopped working midway through and I did have to ask for 2 separate bills. Only other quibbles were that we only got a single robe when we'd clearly indicated 2 guests, and that robe was taken away by housekeeping for our last night. We also had to ask a couple times for more than a single (fake) creamer in the coffee bar, a detail that in my previous experience would normally be noted and fixed for the rest of the stay with the first call (one of the reasons I love Starwood).

But those are tiny blips in what was overall an excellent stay. At approximately $200/night before tax, this is a great value for a nice, huge room in the heart of Manhattan. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hello Puzzolente,

Thank you so very much for sharing your wonderfully detailed review with the team here at The Westin New York Grand Central, along with the online community! After reading about your excellent visit, I feel very confident that we will be welcoming you back to our property in the near future!

I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed the calming atmosphere of our property. Our goal is to create an ambiance that allows one to relax and rejuvenate during their time in the city. In addition to our revitalizing environment, I love knowing that you adored your modernly designed and spacious guest room. Seeing that you have traveled to New York City many times, I am happy that you have finally found a hotel that provides you with plenty of storage and lounging space while in Manhattan.

I would also like to thank you for noting the thoughtful amenities we provide in our guest rooms. From the safe to the coffeemaker, our wish is to enhance the guest experience and have you leave feeling better than when you arrived. In addition to our thoughtful amenities, I am so happy to know that you enjoyed our personable service.

In regards to your experience with the robe and creamer, I have forwarded your review to our Housekeeping Manager who will be using this information to ensure our guest rooms are properly stocked with our thoughtful amenities. Thank you for sharing this pertinent information with us. You are leading us to better care for the future guests of our property.

We are so excited to welcome you back to our property in the near future. As one of our lovely Starwood Preferred Guests, we thank you for your strong loyalty and patronage!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I travel to ny city regularly and have stayed at many properties throughout the city. The westin is a fine simple hotel not what I would consider 5 star. The location is fine and you can walk most places yet taxis are cheap and if you need to get somewhere quick I would recommend this. The staff are not helpful at all, the rooms are fine but not spotless. There is better for the price in ny!!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hello Rebecca W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here at The Westin New York Grand Central, and thank you for choosing to stay with us during one of your many visits to the city. I am delighted to see that you valued our location and the convenience it offers. I would also like to thank you for noting the reasonably priced taxis and the handiness they offer our guests that are in a hurry.

While I am happy to see that you valued the aspects of our property noted above, I would love for you to contact me directly regarding your experience with our staff, along with housekeeping. Seeing that you travel to the city on a regular basis, I would like to speak with you and find out what we can do to become your home away from home during your time in the city. We are committed to turning your experience around.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

stayed one night at the Westin Grand Central NYC - great location - nice bar in hotel lobby - room was very comfortable and roomy - I had a king sized bed and even a couch and armchair - so very homey - bed was the best feature, so very comfortable, best bed I have ever slept in they had the heavenly beds - pillow was great too - would definitely stay there again - had to stay overnight for work so company paid for the room

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor and did not hear much noise from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Ksbrowne,

It sounds like your one night stay with us was nothing short of wonderful, which I am so happy to hear! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business trip, as we understand that one has many options to choose from while traveling.

Our unmatched location provides our guests with quick and easy access to the entire city. With Grand Central Station right down the street and plenty of taxis in the area, I have no doubt that you were easily able to travel to your destinations. I am delighted to see that you took advantage of our well-known bar and restaurant, The LCL. Our business travelers really admire this aspect of our property. And what could be better than returning to our signature Heavenly Bed after a day of taking care of business in the city? Thank you for noting the revitalizing comfort of our signature bed!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Westin New York Grand Central soon! Our Heavenly Bed awaits your arrival!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Westin in Feb 2014 for a short 5 day trip.

On the whole I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. They rooms where a good size- we took a deluxe double room which was plenty spacious for two if us with luggage and big for New York standards. The concierge, although sometimes moody where always very helpful in giving suggestion and making bookings.

The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and clean. In fact the hotel was clean and tidy throughout.
The bathroom was a good size and rain shower head was very nice.

Only a couple niggles:

On arrival we were slightly early for check in but the computer systems had gone down so they were unable to check us in together with a line full of people. The hotel seemed under pressure and unable to cope. The check in staff were not even slightly apologetic about it, replying that check-in is not until 3pm anyway. Not what you want to hear after a 7.5 hour flight. No compensation was offered such as a drink by the bar whilst we wait. Once we actually were able to check in an hour later, we asked if our request on the booking form through hotels.com was made, such as a higher floor and room with a view. Only to curtly be told that to get a room with a view we need to pay an extra $50.00 even though the room was available – shouldn’t that be offered free if it is vacant anyway? A service led hotel would have done so.

After expressing my disappointment in them, the manager, Timothy did call us in the room and say that there is infact a room we could swap to if we so wished. Too late by then as we had already unpacked. He did however offer a good level of compensation which was free internet in our room for the duration of our stay, plus sent us a note with some dried fruit and nuts to the room. That is far more in line I would expect.

Additionally, the cleaners did throw away a few of our items; a PJ t-shirt and a plastic cover for an evening dress - not ideal!

Location of this hotel is fantastic, walking distance from many great sites and not too loud like other neighbourhoods/areas.

Room Tip: Try for the higher floors if you can to get more of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Littlemisshelpful87,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed insight with us here at The Westin New York Grand Central. As you had many hotels to choose from when planning your 5 day trip, we are thankful that you chose to stay with us!

I am delighted to see that you admired our modernly designed guest rooms. Our Deluxe Double Rooms are fantastic! With plenty of space to store your luggage and relax after a long day, these rooms meet every traveler’s needs! With that being said, nothing compares to the comfort of our signature Heavenly Bed and pillows. I am so happy to see that you enjoyed the amenities of our guest rooms and felt that our property is well-cared for.

I would like to thank you for noting the exceptional service provided to you by Timothy, one of our Front Office Managers. Timothy has provided you with a true example of the type of service we love to provide our guests with. He will be recognized for the efforts he made towards bettering your time with us in the city. Thank you for sharing this information with us!

While I am thrilled to see you enjoyed the majority of your stay, I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience at check-in. This was the first time this situation had occurred at our property, and we have since implemented a system that will be utilized in the event that this ever happens again. This new system ensures that our guests will continue to enjoy a smooth and timely check-in process, regardless of unforeseen circumstances.

In order to better address the exact details of your check-in process, along with your experience with housekeeping, I would love for you to contact me directly with further details of your stay. I believe that after obtaining further details, we will be able to further enhance the guest experience and provide our future guests with the exceptional service The Westin is known for.


All of us here at The Westin appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, as you are leading us to better the experience of the future guests of our hotel. I look forward to speaking with you soon!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The westin is just renovated and wonderful. Staff is very nice, and always looking to please their top guests with a great upgrade. Only complaint is the walls are thin. The restaurant food is yummy too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello Travelqueen15,

We absolutely love to see that we are one of your favorite hotels! We understand that you have many options to choose from while traveling, and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

I am so happy to see that you admired our beautifully renovated property. The refreshing ambiance of our property creates a relaxing environment that leaves our guests feeling better than when they arrived. In addition, I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed the presence of our thoughtful staff, along with the delicious offerings of our restaurant, The LCL.

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us. We hope to welcome you back to your home away from home soon!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Came into the city for a weekend getaway for my wife's birthday. Prior to my arrival, I had received correspondance from Stephanie Hepner who is the Westin Experience Specialist- asking if there was anyting special I needed. I have status with Starwood, and typically only stay at SPG properties and I have never had this type of communication before. I mentioned to Stephanie that it was my wife's birthday, and we were upgraded to a extremely nice premium corner king. Upon arrival, we had a nice bday card and cake delivered as well... Also, we had 3 other couples stay at the hotel and they were also taken care of very well at check in. The hotel is in a great location if you are coming for tourism, or if you just need to escape into the city for a weekend. We have stayed at this property three times now, and are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello Metsguy,

Wow! What an amazing review. Reading your positive feedback is truly rewarding to all of us here at The Westin New York Grand Central. Please wish your wife a Happy Belated Birthday for me!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the 3rd time to enjoy your weekend getaway, and thank you for noting the outstanding service Stephanie, our very own Westin Experience Specialist, provided you with! I can see that she truly exceeded your expectations and made your wife’s birthday celebration one for the books.

Whether visiting for business or pleasure, our unmatched location fulfills the needs of all of the wonderful guests who stay with us. I hope you and your wife, along with the 3 other couples traveling with you, had a fun time exploring the city! I am sure you had a memorable time. And what could be better than returning to one of our beautiful and spacious Premium Corner King Rooms after being out and about in the city? We are so delighted to know that you truly admired all of the offerings of our property.

We are excited to welcome you back for your 4th stay with us soon! Please stay in touch and be well.

Best,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New York Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.