We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
The Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Savings on all Suites
Ranked #75 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Jericho, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

No better Times Square location. Boutique euro style hotel with spacious rooms and professional service. No restaurant, but there is one adjacent. Room service comes from outside. Rooms are extremely comfortable, small but elegant lobby with european type breakfast and afternoon snack

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    446
    101
    34
    26
See reviews for
256
773
76
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Michelangelo is rated 4 star and our experience would list the service as a 5 star-hotel with grace and elegance. The hotel is just above and out of the crowds at time square which makes it a perfect central location and very easy walk ( in some cases one or two blocks) to Broadway shows. The property has clearly been recently renovated and the two rooms we had, a King Studio and a King suite were very large and well appointed. The key in Manhattan in the summer is a modern and functioning air conditioning system which the hotel has. I cranked it down to 67 Fahrenheit and there it stayed. The desk staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful. Nothing was too difficult and nothing to small to attend to. Although there is a $15 per day fee for WIFI in the rooms there is free access in the lobby and lots seating and table to work at. The concierge we dealt with was one of the best I have encountered. Thanks you James. There was nothing he couldn't do or arrange and was bang on with every restaurant suggestion he gave us.All the rooms come with a continental breakfast of coffee, tea,pastries and fruit all served with a smile. Just the right start to the morning. Newspapers are free and in the lobby. I have been to the city too many times to count and have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and the Michelangelo stands head and shoulders above many of them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Michelangelo once again exceeded our expectations. We were upgraded to a lovely suite that was quite spacious and comfortable. They switched out the comforter for a blanket at our request making the bed absolutely perfect. And you can't beat the location - so convenient to plays and fabulous restaurants. The Michelangelo has become our favorite place to stay in New York City.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room yet so no tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our sixth or seventh time staying here. It was as outstanding now as it was eight years ago. We had not been to the hotel for three years but we were welcomed back warmly. It's a small boutique hotel with an excellent location and staff. The front desk personnel, the housekeeping and the wait staff at the lobby bar/dining room were very efficient and caring. We enjoyed an early evening cocktail and watched the World Cup games that were being telecast. One day, many Brazilian fans were in the lobby watching the game. Fortunately, we were rooting along with them. Rooms are not huge but they are very comfortable. The hotel welcomes many nationalities as guests and makes them feel at home. As long ago native New Yorkers, we felt at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is our second stay at the Michelangelo, and it was even better this time that before. We ad our Kids, and their spouses along this time, and the Staff and the Hotel did everything they could to make our stay an exceptional experience. It was very very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel offers special packages and is a first class hotel located on 7th Ave near Times Square, Central Park South, Carnegie Hall etc. The rooms are exquisitely furnished and the feathered pillows are a delightful way to cruise off after a busy day. Service and staff are first class. Check for special packages which make this hotel reasonable for most folks.

Room Tip: Any room at the hotel is great. There are a variety of rooms depending on the package or your desire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very pleasant surprise. I hesitate to give it a great review for fear that it will get to crowded to get a reservation the next time I want one! Room was large, clean, and comfortable. Location was excellent for theatre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Priceline, Splendia, Amex, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.