We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL AN OUTSTANDING HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
The Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
296 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“STILL AN OUTSTANDING HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our sixth or seventh time staying here. It was as outstanding now as it was eight years ago. We had not been to the hotel for three years but we were welcomed back warmly. It's a small boutique hotel with an excellent location and staff. The front desk personnel, the housekeeping and the wait staff at the lobby bar/dining room were very efficient and caring. We enjoyed an early evening cocktail and watched the World Cup games that were being telecast. One day, many Brazilian fans were in the lobby watching the game. Fortunately, we were rooting along with them. Rooms are not huge but they are very comfortable. The hotel welcomes many nationalities as guests and makes them feel at home. As long ago native New Yorkers, we felt at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockhound94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is our second stay at the Michelangelo, and it was even better this time that before. We ad our Kids, and their spouses along this time, and the Staff and the Hotel did everything they could to make our stay an exceptional experience. It was very very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel offers special packages and is a first class hotel located on 7th Ave near Times Square, Central Park South, Carnegie Hall etc. The rooms are exquisitely furnished and the feathered pillows are a delightful way to cruise off after a busy day. Service and staff are first class. Check for special packages which make this hotel reasonable for most folks.

Room Tip: Any room at the hotel is great. There are a variety of rooms depending on the package or your desire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pbabcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very pleasant surprise. I hesitate to give it a great review for fear that it will get to crowded to get a reservation the next time I want one! Room was large, clean, and comfortable. Location was excellent for theatre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheldon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had heard about this hotel a long time ago just never made it there. So glad we did this time. The hotel is clean and inviting. Our room (a junior suite) was large and very comfortable. The best part of the room/hotel was that it is QUIET. Normally in NYC you hear the street noise all night long. Not here. Didn't hear a thing. Very restful sleep for long days of sightseeing and shopping. Its also conveniently located close to Times Square, Central Park, Grand Central and 5th Ave. Would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was a little more pricey but the extra room was great in NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel, obviously has been remodelled many times over the past century. Today's result is truly modern luxury respecting the grandeur of the hotel. The rooms have a wow factor when the door opens for the first time. Large main room luxuriously furnished, walk in home sized closet, and large washroom/dressing area. What a luxury to know you are staying at a historical icon. Unfortunately, through change of ownership and title, the grand lobby has been chopped to a minimum and there is no in-house restaurant which would normally accompany a hotel from this era. This hotel relies only on the quality of room which it does very well. As a negative, the towels were on the "cheap" side..... kinda scratchy -ouch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to New York and we were pleasantly surprised at how central the hotel was. A short walk to Times Square where we used tho open tipped bus to get around and see the sights at a reasonable price.
As a previous reviewer commented, they do charge surplus for everything, and Internet should be free in this day and age. But I'd advise to eat out anyway and see the sights.
The room was a good size and we were lucky enough to have a quiet room off Times Square. The staff were helpful, in particular Henry. We'd definately use this hotel again in future, but if they're reading this, please give us free internet!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,286 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,634 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,294 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#89 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing