We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & very nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Savings on all Suites
Ranked #78 of 452 hotels in New York City
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location & very nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here in November and then again in February and both times we were very happy with the quietness and cleanliness of our rooms. The first time we were upgraded and had a suite with a sitting area and a separate bedroom. More room than we needed but definitely appreciated. The staff was very welcoming and were available if we had questions or wanted extra pillows, etc. The continental breakfast was good in the morning being we were just looking for some coffee and pastries. There is a restaurant on the lobby level for anyone that wants a hot breakfast and the ability to order off a menu. We were in walking distance of great shopping, plenty of restaurant/bar choices, Broadway shows as well as Times Square. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you have already been back! We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,046
    436
    96
    32
    26
See reviews for
253
747
74
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I chose to stay at The Michelangelo Hotel primarily for it's location and well written reviews. We were extremely pleased with not only the location, ambiance and the beauty of our suite but also quite impressed with the hotel staff. Our expectations were exceeded and we are returning this year for another visit. The Michelangelo Hotel has become our choice hotel for our frequent visits to "The City".

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and for making the Michelangelo your choice hotel in NYC! We look forward to seeing you soon and welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very nice hotel, good service, clean room and large. Even though so close to Times Square you really don't hear much noise. Good location for walking everywhere.
The breakfast is only coffee and a muffin, for us ot good, we like to have eggs and yogurt. The coffee was good.

Room Tip: All rooms have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Please note for next time we off a heartier breakfast in the I Lounge, which offers breakfast A LA Carte. Our Buondi breakfast (Good Day in Italian) is just something extra we like to offer our guests to start the day off well! Please feel free to reach out directly for your next stay - reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel when in town on business. Would definitely return. Staff is very friendly, the hotel is very clean. I booked a normal deluxe room from which I was upgraded to a Junior suite at check-in and the it was very nice. Great location!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are very happy to hear that you will stay with us again on your next trip to NYC. You can reach out to us directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I arrived at the hotel on Easter Sunday and as soon as I told them that my trip was a (very) belated birthday present to myself, they upgraded my room - what a great start (thanks, Asha)! The hotel is one of the quietest I have ever been in, which is extraordinary for a place like Midtown New York and a real plus for me. The bed was fabulous and I slept really well after all my exertions around the city. It's true that there are no great views to be had, but for a first-time visitor this location couldn't be better, being located between Times Square and Central Park, both within easy walking distance - not to mention the subways just around the corner. The free coffee and pastries were all the breakfast I needed and there was even the option to take it away, which was a great timesaver. Above all, the staff, from Asha, Walter & all those on reception, to the very efficient cleaning staff, deserve the highest praise for the kind and courteous way they went about ensuring the best possible experience for their clients.
A couple of minor quibbles: the towels & bathrobe were actually a bit scratchy, rather than fluffy as described (time for some new ones?) and I felt the bath & shower could do with a bit of updating. But everything worked, so no problem!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with everyone. We will be happy to pass on your kind words to Asha and Walter. Please come back soon and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

When looking for a hotel a lot of the reviews mentioned street noise. I stay in a lot of hotels and find noise a problem when sleeping so the choice appeared to be quiet room or a view, I went for the quiet room. Whilst our room had a window it looked on to a brick wall but it was amazingly quiet, perfect for a good nights sleep.

The room was beautiful, we were upgraded as a lot of guests appear to be. Very much a quality hotel, the room felt five star as it was quite luxurious with a very comfortable mattress and quality sheets. Walk-in closet was unusual for a hotel but very nice giving lots of space.

Coffee and pastries in the morning without charge was very nice. We stayed for a week, but on the last day it was chaos with the guy who was always there just nipping in once. We waited a while (as did others), coffee jugs were empty, tables uncleared and no pastries or milk. We gave up.

Loved the location, near the subway to the airport, near Rockefeller and Central Park. Also very near Times Square but very busy and tacky, to be avoided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the amazing review! We are so happy and it means a lot to us that you had such a great experience at our hotel. Please come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and the hotel far exceeded my expectations. The Michelangelo is an "old" hotel located steps from Times Square. the lobby was vintage and in great shape, and so were the rooms. The layout of the hotel dictates that the vast majority of rooms won't have a view, and you won't need light darkening blinds to keep the light out.

Nonetheless, the room was great, and I liked the quiet nature of the room being only steps away from the craziness of Times Square. Only issue I had with the room was the sliding door for the bathroom. I hate sliding doors. Good value and fabulous location. As long as you're not looking for a view, you'll like the Michelangelo. And the service, from the front desk to the doorman was impeccable.

Room Tip: Room nicer than expected, just don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We do have rooms that face 51st and 7th Avenue and next time you are planning to come back to NY please feel free to reach out directly to reservations@michelangelohotel.com and we would be happy to book you into one of those! We hope we get to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#69 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.