We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Savings on all Suites
Ranked #86 of 451 hotels in New York City
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I chose to stay at The Michelangelo Hotel primarily for it's location and well written reviews. We were extremely pleased with not only the location, ambiance and the beauty of our suite but also quite impressed with the hotel staff. Our expectations were exceeded and we are returning this year for another visit. The Michelangelo Hotel has become our choice hotel for our frequent visits to "The City".

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and for making the Michelangelo your choice hotel in NYC! We look forward to seeing you soon and welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,043
    436
    95
    33
    27
See reviews for
236
730
74
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very nice hotel, good service, clean room and large. Even though so close to Times Square you really don't hear much noise. Good location for walking everywhere.
The breakfast is only coffee and a muffin, for us ot good, we like to have eggs and yogurt. The coffee was good.

Room Tip: All rooms have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Please note for next time we off a heartier breakfast in the I Lounge, which offers breakfast A LA Carte. Our Buondi breakfast (Good Day in Italian) is just something extra we like to offer our guests to start the day off well! Please feel free to reach out directly for your next stay - reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel when in town on business. Would definitely return. Staff is very friendly, the hotel is very clean. I booked a normal deluxe room from which I was upgraded to a Junior suite at check-in and the it was very nice. Great location!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are very happy to hear that you will stay with us again on your next trip to NYC. You can reach out to us directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I arrived at the hotel on Easter Sunday and as soon as I told them that my trip was a (very) belated birthday present to myself, they upgraded my room - what a great start (thanks, Asha)! The hotel is one of the quietest I have ever been in, which is extraordinary for a place like Midtown New York and a real plus for me. The bed was fabulous and I slept really well after all my exertions around the city. It's true that there are no great views to be had, but for a first-time visitor this location couldn't be better, being located between Times Square and Central Park, both within easy walking distance - not to mention the subways just around the corner. The free coffee and pastries were all the breakfast I needed and there was even the option to take it away, which was a great timesaver. Above all, the staff, from Asha, Walter & all those on reception, to the very efficient cleaning staff, deserve the highest praise for the kind and courteous way they went about ensuring the best possible experience for their clients.
A couple of minor quibbles: the towels & bathrobe were actually a bit scratchy, rather than fluffy as described (time for some new ones?) and I felt the bath & shower could do with a bit of updating. But everything worked, so no problem!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with everyone. We will be happy to pass on your kind words to Asha and Walter. Please come back soon and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

When looking for a hotel a lot of the reviews mentioned street noise. I stay in a lot of hotels and find noise a problem when sleeping so the choice appeared to be quiet room or a view, I went for the quiet room. Whilst our room had a window it looked on to a brick wall but it was amazingly quiet, perfect for a good nights sleep.

The room was beautiful, we were upgraded as a lot of guests appear to be. Very much a quality hotel, the room felt five star as it was quite luxurious with a very comfortable mattress and quality sheets. Walk-in closet was unusual for a hotel but very nice giving lots of space.

Coffee and pastries in the morning without charge was very nice. We stayed for a week, but on the last day it was chaos with the guy who was always there just nipping in once. We waited a while (as did others), coffee jugs were empty, tables uncleared and no pastries or milk. We gave up.

Loved the location, near the subway to the airport, near Rockefeller and Central Park. Also very near Times Square but very busy and tacky, to be avoided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the amazing review! We are so happy and it means a lot to us that you had such a great experience at our hotel. Please come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and the hotel far exceeded my expectations. The Michelangelo is an "old" hotel located steps from Times Square. the lobby was vintage and in great shape, and so were the rooms. The layout of the hotel dictates that the vast majority of rooms won't have a view, and you won't need light darkening blinds to keep the light out.

Nonetheless, the room was great, and I liked the quiet nature of the room being only steps away from the craziness of Times Square. Only issue I had with the room was the sliding door for the bathroom. I hate sliding doors. Good value and fabulous location. As long as you're not looking for a view, you'll like the Michelangelo. And the service, from the front desk to the doorman was impeccable.

Room Tip: Room nicer than expected, just don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We do have rooms that face 51st and 7th Avenue and next time you are planning to come back to NY please feel free to reach out directly to reservations@michelangelohotel.com and we would be happy to book you into one of those! We hope we get to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great hotel, near 4 subway lines and Broadway plays, with oversize rooms (by New York standards) and the very friendliest staff in the city. Small and personal. If you want to be anonymous, go to a big cookie cutter hotel around the corner. Michelangelo makes you feel like returning family. The constancy of the staff, year in and year out, makes it especially comforting, particularly when the staff is so helpful.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quiet but outside rooms have a great view of Times Square. Take you pick. No losers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for being a fan and for writing such a glowing review!! We really appreciate it and we hope we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.