We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room and nicely furnished but a few issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
The Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Savings on all Suites
Ranked #61 of 459 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Huge room and nicely furnished but a few issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Compared to other hotels I have stayed in in NYC (the Omni and the Sofitel) the rooms here are huge. My room also appeared to have been refurbished recently and had nice wooden flooring.

However I (and several of my colleagues staying in other rooms) were woken several times during the night by the heating/air conditioning system, turned itself on and off and rattled.

I would stay here again solely due to the rooms and good location but the rest of the hotel was a disappointment. Nobody ever opened the (very heavy) front door, reception staff were abrupt and I had to queue to check in as there was only 1 person on the desk.

A big annoyance is having to pay for wifi in a hotel that already costs over $450 a night.

Not my favourite NY hotel (I would have rated 3.5 stars if I could) but if you want space then you could do a lot worse

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I apologize if you have noise issues during your stay and the lack of presence you experienced at the front door. This is not the standard of our service. We would love for you to give us another try. Please feel free to reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    462
    103
    34
    26
See reviews for
265
806
80
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, great location. My biggest complaint was all the staff except bar staff were very unfriendly, unhelpful and even rude and hostile at times. I wasn't treated as a guest but rather an unwelcome visitor. I was constantly asked over 3 days if I was a guest of the hotel, the parking situation is not great, you have to carry your luggage down the street from your car to the hotel. Also continental breakfast was underwhelming ...I was told I couldn't be provided jam with my scones. For the price of my room, I think they could provide jam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us. I am sorry that you had the experience that you did. This is not level of service that we are known to provide. We would love to welcome you back and prove to you that we can do better. Please feel free to reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The locatiln is hard to beat, not too close to Times Square, but close enough to enjoy the fun. Also close to the park, for a nice run in the morning. Don't miss the pastries in the lower floor, simple but functional. The room service kitchen is also very good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for the great review! Hopefully we will get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic Ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for over 13 years, and the main reason is the service! Besides being in a great location close to subways and theaters and restaurants etc.
Our most recent stay was on Christmas Eve. We booked a suite and a room with two beds for our adult age girls traveling with us. Our suite #521 was perfect! Huge, clean and quiet! Perfect for room service breakfast and opening stockings with our kids.
I have to mention the people/employees that made our holiday stay enjoyable, and who always go above and beyond to make us feel comfortable every time we stay. (8-10x a year)
Walter at the front desk. Remembers our names and room we like. Henry. What can I say about Henry! The kindest, helpful, charming Bellman ever! Cesar goes out of his way everytime to help and welcome us as well! Bernie at the bar remembers our drinks and always goes out of his way to be kind.Even Christmas eve with a cold! Feel better Bernie.
Room service guy (forgot his name) great! Room service might be the fastest in the city!
Yes, we stay here a lot, and are "regulars" but I truly beleave this hotel and these employees are exceptional. Also I should mention Joseph, and Carmin, they were off this trip but are great as well. Thank you for always making us feel comfortable! See you all soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on 50th street side are somewhat quieter. Suites..503 and 603 are nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We really appreciate your loyalty and will share your feedback with our staff. Cant wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Forty-five years ago my husband and I honeymooned at the Taft Hotel in NYC, which is now the Michelangelo Luxury Hotel. The Michelangelo offered us a VERY special rate for our anniversary so we could revisited our honeymoon hotel, which we did in Dec 2013. We had a beautiful suite and excellent service. We were within walking distance to Times Square, Restaurants, Theater District and shopping. We had a wonderful time. Thank you Michelangelo for a memory we will treasure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are so happy that we could make this occasion special for you! And we hope that you won't wait another 25 years to see us again. We think it should be an annual trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We just stay during Thansgiving and the hotel was part of our wonderful family vacation. Since our arrival the staff had excellent attention with us. We arrive early and our room was already available. We stay at a suite and was really an asset for us. We have like 2 separate spaces where our daughter could play and see TV and my husband could take a nap between our long days. Super nice European style in the rooms with red, black and whites. Excellent location, near amenities. Would definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife took me to New York for my first time as a birthday gift and we stayed here. Upon check in they upgraded us to a suite! Very friendly staff, clean room and classy! I was very impressed and had a fantastic time. The only down side was the hotel bar was crazy expensive but that's no big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are very happy you chose the Michelangelo to stay at for your Birthday!! Hopefully we can celebrate many other happy occasions together in the future. Please note we also have a very exciting new happy hour menu in our bar which we think you will love and find of great value!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#48 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.