We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in New York City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added The Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
The Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Savings on all Suites
Ranked #61 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best value in New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've been coming to New York City over the 4th of July for over 20 years staying at some of the nicest hotels in NYC. We just tried the Michelangelo this past 4th and loved it. Our room was nice with a very comfortable bed AND something I've never experienced at a New York hotel, a free continental breakfast. But the best was the rate! Excellent value for a hotel so close to the theater district.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Please reach out to us so we can help you plan your next July visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    461
    102
    34
    26
See reviews for
265
802
80
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am a former New Yorker so I knew what I wanted in a hotel when I went back. Mostly I got it at the Michelangelo. Room was quiet, very nice bed and linens. Nice amenities including an in-room safe, robes, hair-dryer, and iPod doc. Not-so-nice was the lack of Internet in the room without a hefty additional charge. I really believe that any "higher end" hotel needs to make this a standard amenity by this time. Also annoying was the free breakfast (in the basement) closing at precisely 9:00 am. The worker was literally carting away everything (and there wasn't that much, just coffee and simple pastries) at 9:00. Would it really hurt to leave out the self-serve coffee urns? For those coming from the west coast 9:00 am is really 6:00 am. A suggestion I am going to make to the hotel is also to give us some self-serve water in the lobby in the summer. Since the lobby is the only place for Internet and it was 100 degrees outside, that would be a simple upgrade. The air conditioning worked well by the way, almost too well at times! Still a good choice for a midtown stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the review and for providing your feedback. These reviews are important to us as we use them as a tool to improve our service and amenities. Please note that we will be sharing your comments with the executive team to address your suggestions. We would like for you to try us again soon. You can reach us directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a wonderful stay. The hotel is literally around the corner from Times Square, and a ten minute walk to Rockefeller Plaza and 5th Ave. We arrived well before check-in with the hope of simply storing our luggage and grabbing a bite to eat until we could check-in properly, but the young lady at the reception desk set us up in our room straight away. The room was nicely sized and the bed ridiculously comfortable! A simple but efficient continental breakfast the next morning got our day started off right! Exceptionally quiet with an attentive and helpful staff, I couldn't recommend The Michelangelo more and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks you Jacqueline for the very nice review and for taking the time to share your experience with everyone! We looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel has everything - location, helpful service, biggest rooms, huge bathtub - all in the heart of NYC.
The rooms are quiet - you don't feel like you're on a "tour bus" merry go around as you might at other hotels.
I ordered champagne for my partner's birthday and as our flight was delayed, they noted it, I didn't even have to call, and made sure it was perfectly chilled for our arrival. That's service!
I would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the review and hopefully you can come back and spend your next special occasion with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel perfectly located for all NY has to offer. Well appointed and very clean rooms. Suite was very large and priced very well for high end NY hotel. Wish they had a restaurant other then that can't wait to return.The bed was extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: The suite with the parlor was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We can't wait for your return as well! Thank you for the very nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Outstanding location, exceptional service, no lines, best value. Complimentary breakfast is a good way to begin our day at NY. Rooms are very quiet and no rush anytime ! Transfer from JFK was arranged by the Concierge. Internet is free at the Lobby and with a small charge in the room.

Room Tip: Family double rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the very gracious review. We look forward to helping you book your next visit to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This great hotel is in a location ideal for tourists who want to observe New York. When you stay at the Michelangelo you get a friendly staff, large and comfortable rooms, and easy access to the best of what New York has to offer. I strongly recommend this hotel due to its great features and reasonable prices when you stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.