We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Savings on all Suites
Ranked #86 of 451 hotels in New York City
Roma, Italia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location and good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

First time at the Michelangelo, staff was great breakfast I thought was more interesting...for an Italian Hotel !!
Great location walking distance to major sites.
I would suggest this hotel and I 'll go back next time I go to N.Y.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you Roberto for the great review. We look forward to welcoming you back and welcoming all your referrals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,042
    436
    95
    33
    27
See reviews for
236
729
74
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

You can walk to ...and access EVERYTHING ...what a perfect location while providing the "lap of luxury" away from home. A close walk to the Empire State and points south, Broadway, guided tours, Rockerfeller Center, 5th Avenue, Central Park, Grand Central Terminal, the New York Public Library, Bryant Park, all the important museums ...everything that you want to see is within walking distance. The hotel is superb! ,,,and I'm a very discriminating critic! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review and the great pictures that you posted. We appreciate that you took the time to let everyone know about your experience at Michelangelo. Please come back soon for another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Was in town for a one-night stay on business. Convenient mid-town location, clean and functional updated modern over-sized room (although not really a desk area for hard-core road warriors). Front desk service was efficient. Not a big lobby bar/restaurant kind of place though - if you're looking for that scene, go elsewhere (and leave the Mic to those of us who have discovered it's reasonably priced charms!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the review! Please come back and next time we hope its for fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

the hotel is nicely located near Times Square. We got a complimentary upgrade upon arrival and stayed in a well-appointed beautiful suite. We found the staff responsive and helpful, the rooms clean and beautiful , and the hotel charming overall.
note that it offers coffee and pastry each morning in a downstairs room (no windows),.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We appreciate and thank you for the great review! We hope to see you soon for another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently spent 7 nights at The Michelangelo over Xmas.
As you enter the room you realise what a great hotel this is. The rooms are huge, the beds are SO comfortable, in room closet is massive, so is the bathroom, all with the luxury amenities you'd expect.
Then there is the service - every single staff was so professional, engaging, attentive, smiled at all times. My special thanks to the Housekeeping staff, always so cheery and happy, the Concierge who I nagged plenty of times and was always extremely helpful and a BIG thanks to Asha at Front Desk who 'saved our lives' with a last minute booking at 9pm on Xmas eve after our previous plans had fallen through. She was so helpful and understanding and we ended up having a magical night, the best food we had in NY and by far the best customer service at Remi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for making the Michelangelo your home away from home over the holidays. We really appreciate the time you took to write such a great review and share your experience with everyone. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was the one of the nicest/biggest rooms for a great price in one of Manhattan's best locations. Check in/out was a breeze. The room was well appointed and large enough that it had a separate sitting area. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was really nice and there was a large walk-in closet. Best of all, it's around the corner from Bryant Park, Broadway theaters, Times Square, Central Park and lots of cute Hell's Kitchen/Midtown restaurants and shopping. I paid well below market rate by booking with the hotel directly. I will definitely look here first on future trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you Mike for the great review and for choosing the Michelangelo as your hotel while in NYC. You are definitely correct - your best bet is to always book directly with the hotel! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

stayed here for a week of our honeymoon, service with a smile it was not. In all our time there the folks at the front desk looked like we had slapped them in the face everytime we asked a question, bar one guy who couldnt be more helpful. Rooms are spacious enough - be sure to ask for a corner room. Free breakfast is a nice add on but you are basically having cake for your first meal of the day, when in Rome I suppose!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the review and your feedback. These reviews are important to us and we will certainly share your experience with our team. We strive to offer the top service in NYC and we would very much like you to come back so that we can prove that to you. Please reach out directly to us by phone or by email at reservations@michelangelohotel.com to plan your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.