We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet boutique hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
The Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Savings on all Suites
Ranked #74 of 453 Hotels in New York City
San Angelo, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Quiet boutique hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed The Michaelangelo. Nice staff and great location. Our room was at the far end of the hall and the windows faced another part of the building. Thus the room was quiet but dark. There is a basic complimentary coffee and muffin breakfast on the lower floor which we did not know about initially. It was nice that they also offered the NY Times in the breakfast room.
I am not a fan of "mini bars" and would rather hotels keep the small refrigerator available for the customers own use. But The Michaelangelo has the locked style mini bar in the rooms instead.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    438
    98
    33
    26
See reviews for
254
761
76
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time. The suite was quiet, luxurious and absolutely spotless. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite, and room service prompt. It is perfect location with so much in walking distance.
We had a wonderful holiday and will be booking in when we next visit New York.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Michelangelo hotel for several years now. We LOVE this hotel and would never consider staying any where else in New York!!! As others have said, the location is fantastic, the rooms are really large, the bathrooms are great and the staff is fabulous!!! We now feel at home in New York at the Michelangelo!!! We have brought many friends there and they also loved it!!! Bernie at the bar, Henry at the door and the rest of the staff are so welcoming. The is a Europa cafe across the street and Ruth Chris next door, as well as The Capitol Grill. The hotel has a free car service to Wall Street M-F and continental breakfast everyday included in the price of the room..Michelangelo would be proud to have this hotel named after him!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Michelangelo on business last week. My room was enormous (by NY standards), well-appointed, and clean. Very comfortable bed; quiet (though I did not face the street - so it was a bit dark in the room). The staff, particularly the doormen, deserve a shout-out - always smiling and offering a greeting - it made it a pleasure to come back to the hotel. I try not to stay near Times Square as the area can be a bit of a zoo, but the Michelangelo was a haven from the craziness outside. The price also was very reasonable given the central location and the amenities offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

You can not beat the location, close to everything with a subway station one block up. Beautiful, clean rooms and a very friendly staff. Very comfortable beds and the rooms are quiet. The bar in the lobby is beautiful but pricey, however they do have an adequate wine selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We love this hotel! We have stayed there before and were updated to a huge suite this time since it was our anniversary! Nice bedding, 1 1/2 bathrooms beautifully decorated rooms, terrific staff and great location. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Suites are enormous and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed one night at The Michelangelo in November. I have stayed at this property many times and chose it again for it's proximity to shopping and shows. Unfortunately, when we arrived the bellman was elsewhere so we had to go in and find him to valet our car. At 2:00 our room was not ready so we checked bags and came back later. Check-in was a breeze. Our room was nicely outfitted. The bed was comfortable with clean, quality linens. The bathroom was also clean and stocked with nice toiletries. The shower pressure is not good; but it's NY so I don't expect much. Black out blinds did not completely black out the endless neon Barclay sign on building opposite our room - annoying all night long. Housekeeping knocked on our room at 9:00 AM; which in my opinion was unnecessary as we were checking out that day and wanted to sleep in. Nice staff in hotel bar area. You always see the same staff, which is refreshing. This property is pricey, but not as crazy as other NYC hotels. Overall, a good stay. Again, it's all about the location here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.