We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansfield to your Saves list
The Mansfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ring in the New Year
Ranked #266 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is now one of my favorites in NYC. Loved the feel and friendliness of hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable but a little on the dark side as far as lighting. Also I would recommend a room on the back side because of street noise. Will absolutely stay here again. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Momofjake11

Thank you for such a wonderful review – I am extremely happy to read that The Mansfield left you with a positive first impression. We strive to provide all our guests with a luxury liberated experience that exceeds expectations. I am delighted that you were able to find a comfortable stay in our hotel, and to learn that our staff treated you exceptionally well. We look forward to welcoming you back and truly appreciate your feedback.


Regards,
LIsa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    442
    203
    95
    75
See reviews for
164
479
91
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

First time visiting NY and travelling with children and we had a great time, this hotel is reasonably priced and in a great location. The staff are genuine and very helpful. The coffee machine downstairs was a much appreciated bonus and very well used by all guests. We would definitely stay here again, although working late at night free wifi in rooms would improve convenience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Lee P,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a lovely, well-kept hotel. From the marble stair cases to the hardwood floors in my room, the Mansfield easily beats out the cookie cutter corporate hotels for sheer visual interest. The location in Midtown is ideal - just down the street from the Algonquin and the Iroquois. I walked to almost all of my meetings and dinners.
The rooms, however, are truly small. Our bathroom door was so close to the edge of the toilet that I could close the door, but my husband's knees got knocked back. Everything else was fine. If I really needed to do a send/receive on my email - I went into the lobby library, made myself a cup of tea and got online.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Laurentide,

Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We appreciate you choosing us as we know there are many hotels in NYC to choose from. The team and I were glad to hear you enjoyed the service and the location of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Be well,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Look at a few rooms before you accept. Without being advised we were put in a room with a handicap bathroom which can be good because it is big. However my wifes feet didn't reach the floor while sitting on the toilet. We also had an odor which i thought would dissipate but did not after 3 days. The room was dark and looked out on a depressing alley. The front of the hotel is currently draped in construction tarps and scaffolds. Staff for the most part is very friendly. The girl who put us in the handicapped room without explanation was nice but talked way too fast and i missed half of what she said. Clarify if you are getting the free breakfast. We have stayed at this hotel several times and find it to be clean and quiet. We love the historic features and the boutique style. Look for special rates.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Roger1231,

Welcome back! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Mansfield hotel. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. I take into account all guest comments in order to improve our customer service. We thank you for being a loyal guest and look forward to seeing you again.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good, clean and comfortable in a very good location. Between Times Square and Grand Central. Helpful and responsiveness staff. High floors are less noisy. Poor lighting in the room, noisy a/c and heating systems.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Felipe L,

Thank you for taking your time and leaving a trip advisor review on the Mansfield Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you loved the location and our comfortable beds. The tourist attractions, subways and close proximity to the big apple makes our hotel a hidden gem! I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York City.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Located in the centre of NY attractions, room is clean, staff are nice and helpful. Everything is walking distance, the staff not only nice they're also quick in response. The price is reasonable especially for family and they have lot of options of room which make it easy if you came with friends and family. Empire state, time square, etc only couple blocks away.
I will definitely stay at this hotel for my next trip and referred it to family, friends and relatives.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Jel76,


We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! Overall, we are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our amenities as well as our central location. Our staff makes sure to have a great impression on all guest! Please be assured that we continuously review all guest feedback in order to improve our service. On behalf of the entire team we all look forward to having you with us once again very soon.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Mansfield Hotel is perfectly situated in midtown Manhattan - easy walk to highlights of the city in all directions. The staff were friendly on arrival and check-in. Good free wifi connection in the library and lounge area downstairs - not to mention the free cookies andcoffee :). The only downside with this hotel is that there is no free wifi in the rooms. The room was clean, small but adequate for me with a good size bathroom. Not sure if it was the fine linen or mattress that helped to have a good nights sleep. The hotel is located on a quiet street - only disturbance was when new inconsiderate and noisy guests in the next room. Previous guests were not a problem. Staff in the lounge / bar were friendly and very helpful indeed. Best egg white omelette with fresh asparagus for breakfast :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Maliga,

Thank you for taking your time and leaving a trip advisor review on the Mansfield Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you loved the location. It's definitely one of the major features that make our hotel so special. The tourist attractions, major shops and various subways bring a great finishing touch. It brings me great pleasure that you were comfortable in our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansfield 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.