We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite NY hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansfield to your Saves list
The Mansfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off
Ranked #269 of 458 Hotels in New York City
River Ridge, Louisiana, Usa
1 review
“My favorite NY hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Mansfield is a very special hotel. The staff is outstanding. The rooms are comfortable. The bed and bed and linens are very comfortable. The bath area may be a bit small but very clean and renovated. The staff greets you whenever you enter the lobby and they are always concerned with your comfort. I have stayed at the Mansfield three summers in a row and would look forward to staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Charlotte R,

Thank you so much for relieving such a wonderful review on the Mansfield Hotel. It beings me great pleasure that this has been your place of comfort in the big apple. I am very pleased to know that our staff treat you exceptionally well and that our rooms are to your liking. please reach out to me the next time you are in New York I will be sure to give you a stay that is memorable! We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    452
    206
    97
    75
See reviews for
169
486
93
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here for a short trip and was impressed. The hotel is gorgeous on the inside (the outside wasn't visible due to construction) and looks very old fashioned. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is a little dark and the room was small but I guess that is to be expected. The beds for very comfortable and clean and the air conditioning worked like a charm. For the price I paid it's not a perfect value but I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Crownfan14,


Thank you for such a wonderful review – I am extremely happy to read that The Mansfield left you with a positive first impression. We strive to provide all our guests with a luxury liberated experience that exceeds expectations. I am delighted that you were able to find a comfortable stay in our hotel, and to learn that our staff treated you exceptionally well. We look forward to welcoming you back and truly appreciate your feedback.

Regards,
LIsa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Whenever i stay over in the city this is my go to place. Its a convenient location that meets or exceeds my needs eveytime. You can get a great nights sleep and have a great time without feeling to cramped in the room, good food and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Johnny D

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Mansfield and providing us with feedback following your stay. I'm very pleased that you loved the location. It's definitely one of the major features that make our hotel so special. The tourist attractions, major shops and various subways bring a great finishing touch. It brings me great pleasure that you were comfortable in our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

What better place to spend a decadent sejour in New York than in a former brothel? Copper roofed bay windows on 44th Street...Designed by Renwick, you know St. Patrick's, New York Public Library, not much to snuff at. If you want to stay in a "real" New York hotel, this is it. Particulary appreciable to our french amis. You'll see what I mean....manfieldhotel.com....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Spectatrice,


Thank you for such a wonderful review – I am extremely happy to read that The Mansfield left you with a positive first impression. We strive to provide all our guests with a luxury liberated experience that exceeds expectations. I am delighted that you were able to find a comfortable stay in our hotel, and to learn that our staff treated you exceptionally well. We look forward to welcoming you back and truly appreciate your feedback.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

- friendly staff
- nice lil' gym
- great location
- furntiture state: not top notch everywhere
- room size: quite alright, but don't expect wonders in NYC
- airco: operating perfectly, but quite noisy
- very clean

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Alex V,

Thank you for leaving a trip advisor review for the Shoreham Hotel. I am pleased to learn that our hotel was comfortable for you and our location made your stay extra special. We would like to invite you back.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

if you are looking for a good hotel 5 min away from Central Station and 5 min away from Times square this is the place! clean & comfortable. Rooms are small yes.. but its NYC! so expenctations in space is less but the location, bed & service (did i mentioned the delicous free coffee?) is what makes the mansfield a great hotel to stay in the city

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Roxanatje

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Mansfield and providing us with feedback following your stay. I'm very pleased that you loved the location. It's definitely one of the major features that make our hotel so special. The tourist attractions, major shops and various subways bring a great finishing touch. It brings me great pleasure that you were comfortable in our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Mansfield in July. Arrived early Friday and asked but did not get early checkin. OK, just stowed our bags and left to explore NY.

Free lattes and lemon water was so appreciated. It is what a weary New York traveller really needs.

Room is small, but really clean. Nice wood floors. We faced 44th street - luckily.
Maid forgot soap and bath towel. Housekeeping delivered it promptly to me in the morning. Crisis averted.

Bed was comfortable and had really nice sheets.

Bathroom was small but functional. The Kohler fixtures and Philosophy bath products were a nice luxury touch.

The location is SUPERB. Next to spiffy & clean 5th avenue, and close to Bryant Park. I've stayed dozens of times in NY, but this location was excellent. At midday, we could come back to the hotel to recharge before heading out for round two.

Location felt safe, even after returning from Broadway at 11:00pm.

I'd definitely choose Mansfield again.

A HAPPY stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Slickpoodle,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re delighted you chose to stay with us We always want to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. If you chose to visit us again, check out our special packages for great deals. We’ll also point you towards our favorite places to drink and dine throughout Manhattan. We hope to see you both again in the future!

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansfield 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.