We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansfield to your Saves list
The Mansfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off
Ranked #266 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at the Mansfield for part of my spring break vacation (March 23-26). The rooms were not as small as people made them out to be. Yes they are small compared to what I would ususally stay in, but the room was big enough for 2 adults, and a teenager. PLUS you have the added value of location, location, location! A 5 minute walk n one direction to Times Square, and a 10 minute walk (maybe) in the other direction to Grand Central Station. The hotel was clean, the staff very freindly, the beds (2 in my room) slept very well. If you are looking for a hotel based on size alone, this hotel is probably not for you, but if you are looking for a nice clean hotel, with adequate space, and in the middle of everything New York, this is your place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Ray J,

I am extremely happy to read that The Mansfield left you with a positive first impression. We strive to provide all our guests with a luxury liberated experience that exceeds expectations. I am delighted that you were able to find a comfortable stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back and truly appreciate your feedback.


Regards,
David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    478
    219
    101
    79
See reviews for
185
511
96
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The staff was fantastic, otherwise the bedding/mattress wasn't comfortable, the bathroom was extremely small, there was no air conditioning, and the tv was small. Based on all this, I think the hotel rates are unreasonable. I would rather walk another few blocks to my destination than pay the rate I did for the experience I had. I should note, I got a Priceline deal otherwise I would have had a chance to read reviews and might have decided otherwise. The location was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear California Susan,
Dear 248ANB,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear our location was convenient for you and that our staff was friendly. I'm disappointed to hear that you experienced some service issues, and I assure you this is not typical of the customer service we provide. If you decide to give us another chance please feel free to reach out to me directly for your future booking needs.

Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great hotel, great location and great value. My only minor concern was the room temperature. It wasn't consistent and we were opening windows and doors or closing them frequently to control the temperature. Otherwise, the rest of our stay was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear, John R

Thank You for taking your time to give a trip advisor review on The Mansfield Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our prime location is what adds specialty to our hotel. My apologies for the issues regarding the temperature in your room. I will make sure that someone in my staff fixes this problem. I look forward to seeing you again whenever you return to New York.

Thank You,
David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was the best price I got over the week, a Sunday night special. Room was small with a double bed. Fit one, or two close friends. Bathroom was equally small, but feels high quality with a strong shower. Aveena supplies. No individual room heat control, not sure if there will be a/c in the Summer. No coffee machine, have to go downstairs in the lobby/library. TV was somewhat snowy. woken up at 5am by neighbors getting ready to go to the airport, no desk but there was a window bench. Location next to 5th avenue. My second choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Yapmd,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location was convenient! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Best,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Everything was ok with this hotel until I went to the bathroom and found an inch long cockroach running across the floor. Took a picture and killed it. No action when I informed the reception. A pity since everything elsa was great. Internet was unfortunately not complementary, and no compensation was offered for the inconvenience with the roach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Johannes W,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your feedback. I apologize on behalf of the hotel, for not providing you with the experience you had hoped for; please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up to you. Please be assured this is not typical of our hotel. If you decide to give us another try, please feel free to contact me and I will make sure your stay will be nothing short of perfect. Thanks you again for your time, and have a great day.

Sincerely,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I spent one night at this hotel in early March. It is a small, older hotel in midtown. It is an easy walk to a subway station with many lines. I found the hotel and got a deal through a discount travel website. I found the staff on duty when I arrived to be helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in my room rate. They had nothing on the menu that was vegan so they kindly made a fruit cup for me and I had coffee. I was attending a festival and knew I would be eating there so the fruit was enough to tide me over. Otherwise, I would have had to eat elsewhere and the included breakfast would have been useless. It would be nice to see something vegan added to the menu. My room was on the smaller side, but cute and fine for me. The room was very clean. The shower was roomy (I had a room with a roll in shower) with great water pressure. There is no individual heat control and the heat came out in one spot and did not really warm the room properly. There was a charge for wifi in my room, but free wifi in the lobby. There was a room off of the lobby with seating where you can use the wifi and there is also a fancy machine that offers free coffee. The hotel features down comforters which, as a vegan, I do not use. The hotel happily accommodated me with synthetic bedding. It is a completely non-smoking hotel, which I appreciate. The hotel offers a points program for travelers, but I never got to sign up for it since the staff never sent me the link for it despite two requests. Everything being said, I would stay here again if I was able to get a good rate. There are a number of other hotels on the same street and I felt safe walking around at night on my own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear TravellinDays,

Thank you staying with us here at The Mansfield and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Mansfield. It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. It brings me great pleasure to know that you were most impressed with our breakfast, rooms, and bar throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Regards,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was looking for a place to rest and some me time. The Mansfield was the perfect place. The staff is great and I was able to get the much needed sleep and time alone I needed. Grand Central Station is just a few blocks away. Rockerfeller Center, Empire State Building, Radio City, Saint Patrick's Cathedral, and Broadway shows are all so close by. Overall it's in a great area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Luz F,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear our location was convenient for you and that our staff was helpful. We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansfield 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.